We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2015

At the time of booking [and I had left it 'till the last minute!!], all Hotels in Washington itself started at $1000 per night ,,,,definitely not in this travellers price range.! The Red Roof offered an acceptable alternative only a few stations out of the Centre on the subway. [It was a fairly easy walk to the subway...about 1.5 ks]

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorriadonna
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lorriadonna. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We focus on being able to offer our guest a clean, comfortable room at a very reasonable price. Good to hear we were able to make all of that happen for you. Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager

Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 May 2015

extremly friendly staff front desk Debie and manager Shirley are very professional and helpful during my stay rooms are clean and roomy and a sweet touch with candy dish at front desk thanks for making my stay comfortible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike k
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Mike K. Thank you for letting us know that we have managed to turn you into a very loyal customer. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Like hotels in DC in the springtime, the prices are high for the value ... it 'cash cow' time. The room was ok and fairly clean but not a value for $100 a night. The room was musty ... like there was a wet towel in it. I had lukewarm water for the shower and the toilet was set out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SV_Traveler
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear SV_Traveler We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Most travelers are looking for a great value, a clean room and hot water is a "MUST". We failed to meet your basic requirements. We hope that you accept our sincere apology ,and know that your concerns are very important to us. We also hope ,that...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 27 April 2015

The hotel was really fine for us. We booked two rooms and the stay was nice though we got the ground floor rooms. Rooms were all clean with good comfortable mattresses. And, noticeably, the rooms were all renovated and looked very nice. There is a good pizza joint accross the street and Huntington Metro Station is just a couple blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imanhidajat
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Imanhidajat My team got really excited when they read your review-WE GOT IT RIGHT!!!. Your room was clean, you had a good nights sleep, and being close to the Metro was a plus. And to top it off, you were pleased with our renovation. WOW, your review made our day. Thank you, Shirley Jordan General Manager

Reviewed 27 April 2015

Alexandria can be expensive, so booking this low cost hotel, we were aware that it would not be great. That said, it was not as good as it should have been. When we tried to check in, the clerk shook her head repeatedly, saying we had no reservation, despite the fact that I had a confirmation in my hand and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cynthia K
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia K. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns. We did not make you feel important / or welcomed. Both of which should have occurred ,rather you had a reservation or not! And to make matters worse, the room did not meet your basic requirements. Please accept our apology and know that your...

Red Oak, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Be sure to check your charges from this hotel. We booked a stay on Friday and Saturday night. Upon our return home we became aware that the hotel had charged our card twice for the room. When we contacted the hotel to have the issue corrected were told it would be at least 48 hours before we were refunded our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela51668
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Angela51668 Please accept my apology for all of the inconvenience that your family had to endure. It is our goal to provide the best service at the best rate. Clearly we did not make that happen for you. I would greatly appreciate another opportunity to make it right. Please give me a call @703-960-5200. Thank you very much Shirley...

Reviewed 4 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel was perfectly fine for our needs. Nice and clean. Sheets and bathroom...everything looked or clean and new!! The lady at the front desk was very kind and professional and provided us with a great room. Thank you! I will come again and recommend others to do so.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George A
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear George A. Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to compliment us-)...We really do appreciate it. I will pass your kind words along to my other team members. Please choose us on your next visit to the area. Thank you Shirley Jordan General Manager

Reviewed 4 April 2015

When we were booked at the Red Roof Inn,I thought, meh, it's probably about as good as any other budget motel, no biggie. From the outside, it looked like it too. But when I stepped into the room, I was completely floored! It had a wonderfuly redone design with updated furniture, flat screen tv, wood look floors, comf bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cherry1221
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear cherry1221 Glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. It's always good to hear that our customers appreciate our renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. By the way, I love your picture on your profile, CUTE BABY!!!!!! Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The staff, especially Sarah, was very nice; understanding of our difficulties with this hotel. These included: we weren't booked into the rooms requested, so we were moved. We awoke with the floor flooded (from somewhere upstairs), so the second move. There was hot water less than half the 7 days we stayed there. I never figured out if the heat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim G
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Jim G, While traveling, the last thing you want is trouble with your reservation and on top of that, trouble with your room. I am hoping that you will accept my sincerest apology. If you are ever in the area and need a place to stay, please give us another try-We guarantee to WOW you. Thank You Shirley Jordan...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I booked a room through Priceline.com at this hotel for a client that was traveling across country and needed to find a room in the DC area. I went to a few OTA sites and found this property through Priceline. On arrival my client was informed that Priceline overbooked the hotel when rooms were not available and would have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrvlChica
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear TrviChica, Thank you for the awesome review on my awesome team member. We are finding that when our customers book through an outside vender, it may cause problems for all parties involved.Especially during high occupancy periods. I already know Debie is an asset to my team,but it is always great to hear that our customers feel the same way!!!!!!...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 53 in Alexandria
188 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#15 of 53 in Alexandria
428 reviews
9.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $111 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that faces away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles marinexbiologist, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best choice would be a room on the rear side but the traffic noise on the highway side was not really a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 962MartinC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the highway as they are noisy during peak traffic periods.”
 of 5 bubbles NKC, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back have a bit of forest view.”
 of 5 bubbles joesA5112CI, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side will be more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles abbyb1967, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5