We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Booking.comUS$85*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
US$85*
US$86*
US$100*
US$85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

896 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
 Click to rate
The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in Botafogo, Mourisco, with easy access to Botafogo (walking distance to Botafogo Subway station), Copacabana and Urca. Good options of restaurants and bars nearby. I felt comfortable to walk in the area overday but wouldn't do it at night. Staff at reception was friendly. Staff at the restaurant need some training on customer service. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMFT1967
LUCIANO R, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank...

Nova Friburgo, Brazil
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerado_Kern
LUCIANO R, Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman Y
LUCIANO R, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The location of this hotel looked pretty good on the map, but reality unfortunately proved to be a bit different. In the middle of a very busy, confusing and ugly part of Botafogo neighborhood, this is not the kind of hotel where one can go out for a pleasant walk in the surroundings - and this can be very, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnaLuizaDaltro
LUCIANO R, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Although we would like your experience would have been better, with feedback like this we can learn and improve the quality of our service. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, but it is clear that in this case we were unsuccessful. About our...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

My colleague and I arrived very late on the day of our arrival. The staff on duty spoke very little English but we managed to get our rooms. However my colleagues room card lock would not work. He was moved to a smaller room but was moved back as we had booked larger rooms. Breakfast was ok but the chefs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iain m
LUCIANO R, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Although we would like your experience would have been better, with feedback like this we can learn and improve the quality of our service. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, but it is clear that in this case we were unsuccessful. If you...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 January 2017

LOCATION & ATTRACTIONS NEARBY *** It’s very close to Botafogo Beach (I wouldn’t really swim there), recreation area, many shops, local bars, restaurants and also not far away from the Sugar Loaf (I actually walked there from this hotel). Area is not really popular with foreign tourists, but I felt safe and totally comfortable day or night. Just steps away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marqoos_pl
LUCIANO R, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Marqoos, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Looking for a correctly priced hotel in this neighbourhood: ok. Looking for some extras? Not the best choice. We had to change rooms as we were put in room facing blind wall while the front rooms are much better and facing Corcovado. Rooms can use some refurbishing and the breakfast buffet was lacking some fresh vegetables. Extremely friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yves J
RAFAEL A, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank...

Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean and comfortable and breakfast is complete. It's located 3 blocks from Botafogo metro station. From our room's window we were able to see one of Rio's postcard: Christ The Redeemer de

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPretto
RAFAEL A, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Regina, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Florianopolis
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Very much a good standard type Mercure type hotel. The staff are very friendly, location is ok (some nice places to eat and drink in the nearby square around the subway). Rooms are ok, very large and comfortable. The air conditioners are extremely noisy - bring ear plugs! They could also make towels available in the pool are (ok) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
RAFAEL A, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Got $300 stolen from my room. Hotel management's response - we cant do anything without evidence. Same happened to my friend staying in another room. Not what you expect from a hotel that is supposedly rated 4 star. Besides this, rooms are tiny & stinky. Bathroom is crappy and chairs and beds are full of stains. Stay away.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shashank S
RAFAEL A, General Manager at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing...

341 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
152 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hot...
#47 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,858 reviews
Botafogo
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo ...
#127 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
237 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
#90 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
155 reviews
Botafogo
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#144 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Botafogo

Neighbourhood Profile
Botafogo
In recent years, Botafogo has become one of the hottest neighbourhoods in Rio. It hosts many modern restaurants with contemporary food and many venues to listen to rock and electronic music. Its numerous bars and pubs make this area a great choice for anyone interested in a great nightlife experience - in fact, some bars in the area are open all night. Casa Daros, an art museum that showcases amazing artists from Latin America, is a must see located in a historical building in Botafogo.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Of our main options in Rio de Janeiro. This accommodation is a 5-minute walk from the beach. Situated in Botafogo, 2.3 km from Copacabana Beach, the 4-star Mercure Botafogo Mourisco offers a pool, bar and gym to relax during your stay in Rio de Janeiro. For your convenience, free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms have cable TV, a safe, a minibar and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. The hotel features a restaurant, 24-hour front desk, business center and meeting rooms. You can also enjoy the bar for refreshing drinks. Mercure Botafogo Mourisco is just 300 meters from Botafogo Metro Station, 2 km from Sugar Loaf Mountain and 5 km from Copacabana Fort. Santos Dumont Airport is 5.4 km away, while Tom Jobim International Airport is 22 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Address: Rua da Passagem 39 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22290-030, Brazil (Formerly Caesar Business Rio de Janeiro Botafogo)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range: $94 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Botafogo Mourisco 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Botafogo Mourisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Business Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#48 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Botafogo Mourisco staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Botafogo Mourisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior Suite is worth adding extra”
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
  • Mercure Botafogo Mourisco - Junior Suite #601
marqoos_pl, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony, especially one that you can see Christ the Redeemer from.”
trackwildcat, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request for a higher floor, with 5th and above being ideal.”
lighthand, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“See review”
JulieH17, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Top floor !”
ColleenM63, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
MercureUS$86
TripAdvisorUS$85
HotelQuicklyUS$100
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates