We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Convento do Carmo

Show Prices
#25 of 113 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Pestana Convento do Carmo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel set in a convent. Great rooms.Very attentive and helpful front desk staff. Unfortunately because of the ancient thick walls problems wirh WIFI in some of the rooms. No breakfast if you check out before 6:00 am

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulstach
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Paul, Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us. Your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We hope that you will return and become a regular guest of ours. We look forward to...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The atmosphere of the convent is amazing but the facilities are outdated and not up to the standard that the price demands. I can imagine the difficulties in converting a convent to a luxury hotel but old fixtures, moldy bathroom, dusty furniture and bedding is not acceptable in a "luxury hotel". I even found two roaches in my room. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dani485
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to know about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from...

Bath, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a converted convent which gives it a lot of internal space. One of the central courtyards has a circular swimming pool and nice areas to sit around it. It is very peaceful, though spoilt by the continual piped muzak. Good wifi in this area but poor reception in the bedroom. On the positive side, the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Bath_UK
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ian, Thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. Your opinion is of great importance to us, as it helps us to monitor our performance and improve our services. Experiences like those you described are not part of our company service standards....

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on our way to the Chapada Diamantina and stopped overnight here for our 40th wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful stay in a charming colonial style room. The room was well appointed and the hotel was a quiet and romantic oasis in the middle of all the hubbub of historic Pelourinho. Everything was an easy, enjoyable and interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristerRaul
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Christer, Thank you for your visit, and for your helpful review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated your compliments regarding our property. Thank you again for your preference, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Daniela...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Salvador as part of our honeymoon and stayed at the Convento do Carmo for 5 nights. The hotel itself is a converted old convent (as the name suggests). The hotel has managed to keep its charm and traditional features, mixed in with the modern amenities and comfort you need. The pool area is very nice and relaxing, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel. Your comments are most appreciated. We always strive to provide a warm and welcoming experience to our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hotels services and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact us next time...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a beautiful historic building. The rooms were clean and large. The location is perfect in the Pelourinho. The staff was very helpful, the restaurant was very good, the breakfast is also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarineDav
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Karine, Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will return and become a regular guest of ours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, Daniela Siqueira General Manager...

Norwich
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, wish it was two weeks, great hotel, well situated for old town, great food, great staff, loved it, many good bars nearby so plenty of places to eat, very histrionic, Francisco on Recp. So good and very helpful, would highly recommend to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkNorwich
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit, and for your helpful review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel in Salvador. Thank...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This hotel has major great attributes, the central location in Pelourinho, the quietness of this old convent turned hotel, an amazing pool, luxurious finishes. The personnel is also very welcoming and happy to help! I totally recommend a stay at this hotel. The only slightly negative would be the outsourced restaurant service. I found the restaurant a bit limited. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paologeneva
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Paolo, Thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for your feedback regarding your stay. Your comments are most appreciated. Your feedback is being analyzed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken regarding the Restaurant service. We look forward to welcoming you and to being of service. Kind Regards, Vitor Veiga General Manager Pestana...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very well located close to the main attractions at the "Pelourinho" neighborhood. The building has a fantastic collection of antiques and historical furniture. I recommend anyone to try the "caipirinha" at the bar and relax enjoying the beautiful decoration.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGR05
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will return and become a regular guest of ours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, Vitor Veiga General Manager Pestana...

Reviewed 6 November 2016

The hotel is located in the heart of Salvador but still a quiet and peaceful oasis. It has a nice garden with a small pool at which breakfast is served as well. They also have a restaurant for lunch and dinner but we never tried that one. Staff at the reception was extremly friendly, excellent English and very helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dana_kleyn
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We...

827 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (491)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (136)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (302)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Loft Suite (58)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 113 in Salvador
999 reviews
0.6 km away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 113 in Salvador
505 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#9 of 113 in Salvador
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#7 of 113 in Salvador
573 reviews
4.6 km away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#18 of 113 in Salvador
256 reviews
5.6 km away
Pestana Bahia Lodge
Pestana Bahia Lodge
#56 of 113 in Salvador
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Pestana Convento do Carmo

Address: Rua do Carmo, 1 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-330, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Price Range: $165 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Convento do Carmo 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana Convento do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Hotel Salvador
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salvador
#2 Business Hotel in Salvador
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Convento do Carmo staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Canterbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Convento do Carmo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I hope that the high floors have more light, 2 floor was dark and dingy”
 of 5 bubbles Dani485, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The beds are huge so extra beds for children not necessary.”
 of 5 bubbles Y2911QKemmas, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with mezannine”
 of 5 bubbles PhoenixSaoPaulo, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“first floor rooma are spacious but the top level rooms are more charming”
 of 5 bubbles WojtekS_12, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double room deluxe on the top floor - nice big room and excellent en suite bathroom with drench shower.”
 of 5 bubbles awatle1, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay