We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Meiai Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Meiai Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Start your review of Meiai Hostel
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was here just for one night before another booking but I would have loved to stay longer. Great staff and nice breakfast. Beds and bathrooms were in good condition. My WiFi cut out quite a bit which was annoying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisPL89
Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Meiai hostel over Carnival and found the price quite good in comparison to other options. It was very clean and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, they kept a board updated with the daily carnival blocos and activities. The breakfast was also quite decent. The only thing we would have liked is a guest kitchen...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melikins88
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I have stayed in Meiai several times and I want to come back! Rooms and Bathrooms are clean, staff is friendly and breakfast is delicious. I highly recommend it! Interaction is not main aspect of the place. But if you need a place to sleep well with good air conditioner, that is the place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulistano33
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I was supposed to spend 7 nights here but only ended up only staying for one evening. I must admit that the staff were exemplary; really polite and quite helpful- most notably Natalia and July. However, considering the cost of the hostel I was a little disappointed to find that there was no kitchen. The hostel is generally quite clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Very nice host but it was very expensive for the service provided and the breakfast was not good. Room was ok anyway, just too expensive. However the common area were new and perfect to relax. It looks more like a hotel than a hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loic G
Meiai H, Gerente at Meiai Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Thank you for your rating. We would just like to understand exactly did you not like at the breakfast, because...

Berwick, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, but wished we could stay longer. It was in a good location, the rooms were really nice and clean and the receptionist was lovely! They have bar crawls on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays which we didn't get to go on but are apparently very good also!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoebirnie
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I stayed here for one night during the Olympics, when my other hostel (like almost all others) was full. This one oddly had a lot of empty beds, but I was glad of somewhere to go. The dorm was a comfortable size for the number of beds. The floor consisted of bricks (uneven red bricks, like a wall), which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cracovian
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I am not a huge hostel fan in general. But this one could change my mind. The Meiai Hostel has a great staff that is extremely helpful. The location is fantastic, a short walk to the Metro, restaurants, grocery stores, banks, etc. Everything was clean and the restaurant/bar downstairs has good food at a pretty good price. The private rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TylerTV
Meiai H, Gerente at Meiai Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! We want you to know how happy we are with your review. We are glad to know that we could change your mind about staying in hostels and that you had a good experience with us. We work hard to be more than just a hostel to our guests, and your review makes us think that maybe we're going...

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice hostel. Only one negative point: I wanted a blanket (it was one of those rare winter nights in rio that it was cold) and they charged me extra for that. Quite ridiculous policy Other than that, great staff, great common areas (big rooftop, outside terrace, inside bar, chill area) much better than average.. Breakfast was good, showers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metin C
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A good hostel with friendly staff. Well located to the metro, just 5 minutes walk. You also find restaurants near by or you can eat at the hostel, but there is no kitchen to use!! We booked a tour to the favelas, which was also nice. In general a good trip!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheenabre

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#5 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
139 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
460 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#10 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
244 reviews
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#4 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
144 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Botafogo

Neighbourhood Profile
Botafogo
In recent years, Botafogo has become one of the hottest neighbourhoods in Rio. It hosts many modern restaurants with contemporary food and many venues to listen to rock and electronic music. Its numerous bars and pubs make this area a great choice for anyone interested in a great nightlife experience - in fact, some bars in the area are open all night. Casa Daros, an art museum that showcases amazing artists from Latin America, is a must see located in a historical building in Botafogo.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Meiai Hostel does everything for you to feel at home. With modern and comfortable rooms (private and shared), warm care and personalized service, very typical of the cariocas (locals).With 7 shared rooms and 4 suites, the daily rates include bkf, rooms with air conditioning, bed linens, towel, pillow, electric outlets, reading lights and drawer with key, along with access to Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Meiai Hostel

Address: Rua Guilhermina Guinle 127, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22270-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range: $21 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meiai Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Meiai Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meiai Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Meiai Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Meiai Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location in Botafogo was great, you are between the city and the beaches and right near the Sugarloaf. You can quite easily walk to the Sugarloaf or Copacabana beach, and access the city by bus or metro.”
 of 5 bubbles melikins88, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a private double room with ensuite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles nickvn, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I have stayed in shared room called Set Fire (Botafogo) and it was ok. It was the cheapest one in that time.”
 of 5 bubbles 780thiagom, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you go with a group of friends, book a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles silviodcc, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There are rooms from 1 to 14 persons, so you can determine how much you want to socialize. Pick the one most suited for you. (Wifi is best received on the first floor)”
 of 5 bubbles oestrup76, 23 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5