We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$17*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
CabanaCopa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CabanaCopa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 15 January 2015

As my friend liked to have a privacy, we stayed the private room. But I would like to recommend to stay in Dorm, not twin private room! My another friend booked the dorm and it was much better actually in cost. By the way, we had good experience here and enjoyed staying near Copacabana. Also, it is very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny K
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and had a good stay. It's a budget twin private room and it has the same price as a private dormitory. Safe travels!

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 13 January 2015

When you first arrive, you'll notice that you have to go up a pretty steep hill until you find the door on the right side of the street. You may not like the short walk but location is ideal if you want to stay near Copacabana beach and there's some tasty eats around the area too. The hostel itself has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveWandersDotcom
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere, location and service. Looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Secure and reasonably clean hostel (only a spattering of blood on my sheets). We were greeted by friendly incompetence - allow 45 minutes for any visit to reception. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm - only complaint was that one had to be a contortionist to access the lockers at the end of the bed. Not since my days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhbristolox
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We're sorry about the sheets, you should have returned them to get new clean ones. We have some new staff under training, sorry if they were a bit unorganized and couldn't help you faster. We're sorry you think we have too many rules, but with years of experience, we...

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located a few minutes walk from Copacabana beach which is great. The prices are pretty fair and they make not bad cocktails here! Bathrooms, kitchen and bedrooms are pretty average however good enough for a cheap stay Breakfast is quite good however doesn't change very much each day

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Georgie_Fresh
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and cocktails! We hope you'll stay with us again. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel because of the reputation and the good reviews. I have never complained about a hostel or written a bad review but I feel strongly about the poor service we received here. Unless you are going to book on one of their outrageously overpriced tours then they really are not interested in helping you to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fdeane93
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you like our location and find our hostel sociable. Regarding the tours, we don't set the prices, the tour companies do. We are sorry you didn't like our breakfast, we are making a lot of improvements with it as we speak. During your stay we had some new staff, sorry they provided you with the...

Iceland
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Really nice location except that it's at the top of a really steep hill. Close to the beach and a subway station. Staff is friendly and the dorms are fine. Bathroom and showers okay, one day the water was brown and cold so you couldn't take a shower. Wifi was just okay and worked only in common areas, two computers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Þorgerður Anna G
CabanaCopaHostel, Public Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, staff, dorms and atmosphere. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Fucking, Oberösterreich, Austria
Reviewed 10 November 2014

The most excellent hostel I have stayed in anywhere in the world without a doubt! The staff are amazing and super cool, much love to all of them, the faciliaties are great and the atmosphere is brilliant! I enjoyed my stay there so much! I cannot recommend a hostel any more than these guys! 6+ stars!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Goodfellow
CabanaCopaHostel, Public Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff, facilities and atmosphere. It sounds like you had a good stay here! We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

Decent place with plenty of bathrooms, decent breakfast, nice staff and great location towards the end of Copacabana and a metro station right nearby. The beds were a bit uncomfortable as the mattresses are really thin, but overall a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nina N
CabanaCopaHostel, Public Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, staff and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Located very well in Copacabana this hostel has everything you could want. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms with the sheets washed daily, spacious dorms, great wifi and many really nice communal areas. All you can eat buffet breakfast was a real bonus! Occasionally the hot water didn't work which was a slight negative and the bathroom floor tended to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack J
CabanaCopaHostel, Public Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, staff and cleanliness. The flooding of the bathroom floor has been fixed now. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Italy
Reviewed 28 September 2014

I stayed there for 3 or 4 days, I do not remember. I was very happy during my stay the security guy let me in even though it was very early in the morning and so too early for the check in, but my flight landed early in the morning and I didn't have any other choice. Good breakfast, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelersAngelsTips
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you were happy during your stay and that you liked our breakfast. We are sorry your happiness vanished because of a missing bikini top, hopefully this didn't ruin your trip. We do not have any responsibility for things being left behind, if we would mail people everything they left behind it would take us hours...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (97)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Dormitory (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#129 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
376 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#141 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
470 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#26 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#50 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
843 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
831 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Address: Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $18 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has a newly built wing which is nice.”
ShaneH201, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an aircon unit remote as they are not in the room.”
MichaelRiverland, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“they dont give you blankets and sometimes it is a bit cold”
868maritzai, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the new building, they're basic rooms but have less people in.”
MikeyHodge, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“They have private rooms available, which rival most hotels, extremely comfortable beds and huge bathrooms”
654carlr, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$17* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$31
Hotwire.comUS$31
Hotels.comUS$31
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates