We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mar Ipanema Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mar Ipanema Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mar Ipanema Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 503: English reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

We have visited Rio in January and enjoyed our stay a lot. We were very impressed with the hotel itself, very good breakfast in a cozy restaurant attached to the hotel, good choice of fruits, in a very convenient location - the beach is nearby, multiple stores, shopping areas and eating areas.We did travel a lot by Metro which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruta s
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your so kind comments that made us all feel pride! We also wish to have you back soon to our Mar Ipanema Hotel! with our best wishes, Mar Ipanema Team

Sydney
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over Christmas and arrived at the hotel to the friendliest welcome from a the staff member. Unfortunately after a long flight I attempted to have a shower and there was no hot water. It was late so I had a cold shower and we told the staff as we left the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Syd
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for all the related inofrmation. If you wish we would appreciate to have your contact through the e-mail manager@maripanema.com, Cordially, Denise Reinoso

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Mar Ipanema Hotel for one night and we had a wonderful stay. Due to the time of our flight, we arrived very early in the morning however they gave us access to a clean room before the 2 pm check-in. All staff were pleasant and the rooms were very good. The front desk was very helpful. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillian_Toronto
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your kind comments and wish to have you back to our Mar Ipanema Hotel.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed over New Year for 4 nights and had a great time. Staff were friendly, rooms were an OK size and very clean. The only issue was the price, we ended up paying £250 but as it was New Year and limited availability we didn't worry too much. The location is great and in a very safe area perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benhall80
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

we thank you very much for your kind comments, looking forward to welcoming you back to our Mar Ipanema Hotel!

Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, including New Year's Eve. Front staff is efficient, but not very friendly, specially if you have questions. The room was tiny, and honestly the hotel pictures made it look like it was a much larger room. We stayed at the P floor, where they say the luxury apartments are. I don't think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo J
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

First of all we thank you very much for having chosen our Mar Ipanema Hotel! We regret for having not achieved all yours expectations, assuring you that your comments will help us to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel! Cordially, Mar Ipanema Team

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

The staff is unfriendly and rude. The hallways were disgusting. The room itself was small and did not seem clean. The AC was not working. It was so bad for the price we were paying we checked out and did not even sleep there. They made us pay for the night even though we left and did not care why...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romina R
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Initially, I would like to thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I would like to apologize for the bad experience, although I would like to add that simply asking for a room swap at front desk. We would be glad to offer you an upgrade to the deluxe...

Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel and very helpful staff! Thanks Marco, he spoke English and Spanish and his tips and recommendations were spot on! Tours are a must and highly recommend the full day in Rio for a total experience, ask for Marcelo! Beach is a block away and they provide you a chair, umbrella and towel. I would stay here again! Running...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Noemi R
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your candid comments on our property. I’m truly glad to know you had such a wonderful stay. I’m glad to read to you enjoyed our prime location. Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Excellent location. Felt Very safe. Everything (bank, beach, lagoon, shopping, drugstore, McDs, etc) is close by. Hotel Rep (Paloma) was very friendly and helpful! Enjoyed their breakfast! Free wi-fi. Stayed on 10th floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your candid comments on our property. I’m truly glad to know you had such a wonderful stay. I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte, tropical fruits and many more? I’m glad to read to you enjoyed our...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Great location, worst service the front desk staff are not properly train, visited the hotel with my best friend, every time u had a question they will make you wait, none one has any idea ..everything they recommend is more expensive, once you go on the street you find out is less than what they told you. Also they staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. Initially, I kindly ask you to clarify how the front desk staff was not helpful on my e-mail manager@maripanema.com. Concerning the very serious accusation, please allow me to counterpoint your comments. On Monday, the 23rd, you called me on the telephone stating...

st0necity
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Decent hotel, clean rooms(no carpets(which are usually so dirty) on the floor) and spacious rooms. We had a room on the tenth floor so we had a nice view(we could even discern Corcovado with Jesus). Breakfast is served at the attached restaurant called Devassa. There is a door inside the hotel leading to the restaurant, so this should not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank st0necity
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your candid comments on our property. I’m truly glad to know you had such a wonderful stay. It’s nice to know that you found our hotel modern. In fact we consider Mar Ipanema Hotel a boutique hotel. Our decoration, inspired in our cities postcards grants our property a unique character, greatly different than...

376 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (71)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Superior Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,253 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#61 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,051 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#59 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#32 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,564 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#20 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#111 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ipanema

Neighbourhood Profile
Ipanema
Ipanema is considered Rio's crown jewel. It offers the best view of the sunset from Arpoador and is inspiration for the legendary song, “The Girl from Ipanema.” Ipanema is an upscale area, home to many high-end restaurants and luxury shops, many of which can be found on the charming Garcia d'Ávila Avenue. The neighbourhood is very rich culturally, housing many art galleries that show contemporary art. There is also a great variety of nightlife in the neighbourhood, which buzzes with many options for every taste.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Price Range: $179 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mar Ipanema Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mar Ipanema Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms to the side are quiter”
  • Room ?/ and a view of Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles TrenchTownCulture, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“higher floors would have less noise from the street”
  • Sunset rooftop views
  • Sunset rooftop views
  • Sunset rooftop views
 of 5 bubbles lasfloras, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother with the breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Kate_Syd, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles srfyogi, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“try to get a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles brandenburg5, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay