We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Novo Mundo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Novo Mundo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Novo Mundo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This is a belated review, but time does not matter when it comes to write about good memories. Hotel location is situated in a perfect place as it is so close to areas to visit and for sightseeing. The stuff is friendly and can speak fluent English which makes it very helpful. I recommend this place to whomever would like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Italy
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in October. The building needs some serious work. Elevators didn't work correctly, rooms are too old and dark. Location is very good (3' away from Catete metro station) and staff was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew L
Brazil
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This was the fourth time my husband and I stayed at the Novo Mundo over the past 12 years. There have been upgrades and renovations, but the hotel still retains the graciousness found in the older, classy hotels of days gone by. The buffet breakfast is varied and plentiful. The view over the bay to Sugarloaf is amazing, much more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank buziana
NovoMundoManager, Manager at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Ms, The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro . Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We were quite happy with our stay at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. We were there for 4 nights in a comfortable but rather spartan room facing onto the centre courtyard. The courtyard is really just a shaft up between two buildings but we weren't there for the view! The staff was all helpful and friendly. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnstoj
NovoMundoManager, Manager at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr.John, The Novo Mundo Hotel welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro . Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

The welcome hall is modern and the staff is very attentions and prepared, speaking Spanish and English very well. The view is nice, try to get the rooms with the front view. I asked to change mine and I was promptly attended. The room is comfortable, but the internet is average and the pillows are not the best kind... But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
NovoMundoManager, Gerente at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Patrick, The Novo Mundo Hotel welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro . Regards, Ingrid Vine Sales Manager

london
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

I made a mistake with the location but I was lucky because the price was very good and to go to the beach was extremely easy. The metro is just around the corner. The staff members actually help me with a problem with my tour and were very friendly. Breakfast was very good too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kina39
NovoMundoManager, Manager at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Kina, The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro. Sincerely, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

Cuneo
Reviewed 28 February 2015

I liked old-fashioned hotels. This one was built in the 50's during a time of happiness for Brazil. My room was on the 11th floor facing the small courtyard, so that it was very silent even during Carnival. Buy some drinks in a supermarket because those in the room's fridge are quite expensive (one beer 8 reais). The staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank albyboetti
NovoMundoManager, Gerente at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Alby, The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see it in your next stay in Rio de Janeiro. Kind Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I was last at this hotel two years ago when they had begun renovations, so I expected a much better product this time. But I was very disappointed. I took two US friends to Rio for Carnaval and a place I had thought ok they were not pleased with, noting "it really needs some updating" (I took them there because...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank colincatl
NovoMundoManager, Gerente at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Colyn The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments will be of great value to acontinuidade of our improvements. Kind Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Definitely get an upper floor, Sugar Loaf View Room. Those seem to be a little newer. My room also had a few of The Cristo. Wonderful staff. Clean rooms. Nice bar with live music pretty much every night. Slow elevator. Slow wi-fi. Not the closest hotel to walk to other bars and restaurants, but easy cab ride; and close proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chip M
NovoMundoManager, Gerente at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Chip The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro. Kind Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

The hotel is located close to the subway, airport, Lapa, Copacabana, it is the perfect location to stay close and away from Copa during the holidays. The staff is very kind and they were very nice to me and to my friends. The breakfast is not the best, but it is not bad either. The only thing they need to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tatira A
NovoMundoManager, Gerente at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Tatira, The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see it in your next stay in Rio de Janeiro. Kind Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Deluxe with Ocean View (33)
Viewed
Executive Suite (44)
Viewed
Ocean Suite with Balcony (40)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Elegance Praia Hotel
#39 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
364 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#78 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
255 reviews
Hotel Regina
#40 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Imperial Hotel
#128 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
241 reviews
Windsor Florida Hotel
#33 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,015 reviews
Scorial Rio Hotel
#69 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Hotel Novo Mundo

Address: Praia do Flamengo 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novo Mundo 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Novo Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Mundo Hotel
Hotel Novo Mundo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#58 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Novo Mundo staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Novo Mundo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room high up with a view”
 of 5 bubbles Ken0739, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that doesn't face the main road which is noisy all night long from the passing traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles grans143, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A room with a view of Rio and Praia”
 of 5 bubbles malgorzatar598, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I booked through Booking.com and there was no option for a sea view room but make sure you ask for / get one.....it is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles sfglobaltravel, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 446silviareginag, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5