We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

CabanaCopa Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CabanaCopa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CabanaCopa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We stayed here during the World Cup from 23-27 June 2014. When we booked, they accidentally charged us 50% deposit which they said they would return. When we were there, we kept on telling them to give us back the 50%, but they kept saying that they can't pay out in cash and that they will transfer it back via...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Louis_Switzerland
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for staying with us. We have looked into this and it looks like we made the refund several months ago, we ask you to contact the card company and see why it is taking so long. Kind regards!

Sweden
Reviewed 23 March 2015

The location is great, just a couple minutes walking from Copacabana beach and the staff was very welcoming and friendly, the girls gave us happy hour in caipirinhas and were amazing, they gave us very good information about the city, the tours and the nightlife. The security was great, cause there were bracelet that recognizes guests, too bad if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, staff and security.The breakfast is also complimentary and therefor very simple. We are planning on adding another cleaning shift for the bathrooms, at least during peak hours, which is when it gets the messiest. Safe travels!

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Unfriendly staff make you fell as if you are disturbing their daily routine. Girls in the reception tend to enjoy their celular phones a lot more than helping guests. $150 reais minimum of a tab in order to accept cards, once you pay cash they don't give you a receipt (so they don't pay income taxes). I had to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rorointheworld
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

We are a paperless company and email the receipts to the guests after check in, but of course we can print receipts upon request. Coincidentally the printer wasn't working well when you asked to get a receipt. We are a licensed company and pay all of our taxes. Of course you should feel comfortable using the kitchen, that's what it's...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We stayed here for 6 nights during the carnival. The hostel has a great locating, 3 minutes to metro, bus and supermarket. 5 minutes to walk to copacabana beach!!!! The hostel was clean ( bathrooms was cleaned twice a day). The only two bad thing I would say about this place is that the don't have the aircodicion on in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank louisehof
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and cleanliness. We used to leave it off during the hours the hostel wasn't as full but from now on we are going to leave the reception aricon on. We're sorry about our staff, during busy times they get more...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Everything is good here! Great location near everything: bus, metro, retaurants and of course the beach. Very friendly staff that welcomes you with a caipirinha (brazilian drink), and very helpful when you ask them anything about the city. One of the things I like the most is that they offer you different activities to do at the city: tours, partys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E_Cardiff
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, staff and the activities we offer. Sounds like you had a good stay! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

Its located near a subway station, really close to the beach and there are plenty of buses you can take on the avenues nearby. Breakfast was bad. Friendly staff. I wish they didnt have so many rules.. Sometimes I felt like stayin in a regular hotel. The owner should stop tryin to save money and turn on the freaking air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Igor G
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, cleanliness and staff. We are making improvements to the breakfast as we speak. We're sorry you think we have too many rules, but with years of experience, we know they are needed. Not only for the best of the hostel...

Reviewed 30 January 2015

We were a group of 14 people from a school and it was perfect for us! The location is great (really close to the metro station and Copacabana beach), great breakfast (they even prepared breakfast for us half an hour before of the usual time because we had to leave for a tour) and good bedrooms and common areas. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davide D
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, staff and atmosphere. It sounds like your group had a great stay here! We hope to see you here again. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We stayed at this hostel because of the reputation and the good reviews. I have never complained about a hostel or written a bad review but I feel strongly about the poor service we received here. Unless you are going to book on one of their outrageously overpriced tours then they really are not interested in helping you to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank El G
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear you weren't pleased with your stay here. The tours are a safe good option for people who want to explore some of the best attractions in Rio with good and experienced company. We don't set the prices for the tours, the tour companies do. One...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

This hostel is great! Very clean and close to the beach. The staff was very friendly and made you feel home. During Christmas time they made a barbecue for the staff, but they also invited the guests to join them, so me and my friends had a good time trying this brazilian barbecue with meat, chicken, beans, rice, and cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty F
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, location and staff. It's great you got to try some of our Brazilian traditions :) We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

South America
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Pretty nice hostel with an excellent location, close to Copacabana beach. Although it's not really a party hostel, there is a bar downstairs, so bring earplugs if you are sleeping early. Staff was friendly, they helped us out booking a hostel in the next city, which was very helpful since we didn't speak Portuguese. "Luggage room" did not appear very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IncaGringo
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. It's a luggage room free of charge, it has supervision and safety lockers for the valuables. We don't set the prices of the tours, the tour companies do. We have chosen to work with the ones that are...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (97)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Dormitory (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#129 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
369 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#18 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
406 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#135 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#45 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
821 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#102 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
522 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#46 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Address: Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $17 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has a newly built wing which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles ShaneH201, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an aircon unit remote as they are not in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelRiverland, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“they dont give you blankets and sometimes it is a bit cold”
 of 5 bubbles 868maritzai, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the new building, they're basic rooms but have less people in.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeyHodge, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“They have private rooms available, which rival most hotels, extremely comfortable beds and huge bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles 654carlr, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5