We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 September 2016

A bit pricy , but worth it. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms very clean. Food in resturant yummy. Walking distance to beach & shopping . Roof top view of area breathtaking. Security is very well attended to here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie W
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for you great review about our hotel. It is such a pleasure to hear that you had a great time during the Rio Olympics and enjoyed all the our city has to offer. Our location is amazing with nice views and near lots of restaurants, including ours, the Opium restaurant of asian food. Hope to see...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel just as the Olympic Games ended. We stayed in room 301. Which was a twin. It was spacious and very clean. We had a balcony which over looked the Main Street and the beach was 100m away. No problem with noise Breakfast was very good. Lots of choices both hot and cold. Staff were very polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thanks for your valuable review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Olympics and for recognizing our staff and the dedication to service they provide to the guests. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This visit (7 days) was during the 2016 Para-Olympics so I was not expecting more than the basics. Aline the front desk professional was more than helpful. Although she was extremely busy - she made it a point to not only accommodate me and my friends needs (money exchange, dining recommendations etc.) but also allow flexibility with check-in and check-out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregmvs
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Ipanema Plaza Hotel. Hope you had a fantastic experience during the Paralympics. Thank you for your kind words on our staff and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Rio. Kindest regards, Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel was awesome. Perfect location on Ipanema beach, clean and the stuff were amazing and super helpful, especially Aline from the front desk. I took a 5 hour tour to the Jesus statue and Sugar loaf mountain through the hotel and it was AMAZING. I highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for the comments and for choosing us. Very nice to hear that everything was perfect since the location to our service. Grateful for the compliments to our team. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Rio. Best regards, Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

CAPE CORAL
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I was unaware of the distance away from the Olympic venue when I booked, so it was a hassle to get back and forth. Otherwise, it was a good experience. The staff generally spoke English and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was a little on the small side, but adequate for me as a single....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL D
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Ipanema Plaza Hotel. We are glad to hear you were pleased with our accommodations and staff. Once more, thank you for your visit and your valuable review. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I've spent the past month in Rio working for the Olympics, happily ensconced in a hotel barely 2 blocks away. As the Games came to a close I thought a change of scenery and mood might be nice, signaling my switch from work to vacation (the original hotel also didn't have continued availability at the time of booking) and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank runnermo
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The hotel must have been recently renovated as our room and hallway still smelled of fresh paint. We had an older dresser in our unit and since we were staying a while, we unpacked out clothes. It smelled a bit musty but we thought it would be ok. Were we ever wrong. It's taken us 3 washings and some special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YL-vanisland
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of the drawers, only to inform, we have strict cleaning standards in our hotel and certainly your complaint will be reported to our governance sector. We are glad to hear that your stay in the Olympic city was great, hope to see you and your...

Thonon-les-Bains, France
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

15 days in this hotel, nice rooms, great service and great staff. Excellent room service fast and good selection. Small bar area but a good restaurant and breakfast. Very helpful reception staff and a good area that felt safe with a good selection of bars and restaurants shops and banks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markbarfield
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for sharing your opinion about the hotel. We are glad to hear your stay was great at the Ipanema Plaza during the Olympics. Hope to see you again, perhaps for the summer, you will love it. Kindest regards, Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Horten Municipality, Norway
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I have been visiting this hotel several times because I like the location and the staff. The hotel (among many other) needs refurbishing because the rooms have old ventilation system and sometimes it is high humidity in the rooms. The hotel is located in Rua Farme de Amoedo that have many bars, restaurants and it is rather safe area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meutudo
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, thank you for your great review! Pretty nice to see that you had a great stay with us and notice that it worth it. Thank you for the nice words about our staff, they really do their best. On the need for reform, we are taking action. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards,...

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, rooms a bit old, the restaurant server very nice food. Couple of colleagues had issues with cloth get lost when sent to dry clean. Easy check in and check out. The location is the best. Cross the street from the beach, 3 min away from Starbucks and lots of restaurants and bars everywhere nearby

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rakan K
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, First, thank you for sharing your comments with other readers. The Ipanema Plaza is really an unbeatable location near several restaurants, bars and the beach. Regarding our rooms, we inform you that we already have a remodelig project in progress. Hope your collegues' issue have solved in the best possible way. We hope that on your next trip...

449 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (430)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Other (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,085 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,304 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#18 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,154 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,606 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#96 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ipanema

Neighbourhood Profile
Ipanema
Ipanema is considered Rio's crown jewel. It offers the best view of the sunset from Arpoador and is inspiration for the legendary song, “The Girl from Ipanema.” Ipanema is an upscale area, home to many high-end restaurants and luxury shops, many of which can be found on the charming Garcia d'Ávila Avenue. The neighbourhood is very rich culturally, housing many art galleries that show contemporary art. There is also a great variety of nightlife in the neighbourhood, which buzzes with many options for every taste.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Price Range: $196 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Plaza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
over a year ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floors a amazing”
 of 5 bubbles pbinda, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony if possible, not many but worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles GaryS154, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles MarionM314, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure-- we had a balcony view of beach. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 680emiliew, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Level 3 was good for us”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5