We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 915: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arriving I was greeted with a smile. The Staff was polite and very accommodating. I was informed of great new digital features that Hampton offers to make my stay, checking and other amenities more enjoyable. The HI&S in Alexandria, VA. was clean, quite, comfortable and easily accessible getting on and off the beltway.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine W
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Christine, thank you so much for the great rating. I will pass along your comments to the staff. I hope you get a chance to try the new Digital Key on your next visit.

Oxon Hill, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay with my daughter. My only complaint is that I was not recognized as a Hilton Honors member. It would have been nice for the staff to welcome their HHR guest. Other then that the room was nice. A bit out of date but pretty good for a nice getaway.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lapre03
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Lapre03, I am very sorry that you were not recognized as a Hilton Honors member. We very much appreciate the loyalty of our members. I will pass your comments along to the staff for additional training. I hope you will visit with us again.

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay. Nice friendly staff. Nice swimming pool. Nice breakfast. Room was great too. We stayed in a small studio which was great for the 4 of us. Complimentary shuttle to the old town is fantastic. The return to the hotel just make the phone call and they will pick you up. The reason it's not 5...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Evelien K
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Please come back this summer and enjoy our new expanded hours for our pool. It is a law in our county that we must have a licensed life guard on duty at all times our pool is open. Hope to have you back again.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Convenient location, helpful and courteous staff, excellent complimentary breakfast and clean rooms. I've stayed here at least 20 times and will continue to return. Also less than 5 minutes to the National Harbor and the MGM casino.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joburg77
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Hi Joburg77, I am so pleased to hear that you are a repeat guest. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I definitely would stay at this hotel again. As soon as I walked in I felt welcomed by the staff as well as the ambience of the lobby. We had a suite and it was very comfortable and clean. Having a microwave and refrigerator was a definite plus. Would have liked our pillows to have been less soft.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbarasE8651BZ
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Barbara, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on your stay. I hope you will be back soon.

Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel looked dirty and dated. They were in the middle of changing the locks on the room doors to a scan card. My room keys were updated however the exterior doors, gym and other areas were not! I've stayed at a number of Hilton Honors hotels with some better than others but this was my first Hampton stay and...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E383EZjoet
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We were in the middle of changing all of our door locks and have completed it with all the doors. I hope you will give us another chance to give you a great stay.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has super nice and friendly staff, and a great FREE breakfast. There is a little "convience store" in the lobby with all sorts of stuff, and a microwave. There is FREE coffee and tea available all the time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kreativ S
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Kreativ, thank you for the great rating on your stay with us. I will pass your comments along to the staff.

Carlsbad, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Done with the Hilton !!!! Loud / Poor quality room. Poor quality food. Staff, front desk great. Location to DC good. Metro access great. Very expensive for such poor quality!!!!! Property needed up grade/remodel. Due to the proximity of the freeway, property was very loud. I didn't sleep for two nights.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O9927DIjohns
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Dear O9927DIjohns, I sincerely apologize for the issues encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting problems in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again. Thank you. Thank you, Micki Heineken

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The water at this hotel smelled like lye or sulfur. I did not use it to brush my teeth. After 2 days of showering my skin became very itchy & dry. On the third day I broke out in hives! Our room was stale & smelled like feet. Yuk!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chenisem2017
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. We have not had any comments on the water condition before, but we will look into it. I will pass your comments along to the rest of the staff.

Loganville
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

all staff very professional, great breakfast lots to choose from, the shuttle service is on time, very professional and close to the metro, very clean hotel and room. Plenty of parking. close to fine restaurant's and near expressway

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

John, thank you for the excellent rating on your stay with us. We appreciate our guest's feedback and I will share your comments.

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,277 reviews
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $164 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
hebron, ky
over a year ago
Stafford Springs
Syracuse, New York
3 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had 2 rooms joining and the end of hall, near the stairs, worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles 326redb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“despite being near the highway we've never had noise complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles joebobbilly, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick any other hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JML-JPL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you avoid road noise...Ask for rooms that face away from the main road, and/or higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles TA10001, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a little traffic noise on the street side, so it may be worth paying the extra $8 per night to get a room on the golf course side.”
 of 5 bubbles classicaphilia, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5