We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aratinga Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Aratinga Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Start your review of Aratinga Inn
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and 2 children (8 & 6 y.o.) enjoyed our stay here. The bungalows are made for a max of 2 people so we stayed in 2 deluxe bungalows located side by side to each other. This worked out just fine for us since there were no fights for the bathroom. Aratinga is located just off the main roads...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kolobrzeg, Poland
Reviewed 25 March 2017

It was true pleasure to stay , owner was so helpful and kind - she made us feel really special. All staff very friendly, place very clean and well maintained. We believe it was the best choice for Ilha Grande to stay. Little bungalows located in beautiful tropical garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darumat64
Montaigu, France
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We just spent 3 days there, in a patadisiac environment ! The area is not in the centre of the town, so it is more quiet. The garden is beautiful and peacefully, chalets as well. May be the bathrooms could be more practical, but it is a detail. Thank you Rennie for your advise to make our days the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertrand s
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This place is over rated for what is described in the hotel details. The only pleasant experience we had was the owner's cat Lucy. We were disappointed. However, the island of Ilha Grande was very pleasant and a lot to do there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M M
Aratinga_inn, Owner at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review

Well, I too am very disappointed with such a misleading review. To put this review in context, I would like to explain to our TripAdvisor readers the reason for it. The guest's disappointment was really nothing to do with Aratinga, the inn, but rather their disappointment with me. This review is their very harsh rebuke. The guest made the review...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Aratinga Inn was just a peace of heaven. Very well maintained - you have breakfast in the middle of the rainforest with all the birds singing and monkeys roaring. Breakfast was always of very good quality and everything clean and nice prepared. The owner Rennie is very helpful and fun to talk to. She gave us lots of good tips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gugy84
Aratinga_inn, Owner at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's really nice to know that you liked our location in the 'forest', surrounded by beautiful birdlife and the occasional little monkey! It is a lovely setting to enjoy breakfast, definitely a highlight of the day! Thank you both for your company and for choosing to stay with...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 February 2017

My boyfriend and I had a great experience staying at Aratinga Inn. Rennie greeted us with cold towels and water when we arrived and helped us get everything arranged for our stay on the island. We stayed in a chalet, which had nice furniture and was kept clean. There's also a beautiful common space on the property with a tv...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nswinton
Aratinga_inn, Manager at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind words. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is nice to know that you appreciated the 'refreshing' welcome on a hot and steamy day! Breakfast has to be the highlight of anyone's day, especially when it is going to be filled with...

amsterdam
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Ilha Grande charms from the very first sight. boats arive at the dock of the small, yet bustling village. think; simple and bohemian. not sophisticated, but untouched by mass tourism (yet! be quick!) and plenty of space for nature. with as absolute highlight wonderful Lopes Mendez, what a dream of a beach. Aratinga is a short walk from the center...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robinAmsterdam
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Aratinga is a lovely pousada set back from the main town on Ilha Grande. The pousada itself has been beautifully restored with a jungle courtyard and a relaxing common room as you walk in. Renee is a wonderful hostess - very welcoming and warm, and always ready to help. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim B
Aratinga_inn, Owner at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I'm pleased that you liked the jungle garden setting. It really is nice to have this wonderful oasis with lots of greenery and shade to keep us cool us in the Summer months. I hope that you had a wonderful time on Ilha Grande...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights - the stay was pretty good. Renee is very informative and helpful about the island whether it is places to eat, the best beaches or day trips. We stayed two nights in a a twin room and our final night in a queen double. The twin was quite basic to be honest and a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kruti_thakrar
Aratinga_inn, Owner at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. As we were almost fully booked when you made your reservation, the standard twin room was the only availability for the first two nights of your stay. It's a pity the deluxe chalet was only available for the last night, but that made for a really nice...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Rennie and German went above and beyond from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. Aratinga Inn and the staff captured the essence of excellent customer service and infused it into this property making this the perfect place to stay on Ilha Grande. The property is the perfect escape from the bustle that is Abraão with the added...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max E
Aratinga_inn, Owner at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review

What a delightful review! Thank you for your very generous praise and kind words. The staff at Aratinga take great pride in their work and customer service is at the forefront of everything that we do. We hope that all the little 'Aratinga' touches make a big difference to your stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts and the...

323 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.4 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
462 reviews
1.3 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
281 reviews
0.5 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
166 reviews
18.6 km away
Vila Pedra Mar
Vila Pedra Mar
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
202 reviews
18.5 km away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#8 of 92 in Ilha Grande
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Aratinga, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and very cozy. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattresses, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Price Range: $155 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aratinga Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aratinga Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the luxury chalet, rather new and perfect bed.”
robinAmsterdam, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book early.”
maxe556, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The chalet's are great and feel like your own space.”
charlottebR635AE, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The chalets are worth the higher price.”
DanielTheu, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the original rooms of the Inn. There are some newer rooms that look really nice so of going back again I would try to book. However, we got one of the last rooms available this time, but would definitely go back!”
444mirandaj, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates