We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sampa Hostel

258 reviews
Save
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (258)Write a Review
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
36
15
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
15
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvila madalenalots of bars and restaurantsprivate roomnice common areathree nightson arrivalwalking distancesubwayhammocksneighborhoodbrazildistrictbackpackersensuitenightlifesupermarket
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

This is basically a hostel that seems to have been set up 10 years ago and no improvement has been done since then. A classic Spartan backpackers with too few and dirty toilets, and nothing more than a bed to crash. Unfortunately, on top of...More

Thank Lightpacker22
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I really like very much my stayed at this hostel: close to all the bars in Vila Madalena, cheap, clean (I really don't have any appointment to say about that) and nice. The breakfast is good, but could have a upgrade, showers is Ok, rooms...More

Thank TheoRay
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and were happy to be able to park our car inside the area without surcharge. The staff is ok. it they don't do too much.... in general it's not a hostel for socializing. When it gets cold outside there...More

Thank NicolettaOnTravel
Response from Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa HostelResponded 26 November 2016

Hi Nicole, thanks on your comments We´re sorry you didn´t get to know many people. We wish you had talk to us, so we could have pointed some event nearby the hostel. Hope to see you again and make your staying much better.

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

I spent three nights here and had a good time. The hostel itself is not the newest, the breakfast is ok, bread cheese some fruits, standard. The stuff was very friendly and they have a nice common area with hammocks and a tv were we...More

1  Thank marlene_zaiger
Response from Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa HostelResponded 14 November 2016

Hi Marlene, Many thanks on your comments. We´re very glad you had such a good experience, felt safe walking around and enjoyed our common areas. Hope to see you here again, so we can make your staying even better!

Reviewed 28 September 2016

I loved the Sampa hostel - it was just what I was looking for. I booked an ensuite private room for three nights. Check-in was great, very friendly and welcoming. My room was large and comfortable with the only caveat being that it was a...More

Thank Joanne H
Response from Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa HostelResponded 14 November 2016

Hi Joanne, many thanks on your comments. We´re really glad that you had such a good experience with us! Hope you come back and we´re going to try to make your stay even more pleasant!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345613
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Concierge
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (7)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Nearby
Pinheiros
Exploring Pinheiros, a neighbourhood known for cozy
restaurants and cafes, you will notice a youthful
energy. Several cultural centres and institutes
surround the area and even its main church, Calvário,
hosts a traditional Brazilian “Festa Junina” - a
celebration with traditional music, dance, and food
during the months of June and July. On the weekends,
residents gather at Benedito Calixto Square, a loud
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mountain S
24 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Catherine B | Reviewed this property |
It's a pretty chill place. There is a large terrace - complete with hammocks and even an outdoor kitchen - there that people use frequently to have a few drinks or just kick back in a hammock to read. From what I remember... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Just visit it u won't regret! :)"
Read review
"Take the Room number 6, it has a privative bathroom, best Room."
Read review
"It is a very quiet place."
Read review
"Private room is fantastic"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing