We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Transamerica Prime Barra

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Transamerica Prime Barra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Transamerica Prime Barra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The hotel location is relatively good for those ones that are not mainly looking for staying by the beach and need to be at Barra for a business reason. The room I stayed at (409.2) had an often bad smell and a noise everytime after you flush the toilet. Other than that everything else was alright, including the breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo R
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Eduardo, We appreciate your evaluation and emphasize that your opinion is very important for our process of improvements. To answer our guest’s expectations, all the environments of the Transamérica Prime Barra are going through a process of modernization and remodeling. With this work we search to offer much more comfort and practicality to our clients and to avoid...

Recife, PE
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This hotel is very good located, in the centre of the Barra da Tijuca, you will arrive anywhere in few minutes, the rooms are nice, so confortables. But the services aren`t good enough and the staffs never smiles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albino N
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Albino, We appreciate your comment and we highlight that it is very good to have you with us. Referring to the reception service, we will reorient our team about the hospitality that we value. We hope you have other opportunities to stay with us, count on our services and it will be more pleasant, making a better impression...

Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Rooms were large and airy. However, service is absolutely subpar for an establishment in this price range. One of the front desk attendants flat out refused to order me a cab, lazily giving me a list of numbers and asking me to make the call myself. Another one simply said they don't give out "medicine" to patrons due to potential...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom B
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tom, We appreciate your comment and we highlight that it is very good to have you with us. We wish we could have corresponded better to your expectations and we are sorry for possible disorders. Referring to the reception service, we will reorient our team about the hospitality that we value, because the report does not correspond with...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Stayed for one night with business, Staff at check-in where very helpful and attentive. Room was very clean and well presented. Ordered room service and meal arrived within 20 minutes and was very nice. WIFI was great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james_taylor5
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr. James, Thank you for registering your experience with us and with other travelers. We are pleased and happy to have welcomed and to have provided a pleasant stay through the quality of our services. We appreciate your compliments and we hope you have the opportunity to return to Rio de Janeiro soon! Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group

Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Coming from Rio, with it's busy life and crowded streets, going to Barra, it is quite relaxed. It is walking distance to the beach. there is a sort of ferry taking you over a small canal, to reach the beach. Beaches where empty, but there are a few small local places where you can get a drink or beer. Friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexander m
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Alexander, Thank you for registering your experience with us and with other travelers. We are pleased and happy to have welcomed and to have provided a pleasant stay through the quality of our services. We appreciate your compliments and we hope you have the opportunity to return to Rio de Janeiro soon! Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group

Reviewed 10 November 2015

It has a sort of infinity pool, which is not quite infinity but is a decent pool. The food is not quite up to the standard of the price asked. Honestly, if you travel business, is ok, but for relax and leisure I would search for something else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Daniel, Thank you for staying with us and register your comment. We are happy to receive you and we continuously work to improve. We forwarded your observation to the restaurant responsible and we hope you can stay with us again on future opportunities. Always be welcome! Relationship - Transamérica Hospitality Group

Almaty
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The hotel, room, service and amenities were nice. Most of all I liked the region. In Barra da Tijuca there are no slums and the streets are very quiet. Two blocks from the hotel there is a supermarket. To get to the beach you need to walk a block, then cross a canal on a catamaran (free for Transamerica customers)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kairat09
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr., Thank you for registering your experience with us and with other travelers. We are pleased and happy to have welcomed and to have provided a pleasant stay through the quality of our services. We appreciate your compliments and we hope you have the opportunity to return to Rio de Janeiro soon! Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 October 2015

The hotel is very nice and the staff is very helpful, I appreciated the fact that I was able to communicate in English. Upon my arrival I was greeted very nice and booked a tour or Rio with the hotel (VERY GOOD) Food is good, drinks are good, the rooms are comfortable and the showers are great. It's close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelersYJV
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr., Thank you for registering your experience with us and with other travelers. We are pleased and happy to have welcomed and to have provided a pleasant stay through the quality of our services. We appreciate your compliments and we hope you have the opportunity to return to Rio de Janeiro soon! Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I agree with most of the reviews - if you are expecting an "American" mid-priced business hotel (I'm comparing to the Marriott Courtyard) you will be disappointed but it is competitive by Brazilian business hotel standards (e.g. HB Hotels). Safe, quiet neighborhood - I thought the views were actually quite nice (beach/ocean and mountains). Room was clean, bathroom small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeff_huxley
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr., The Transamérica Hospitality Group thanks you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased to know that we were able to offer you a pleasant stay. It is very good to receive feedback from our clients and to know that we have met their expectations and needs. You can always count on us and we hope...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

It appears to be great, I will say it's good enough but not excellent. I arrive early morning, and I was charged for one additional night because check-in starts after 1pm. I expend one week there, and I could say it is a common hotel, good but not extraordinary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PanchoIzurieta
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review

Dear Mr., The Transamérica Hospitality Group thanks you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased to know that we were able to offer you a pleasant stay. It is very good to receive feedback from our clients and to know that we have met their expectations and needs. You can always count on us and we hope...

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Standard Room (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#77 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
639 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#147 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
54 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#23 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Promenade Barra First
#102 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
522 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#17 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
573 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#58 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Address: Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $98 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Transamerica Prime Barra staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Transamerica Prime Barra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are bigger rooms than the standard to book, if you want a kettle, microwave etc it is worth paying the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles donnamD1833OE, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the room with terrace”
 of 5 bubbles albinon2016, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“High floor nice view to the beach..”
 of 5 bubbles Noviki, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“No laundry service on weekends use Carrefour Laundry if you need.”
 of 5 bubbles Jaricaor, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Only stayed there once, so cannot compare my room to others at this same hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 7DebbieC7, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5