We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Colony Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Colony Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Colony Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 555: English reviews
Bridgeport, Ohio
Reviewed 15 May 2015

I got to the hotel way early... misjudged my time. They had just cleaned a room on the 1st floor and asked if that would be alright. Absolutely, I said! Nice room, clean. Not overly frilly but, hey, I'm only going to sleep here. Front desk was pleasant and asked if everything was ok with my room. When I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelle62784
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Chelle62784< I just want to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I appreciate your honesty and kind words. I hope you will come back and see us again when you come to the DC area.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 May 2015

My friends and I purchased a Groupon to stay at this establishment for our annual homage to DC. We lasted about 3 hours in this hotel room. The hotel is advertised as being handicap-accessible. I think that's a stretch. My friends and I (one of whom was on crutches) were given a room on the second floor of this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittyminky87
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Kittyminky87, I want to apologize for your stay with us. I do not understand why it went so bad for you when normally our staff is very good. As far as needing a handicap room, I am sorry that there was no mention of you needing a first floor room on your reservation. However they should have offered to help...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Stayed for three nights. Everything in DC is expensive, so it was decent value for money. Room was clean and staff were friendly; although could have been more helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. It is a little further away from downtown Alexandria then I expected. A good 20 minute hike to King Street; although I think they did offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanRoss82
Pilot, United States
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We really appreciated the helpful staff and the great continental breakfast. They also offer shuttle services. We also stayed at a Holiday Inn in PA and a Courtyard Marriott in CT during this trip. This was the best value for our money. We are going to remember this hotel for our next trip to DC.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Our experience at this hotel was amazing. The young lady at the desk when we checked in was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. Plenty of parking and so convenient to the metro station (hotel provided a shuttle).We were so pleased we booked the room for 2 additional nights!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank killeen s
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I was here for work. I could not turn my cold water on in the shower, nor turn it off. Each day I had to get assistance. The maintenance lady acknowledged that it was tight and would adjust it, but she did not. I ended up having to take a later trip to the metro, since the knob was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Amy T, Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Old Colony Inn. I do apologize about the faucet being hard to turn. I will make sure that was fixed so it doesn't happen again to our next guest. Thank you again,

Haliburton, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We need accessible room and they only had one room available but the door lock was broken so we had to take it. The lock was NOT fixed by the next day nor was the room serviced went we got back to the hotel later the next day. The manage said the bill would be adjusted the next morning, this...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Chris M, I do understand your frustration during your stay. The reason the lock did not get fixed was because it had to be sent from another state and it did not get here the next day. I know, not your problem but I wanted to explain so that you know. We do care about our guest very much at...

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Terrific experience. Quaint hotel, right down the street from beautiful,vibrant Old Town. Clean, comfortable bed, free wifi, good water pressure. Had our car, convenient on-site parking, and a shuttle was also available for trips within a 3 mile radius. Breakfast was basic but adequate. My only complaint would be thin walls. We use a white-noise app, but those who don't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura H
Sammamish, Washington
Reviewed 22 April 2015

As always, we like the hotel and the people. We wish they had room for us on the 3rd day. We failed to remember that Cherry Blossom Festival was in progress in DC. The free Shuttle provided by the hotel was actually better than a taxi service. It got us to wonderful restaurants and shopping in Alexandria.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cazadorsml
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

cazadorsml, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We were happy to have you come stay with us and hope you come back again very soon.

Minnesota
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Our stay was from 4/7/15-4/14/15. It isn't the newest or fanciest but has been remodeled and kept period correct. It was VERY clean and the hospitality was BEYOND wonderful. We are from MN and used to "MN NICE" and very much felt that when we were there from the front desk to the shuttle drivers, inc. maintenance. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darlene F
Shelby C, General Manager at Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Darlene F, Thank you for all the kind words about your stay. We really hope you come back and see us again. Just to let you know the reason the windows do not have screens or open is because of safety. I do not know if you were upstairs or downstairs but it is because we have the safety of...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $145 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Colony Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Bethesda, Maryland
over a year ago
York, United Kingdom
Dundee, Michigan
Tallahassee, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Old Colony Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor, no elevator but there is a wheelchair lift”
 of 5 bubbles DCB273, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No noise on second floor”
 of 5 bubbles bigrockr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are old and beat up.”
 of 5 bubbles 90steve52, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you let the check in desk know if you need handicap bathroom with bars around the tub. The handicap lift needs to be updated.”
 of 5 bubbles payob, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“ask for main floor room if you have trouble with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles colann76, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5