We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 645: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed the weekend of March 17 - 19 th we were in town for my grandsons basketball tournament For being a host hotel, the poor staff were overwhelmed in the lounge and bar. We could not get room service as the one great bartender was alone with no help to answer phones, take orders, wait on the bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Barbara G, Thank you for your candid review. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We regret the restaurant service was not as expected. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. I look forward to sharing your comment with Roland, who I am...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked for a few days as meeting was held at hotel. Paid for riverview with king (extra). Tired room with mediocore view. Asked at front desk and was moved. Much nicer, more space, better view. Overall fine. Decore and feel is 60s-70s modern. Time to update. Meals provided by hotel for meeting were very good. Lots of places to walk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luigi T
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Luigi T, Thank you for the comments about your recent visit with us. We look forward to responses from our guest. We are glad you found the rooms and the food during your meeting to be commendable. We are sorry that you felt that the hotel seemed outdated. It was our pleasure to serve you. We're happy to know...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not much can be said about A Crown Plaza. They are all decent but some need a bit more updating. This one is a bit dated but the beds are ver comfortable. Bathrooms functional. Breakfast leaves a. It to be desired. My room was expensive but may not always be so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bagdadnote
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Bagdadnote, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We always our guests guests feedback to make improvements. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Upon arrival, I was in search of a salon. The front desk clerk, Tarondal, found one for me quickly, called to check availability and got directions for me. His extra efforts were greatly appreciated and if I had to come to the area again I would definitely stay here. Likewise, my flight was delayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cubana2016
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

We appreciate you recognizing Tarondal at the Front Desk and are thrilled we were able to play a positive role in your experience. We always go the extra mile to serve all our guest. The front desk is more than happy to help with any requests or questions. I am so happy to hear that you had such a memorable...

Nyack, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Older hotel near a water front, but not THE water front! Most of the action in Alexandria is on the other side of town. Alexandria is easy access to DC. Overnight parking on street is available and was easy to find. Parking at the hotel lot was $25 a night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Steven P, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is not located at the water front but is currently the only hotel with a view of the Potomac River. We provide a shuttle that will drop off our guest on King Street near the waterfront as well as another shuttle to...

Ham Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a convention with about 120 vision impaired people & many seeing eye dogs. Assistance was needed simply because of the vision situation. The whole staff was amazing! So helpful & kind. I am not vision impaired and to watch all the kindness around me was so wonderful. It was a pleasure to stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy o
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear wendy o, We are truly happy to help everyone during the convention. We do our best to assist all our guest to make sure they have a comfortable stay.We appreciate you noting our incredible staff and for the compliments. Glad you were able to enjoy a meal at the Railstop Gastropub, with our new chef there is more come...

Baltimore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria and we had an amazing time. We were celebrating our 21st anniversary and decided to do a quick getaway. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by front desk staff, we felt welcomed and attended to for all of our requests and needs. The parking was extremely convenient....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Biscuit75
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Biscuit75, Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. We are happy to have left you with a great impression from the room and restaurants to the shuttle and especially our staff. We do our best to always accommodate our guest with their requests so they can enjoy their stay and be as comfortable as possible. We...

Brunswick, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay in a lot of hotels for business and pleasure as you can see by my level 6 contributor designation. I always check Trip Advisor before I select where I will stay. As a result I always check some of the poorer reviews to see what the problems were. I can tell you that most of the poor reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank svargasi
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear svargasi, Thank you for your valued comments and for being a valued guest. We are so glad you were comfortable and that the service you received was noteworthy. We apologize that we were not able to spoil you in a lounge at our property, but we have other benefits that we provide to our IHG rewards members. Also, thank...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

My daughter and I have been coming to this hotel for business travel for the past two years. I must say I have experienced a high level of service from "Mr. Roland Biagas" he is so understanding and accommodating. He made sure my family and I were comfortable on three special days recently inauguration day, my anniversary, and during my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ameellah I
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Ameellah I, Thank you for such a wonderful review! As you have witnessed, our goal here is to exceed expectations each and every time. Because of this, I want to thank you for letting us know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, especially due to the help you welcome and service from Roland. We’re happy to know you would...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I have stayed here before, and this stay was similar - rooms are clean enough, but the hotel is older and not as modern or comfortable. Location is good - but still a good walk to the closest Metro Station (King St). Speaking of King Street, it's several blocks away and full of restaurants and shopping. There's a grocery store...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael C
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We provide complimentary shuttle service hourly to King Street and every half hour to the metro/airport. We provide our shuttle to...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#17 of 53 in Alexandria
585 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $166 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were able to see the river from our room, so that was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyo854, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“""The suites are breath taking with the water view, very spacious, warming and great for a intimate get away or large families""”
 of 5 bubbles ameellahi, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The upper floor with a scenic Potomac river view room was our choice, photos attached.”
 of 5 bubbles Donald988, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles Sharonladybug, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel offers a great view of the Potomac River”
 of 5 bubbles westwill18, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5