We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

What a dump. Sticky floor and kitchen counters, broken window and disgusting hallway. No glasses, not even plastic, in the room. The continental breakfast was a joke - granola bar or pre-packed muffin - no juice. Way over-priced, but we probably paid more than usual rate because of Grand Prix in Austin this weekend. We couldn't wait to leave despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill H
Dallas, TX
Reviewed 18 October 2016

On the plus side, the staff were friendly, the room was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. However, this is one of those places that's easy to see from the highway but difficult to get to. There were no cups or glasses in the room. When I took a shower, I discovered the small bottle of complimentary shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamersly
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I booked this stay twice thru a website that does not tell you much about the hotel before you pay. For some reason they sent me there even though I stayed only one night at the time. Getting there is a little tricky because it is at the intersection of few roads but once you figure it out it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SomeDudeFromHouston
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm glad you received a good deal at out hotel, and my apologies that our hotel was difficult to find. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Arlington, Washington
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Nothing pleasing or charming about the room or our experience. Bed was small and hard. Towels had small black spots. We waited forever to be checked in when we had prepaid, and then she could not find the reservation in the computer. But the worst was the smoke in our smoke-free room. No water, coffee or anything else in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
Ojai, California
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Hotel room was OK tidy but smelled very bad from stale cig smoke. Really bad. This place is seriously under-staffed. Garbage piling up in cans outside the rooms, other customers mentioned that management has changed often & upkeep has suffered. We purchased thru Hotwire and it was Ok for the money, but even at the discount price we would probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malibu93023
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is dirty and unkempt. Walking in the trash cans are overflowing with trash and the inside smells like a dollar store. The first room we received was so hot, the AC unit was not working and it smelled like a wet dog. The hallway smelled like soup. The carpet had not been vacuumed, there were stains in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IHateAirplanes
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This is not a luxury hotel nor does it charge luxury places. As for a clean place to sleep, it's fine. It's not a resort. It doesn't even have a pool. The staff was courteous, the rooms clean and the elevator was quick to respond. As such, it handles the basics quite well. BUT It's in the middle of nowhere....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roy_Hinkley
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad to see that you had a decent experience despite some minor things that weren't favorable to you such as the lack of a pool and our grab-and-go breakfast. Overall, I am glad you were accommodated well by our staff. Thank you again for your review. It...

Atlanta, Texas
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Hotel was difficult to find. Enjoyed my visit.The 290 West Hotel is not easy to find. There is a North 290 W HWY and 290 W South HWY location. Be sure all guest know this fact. Distance between North and South 290 W is 15 to 20 miles, Very confuisng if not from the Austin area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hackerrj
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulties finding our location. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Still, it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another enjoyable...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We came into town for 2 nights not wanting to spend a lot of money but only needed a quiet, clean place to sleep. Room 211 is quite clean. You can see by my photos with the exception that a bit more vacuuming be done in corners. I coukd definitely tell the room had been cleaned by a light bleach...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelinggirl1213
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff; however, we apologize about the concerns in the rooms. In response to your feedback, I had our Maintenance Engineer take care of the concern. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The day I checked in a very nice young man greeting me & took care of my reservation for me. The left elevator was filthy as I believe they are going through some kind of renovation which they desperately need to do because the price per night does not match up for what you should receive as a paying guest....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy2835
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to provide all our guests with a comfortable, “home away from home” experience. I am sorry we failed at that mission. We will take your comments and coach our team to provide better service in...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Northwest Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest

Address: 5100 US Hwy 290 W, Austin, TX 78735
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $114 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Extended Stay and Expedia so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Minnesota
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Southwest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the back have a great view of the woods and sometimes (seasonally) the Austin skyline downtown.”
 of 5 bubbles MitchJ374, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm not sure of the conditions of the rooms of other guest”
 of 5 bubbles JR619, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to double-check the rate charged for your room on the bill.”
 of 5 bubbles DA8026, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor overlooking the wooded area affords a beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles Roy_Hinkley, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Know the Austin area.”
 of 5 bubbles hackerrj, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5