We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Villa

Booking.comUS$108*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Nancy, France
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Our stay at the Villa was a real delight. We stayed there 6 nights and enjoyed it all the way. The view from our room (Lapa) is amazing: what a thrill to wake up every morning in front of the sun rising over the bay... The room is really comfortable, clean, with an amazing terrace. The place is really quiet....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorraineandGilles
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine and Gilles I am very happy to know you have enjoyed to stay with us! And as well I am happy we were here for you!! Kind regards Maura

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Very nice hotel with absolutely stunning views over Rio. Room was clean, stylish and comfortable. Disapointed by the fact that no bed for the kid was prepared (and no one could prepare one when we asked, even paying for it), and by the feeling that staying only 1 night, the staff didin't care that much. But they were still nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delisley
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Delisley I am sorry you didnt have an extra bed put up in your room before your arrival. Please kindly send me an email for me to investigate what happened. As well if you paid for the bed we will refund you. Please email me at manager@thevillario.com Kind regards Maura

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in the master suite. Very nice hotel with an astonishing view with the statue of Christ on your right and the city with the beaches and sugar loaf mountain to the left. Friendly and very helpful reception! Breakfast was fine compared to the size of the hotel. The view from the restaurant however was beautiful, so they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi J
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Rudi Many thanks in taking time to write a review. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards Maura

C
Reviewed 2 April 2016

I cannot express in words how breathtaking the view from our room 'Lapa' was - we spent most of the first day just staring at it! Yes, you have to get a taxi (cheap & quick) or bus (cheaper) to get around but being up high away from the hustle & bustle is sort of the point of this small,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsch2016
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is our pleasure to receive you in our Hotel. We are greatfull for your preference and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Maura

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 10 nights. Villa had an incredible view and athosphere was very calm! Breakfast was excellent and the room was beautiful and had a nice access to pool from front of our room. Location was remote but the area surrounding villa was calm. By walk it takes 45 minutes to closest metro station (Largo do Machado) where you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jukka S
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Jukka We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have made the note regarding the cleaning of your room and restaurant, we appreciate the feedback. Kind Regards Maura

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this gem of a hotel for 6 nights in the carnaval suite. From the moment we arrived the service we received from all the staff was excellent. Daniel on reception booked us an excellent day trip to sugar loaf and Christ the redeemer. We had heavy rain the first day and the cleaners moved our suitcase to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shoes4
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback!! We appreciate it! It is lovely to know you had spent a good time with us. We hope to see you soon. Best Regards Maura

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The views and the restaurant were superb although no lunch available and closed on Tuesday .Staff friendly , its position was quite remote and we had to use taxis to get around . These were quite inexpensive around £4 to £5

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 637jop
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for yor feedback. We are very happy you had a good stay with us! Kind regards Maura

california
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a very bad location.The place is a dump.Boutique hotel or dump hotel.The rooms smell and are very dirty It's run down and very poorly managed.Do not stay here unless it's you last option.Terrible location isolated

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank estotsun
Reception D, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very sorry you feel that way regarding your stay with us. For us to always improve and to understand better your experience kindly send me an email directly, at manager@thevillario.com Kind regards, Maura

Paris, France
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed there for 6 nights. Personnel were very nice especially Sara and Daniel. Good location : the hotel has an incredible view on the city and near from the Corcovado. The restaurant serve the best breakfast, very complete. We would love to come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lydiax290
Reception D, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Lydia, Many thanks for your kind words! We are looking forward to have you here again. Kind Regards Maura

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This hotel really does have it all. the views from the restaurant really are fantastic, you can see the Christ statue and sugar loaf mountain from the rooms, its breathtaking. WiFi is free and available in all areas. some rooms even have jacuzzi's which is amazing. the rooms are clean, spacious and fresh, the bathrooms all have monsoon showers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welshexplorer1991
Reception D, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for you feedback! We are looking foward to see you here again. Kind Regards, Maura

307 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#186 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
85 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
216 reviews
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#136 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#85 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,416 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
238 reviews
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro
#23 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Rio, in the historic and bohemian town of Santa Teresa, The Villa is an 11-room boutique hotel with a hilltop position and a million dollar view! From the hotels main terrace, guests can take in the sweeping vista over the Guanabara Bay and the green hills of Santa Teresa, while enjoying the view of world famous art deco statue Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, the samba clubs of Lapa and the Sambodromo stadium. Described by those in the know as the South American Montmartre and one of Rio's hidden gems, Santa Teresa is packed with local artists, galleries, cafes and some of Rio's best small restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Suites & Cuisine)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $88 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio 180
The Villa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Villa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the Carnaval room with outdoor jacuzzi with views of Sugarloaf mountain ”
, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are bayview but suites are larger with great terrace”
  • View of Sugarloaf from jacuzzi
  • View at the Corcovado
  • Master suite
pimilan, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the Master Suite. It's worth it.”
NYTraveler4193, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Copacabana room has a wonderful view and is pool level.”
susancW5319LF, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Rooms have Names not numbers. Carnival is the best!”
Welshexplorer1991, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$108* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$108
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates