We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki
Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 12: English reviews
Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took 3 double rooms at Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki in early Nov this year, stayed for 2 nights. Selection was based on the following: 1) walkable distance from Shimonoseki station. This hotel is less than 10 mins walk from the station. (Do not confuse with Shin-Shimonoseki station, the latter is for the Shinkansen and 10 mins by local train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyAKA
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This was a fine hotel. Helpful staff. Clean room. Good neighborhood. We picked it for its proximity to the train station - though it turned out to be slightly further than we'd liked considering we were carrying 15kg each on our shoulders. The hotel actually has hourly shuttles to the train station, so we were able to get a lift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmWu0000
San Jose, California
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Unfortunately, probably best in Shimonoseki. In sixth trip to Japan, the smallest hotel room we've encountered. Reasonable walk to train station, where bus station is also located. Unusually good breakfast for one included in room rate. Service somewhat lacking - free shuttle not provided in middle of the day when we wanted to use it. Also, got no help with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank baerm
ドーミーインpremium下関2015, 支配人 at Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at dormy inn PREMIUM Shimonoseki. We hope you had a great time in Japan. And we apologize that we had lack of service. The guests can use free shuttle bus from our hotel to Shimonoseki station. But we provide that only in the morning. In the case of other time, we will tell you the way...

Paris, France
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here a little while back now with work for about 4 weeks. The hotel is immaculate and high tech as you can expect from Japan. What makes this hotel quite special, other than the incredible sushi selection at breakfast and the evening massage service is the roof top natural spa! Heated from thermal gases deep into the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamie166
ドーミーインPREMIUM下関, 支配人 at Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki, responded to this review

Thank you for having stayed at dormy inn PREMIUM Shimonoseki. How was your trip in Shimonoseki? We are very glad to hear that. It is a great encouragement for us that you had a good time here. We mainly recommend breakfast and the spa. Our guest can relax there. We hope you all have a great trip during your stay....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 May 2015

The hotel's facilities are decent, the nightly free noodles a surprising treat. It's location is not the best, though, being situated in-between the train station and the main attraction - Karato. Both are not near enough for a nice short walk, and not that far enough to warrant a bus ride (approximately 3 bus stops away, but at 220 yen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosephTng
ドーミーインPREMIUM下関, 支配人 at Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki, responded to this review

Thank you for having stayed at dormy inn PREMIUM Shimonoseki. And I appreciate your compliment about the facilities and our service. However we are awfully sorry that we told you some wrong information. I apologize to you for them. We will reconfirm them so that we do not do so again. Thank you for your stay and comment. We are...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 16 March 2015

In Japan it's often cheaper to stay at hotels in larger cities and make side-trips to the countryside towns\locals you want to visit. Shimonoseki was my base for seeing the city itself, Chofu Jokamachi next door and a longer day-trip to Hagi. Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki is the best mid-range hotel between $50-100. It could probably compete with hotels up...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Redflyer99
ドーミーインPREMIUM下関, マネージャー at Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for using our hotel, Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki. And we really appreciate your compliment. We are very glad to hear that you could enjoy staying here. Our hotel is located near the main station. The station is accessible from this hotel on foot. So you can visit the tourist spots easily by using a bus or...

Zamboanga City, Philippines
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Though I had read good reviews about the hotel, I did not expect to see what I saw. When my husband & I arrived in Shimonoseki, I called to inform the hotel of our arrival. I asked if they could fetch us at the port, the staff was hesitant & told us that we could just walk to the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tipoe
Stavanger
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Location: The hotel is located quite some distance from the Shinkansen station in Shin-Shimonoseki, but distance to the regular JR station is not great. Access wise it is probably better to arrive by Shinkansen via Kokura station and uing the local train to Shimonoseki. The hotels location within the city is only 5 minutes walk from the center with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Odd Jarle J
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here just for a night. It is a fair distance from the Shinkansen station but closer to the local one. Very clean, comfortable and spacious at a really good rate. Has an onsen on the top floor and vending machines on each floor - good if you need a quick beer! No wifi though. English speakers at reception if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank simcfro
washington,dc
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in June of 2012 while visiting family. Great Hotel, friendly staff. It is within walking distance to the Shimonoseki train station and shopping area. The best part, however was the onsen, Japanese spa bath, on the top floor. Beautifully designed, quite large with an inside bath and outside bath. The laundry facilities were a big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ozuki

376 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (282)
Viewed
Amenities (84)
Viewed
Comfort Twin Room (50)
Viewed
Double Room (34)
Viewed
Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimonoseki
0.6 km away
Hotel Wing International Shimonoseki
1.6 km away
Shimonoseki Grand Hotel
Shimonoseki Grand Hotel
#3 of 39 in Shimonoseki
68 reviews
0.6 km away
Shimonoseki-eki Nishi Washington Hotel Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Plaza Hotel Shimonoseki
Plaza Hotel Shimonoseki
#16 of 39 in Shimonoseki
32 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Hotel Mojiko
Premier Hotel Mojiko
#1 of 64 in Kitakyushu
272 reviews
1.9 km away
Tokyo Dai-Ichi Hotel Shimonoseki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki

Address: 3-40 Hosoeshinmachi, Shimonoseki 750-0017, Yamaguchi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Yamaguchi Prefecture > Shimonoseki
Price Range: $90 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dormy Inn Premium Shimonoseki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No difference between comfort floors and normal floors. Save the money on the difference.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyAKA, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Travel light, rooms Very tight”
 of 5 bubbles baerm, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Go up high for a better view preferably one facing the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles Redflyer99, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Upon reservation, request for a room on the higher floor to have a good view of the area.”
 of 5 bubbles Tipoe, 7 Nov 2014 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay