We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 637: English reviews
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had to be one of the better places to stay for the money, very clean and service oriented. They had shuttle service to the airport and the old town area. But the motel is an easy walk of approx. 6 blocks from the old town area. when we checked in the front desk guy "Roland" asked a few questions about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl M
Norman, OK
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights for a conference. My room was clean. It had 2 full sized beds and a refrigerator. There is a Giant grocery store 2 blocks away, so it was nice to have the refrigerator. There are several restaurants within walking distance. There is a free shuttle to King Street and the airport. The King Street shuttle runs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelodyTS
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I agree with other reviewers, this is a good location for getting from Reagan Airport and exploring old town Alexandria. It's 10 minutes by their free shuttle from the a/p and 8 short block walk to Old Town. The staff seemed bored and tired and were not very familiar with the area, particularly restaurants. I was given a tourist map...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie B, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see that the staff & service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a week long conference that was on site. When I first arrived I found a spa sample packet on my pillow (pillow spray, foot cream, and a relaxation facial cream). It's a small touch, but very welcoming after traveling all day. My room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. There is an air conditioner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second time in the last two years that I have stayed in this hotel. The hotel is clean and well presented. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located a short walk to a grocery store, Thai, Mexican and Italian restaurants. I have tried them all and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The biggest problem with this hotel seems to be the management: Pros: Location-price-shuttle service from Reagan Airport. Nice rooms. Cons: Management is cheap and it shows: The fire alarm rang 0406; fortunately a false alarm. But no one knew it was a false alarm, so we evacuated. Upon reaching the outside it was mass confusion; people milling around, wandering in-out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Andew I, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. The safety of our guest is paramount. We do have procedures in place for an actual emergency that all our desk agents are trained and aware of, however we are reassessing the procedures with the hired security company and their role in accompanying these emergency...

preston, uk
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Archers/ Cosmos touring holiday. It is in the historic area of Alexandria and the surroundings are quiet and felt safe. The hotel is a typical Crowne Plaza, large, clean and comfortable. No problems at all with the rooms and good and friendly staff. Food and drink in the hotel are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcann
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Jcann, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. We receive constructive comments as a helpful tool to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, and...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here for the last three days for a workshop at their sister property, the Holiday Inn. The hotel is perfectly okay, but there are some service issues. First, the good. The rooms are nice. Beds are comfortable, bathroom clean, good water pressure. Housekeeping is efficient. There is also a microfridge; not all that common in full-service hotels. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd A
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear toddling40, Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests have an absolutely fantastic stay. We regret that in your experience with us we did not accomplish that goal. We're sorry you did not find the bed to be comfortable or get a good nights rest...

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Bought via priceline and was advertised as a 3 1/2 star hotel. That is a gross overstatement. First room had a dead cockroach. When I asked for a credit back so I could leave they said no since I bought via priceline. A/C was also not working in this room. Matter of fact they offered me nothing and still charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timgomer
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear timgomer, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We apologize you were not completely comfortable at our hotel. We train our staff to be responsive to our guest needs. We apologize...

Paris, France
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night. The staff was very helpful - let us check out the room before we made the reservation and found and held a forgotten bag for us. The south facing suite we had on the 11th floor gave a wonderful view of the Potomac and the park where they held the fireworks on the 12th. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuge07

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,272 reviews
Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $124 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Riverton, Wyoming
TEQUESTA, Florida, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“""The suites are breath taking with the water view, very spacious, warming and great for a intimate get away or large families""”
 of 5 bubbles ameellahi, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The upper floor with a scenic Potomac river view room was our choice, photos attached.”
 of 5 bubbles Donald988, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles Sharonladybug, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel offers a great view of the Potomac River”
 of 5 bubbles westwill18, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“people slam there doors to much it wakes you up.”
 of 5 bubbles dbernard42, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5