We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,162: English reviews
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We returned from our stay at the Lorien Hotel in Alexandria. We have never experienced such friendly and attentive service from all hotel staff. From the time we arrived and until we (reluctantly!) left we experienced immediate and friendly service from the Valet to the Maintenance to the front desk to Housekeeping! The Front desk staff assisted us daily in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisasues79
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lisasues79, It appears you had a chance to partake in all that the hotel and city has to offer, except our wonderful Lorien Spa. I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback about our entire Front Desk staff and Michael from Brabo. I look forward to thanking each of them personally. Come back soon so we...

South Florida
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hotel and room were spotless. The staff was very polite and helpful. The location is right on King Street. I paid $1 extra and was able to have the continental breakfast at Brabo (hotel restaurant). Delicious and filling! Will return again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrailBlazin
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TrailBlazin, I am glad you found our hotel to be extremely clean, and that our staff was accommodating to your needs. It’s hard to beat a $1 more for a fulfilling breakfast. See you soon, Thomas

Dover NJ
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great location on King Street. You can park your car and walk a few blocks to the Metro and get to anywhere you want. Took Metro each day to DC. Hotel has a great staff, excellent Spa at reasonable prices. Cool rooms very modern. Some weird things were....ice. No ice on any of the floors, you need to call room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amr2334
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear amr2334, I see you made good use of our location which is only two blocks from the Metro station, so that you could head into DC every day. We deliver ice upon request as a service to our guests and one that reduces the loud noise of an ice machine in the hallway; I am sorry this was not...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here with my husband and 65-lb dog in early August. We used to live in the neighborhood while it was being built, so we were anxious to give this place a try. The entrance from the street is small, but opens up to a nice brick courtyard. It really makes the hotel feel a little hidden from King...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickisee
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear nickisee, I am thrilled you found our hotel ideal for you and the “entire” family, from your spacious room to our convenient location on King Street near the Metro stop and within an easy walk off all the shops. There nothing like watching the Nationals, especially since they are doing so well. We look forward to your next visit,...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hotel is perfect for a walk on King Street. Hotel staff very nice and friendly. Rooms very modern in design and clean with about 32m2 for a standard. evening wine party at 5pm is a great idea for meeting other travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MitziLinka
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MitziLinka, I am glad you enjoyed our ideal location on King Street and walked around Old Town to see all the shops and restaurants. It was nice to read you found our staff be friendly and that you liked the design of our guest rooms. We hope to see you again soon, Thomas

Memphis
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We just got back from the Lorien and I must say we were disappointed. The design of the hotel is beautiful, but the functionality is not. Our room was tiny. There was only a desk chair to sit in. And if you pulled out the chair, you couldn't walk around the bed. So after I got dressed, I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TRDesk
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TRDesk, I am sorry the layout and functionality of the guest room did not meet your needs. Our hallways are air conditioned and I am having our Chief Engineer look into your comments, as perhaps some adjustments need to be made. I was pleased you liked the design of the hotel and enjoyed the fine service you received. Regards,...

Eden Prairie, MN
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We loved staying at the Lorien! We were in Alexandria for a wedding that was going to be held at the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, the bedding lovely, nice bathrooms - and the service is outstanding! We enjoyed the wine reception in the afternoon and the coffee in the morning was very welcome! The dinner we had at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripUSA
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear RoadtripUSA, I was pleased to note you were able to take advantage of our morning coffee and evening wine reception. A great way to start and end the day! I am glad you enjoyed your dinner during the wedding reception and that you took advantage of our ideal location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Thomas

Alexandria
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Loved it, loved it, loved it…would so stay here again!!!:) No complaints at all. Staff service is awesome, rooms/building very CLEAN, peaceful and quiet…you really get some rest. It's like home far away from home…didn't feel like a hotel at all. This is my new favorite place in Alexandria. Boutique style, yet modern. I'm in love!:) This is a real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca E
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca E, I am so happy you ”loved” your stay with us, from your super clean room to our helpful staff. We certainly like to treat our guests like family, so I am glad it worked with you to. We look forward to welcoming you home soon, Thomas

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked a room (and a room block) at the Lorien for our May wedding. We loved every bit of our 2-night stay. The suite we booked was a perfect location to host about 20-30 for drinks the night before the wedding. We visited twice before our stay to see the suite and make sure it was large enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MagsCM
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MagsCM, I was thrilled to read that Brandon from our Front Desk staff was so very helpful prior to and during your stay with us for your wedding. I am glad you were able to make excellent use of the suite and for your pre-wedding night gathering with your family and friends. We hope to see you before a...

Davis, CA
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is just off the street and set back. The service is outstanding however we rented a suite and the furniture appeared to be somewhat old and smelled a bit musty. The balcony was really nice with chairs and a couch and table. The shower was amazingly large and nice but only one sink. The biggest problem was the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chiili
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chiili, Please accept my apologies for the furniture not smelling as fresh as it could have; this has been reviewed by our Executive Housekeeper. The furniture design was chosen to fit the room décor and is less than four years old. I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. I was pleased to note you received excellent service...

604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (276)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (37)
Viewed
Lorien Terrace Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Price Range: $248 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I always like rooms with a balcony myself. Not only for me, but my pet can get some fresh air and lay in the sun if desired.”
 of 5 bubbles Oregonstar_11, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms appear to have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonsU9739DN, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor was quiet.”
  • No safety latch on the back of the door, only the handle lock
  • These are the electrical connections for the TV and WiFi extender.
  • Armchair with no lamp to read by
  • Only lights in the room over the beds
  • No lights to illuminate the work space.
 of 5 bubbles JimO80, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room faced the street but we never had a problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SmilingTrees, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Reasonable terrace suites w/lovely seating area!”
 of 5 bubbles littlemissmiddleburg, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5