We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
Prattville
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious, quiet, and clean. Staff is friendly and eager to help. On-site parking that costs $10.00 is not adequate at all. I will not be staying at this hotel ever again due to poor parking. I do not recommend this hotel due to poor parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We apologize that you had difficulty with our parking. All downtown hotels charge for parking due to the limited amount of parking space. Please feel free to contact me so we can discuss this further. Thank you!

Joplin, Missouri
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

Located where you can walk to many local restaurant, this hotel provides a great place to rest. Pretty quiet street side you may wish to get a room that is odd numbered to get the back. Clean and neat with friendly staff. The toilet / shower area was small but the sink was outside of that area which was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 200nightsontheroad
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you!

Rural Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I love this place, I wish I could have stayed here longer- it'd be a great place for a stay longer then 3 days. This place is complete with a stovetop, full refrigerator, microwave and living area. They even provide you with all Kitchen utensils you may need. The only negative thing I'd have to say about this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Z
Cupertino, California
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We are traveling from NorCal to Orlando, with 3 kids under 10. Needless to say it can be a bit crazy. There is nothing to throw a wrench into your schedule like awful weather. We were not planning on stopping in Alabama and driving straight to Atlanta from Memphis. However we encountered some very sever weather and decided to stop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan A
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us. I will be sure to recognize Lindsey for taking great care of our guests.

Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

We rented a one bedroom suite and it was fantastic. I've never stayed at Marriott before, but I will definitely be back. The service was phenomenal. Super friendly staff. The room was very large and CLEAN. The only thing I was not fond of was the carpets were still damp from being cleaned. However, that was the only thing that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capri2009
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us!

Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Very nice and clean. No complaints at all. Friendly and attentive staff. Everything was comfortable from the bed to the hot breakfast. The location of the hotel was nice. Easy access to interstates, restaurants, etc.. Nice spot!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junior H
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This hotel was just incredible. The staff alone made our stay what it was, greeting us every time we entered, wishing us a great whatever-we-were-doing each time we left. Management should be incredibly proud of their staff. Not just those at the front desk, but really, throughout the property. The rooms were very nice and clean, comfortable beds, and (like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eknels
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I had to bring my family here after our house incurred storm damage. I was very impressed by the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff. The hotel is located within walking distance of some very good restaurants as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank will588
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 August 2015

This residence inn was really good. Very nice room, excellent gym, walking distance to some fantastic restaurants (you have to go to Clyde's gastro pub) and easy parking right in the back. Much better than the Courtyard downtown. The breakfast could be a little better but was fine. I have stayed at a few residence inn's this year and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler1976
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Lenoir City, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed here on Friday, July 19. It is located in the downtown area, very convenient to UAB and the 5 points area that offers a variety of restaurants from fast food to fine dining and nightlife. The Residence property is superior and very well maintained. Front desk personnel were very friendly and attentive and helpful. Our room was typical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhcsmc321

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.8 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.6 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.1 km away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 79 in Birmingham
606 reviews
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $211 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Louisville, KY
10 months ago
Salisbury, North Carolina
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upper floors are good”
 of 5 bubbles dcfiread, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Furniture is older and upholstered; Televisions are small; Get suite if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles yasminemhill, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a 5th floor room and it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BryanP137, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on back side are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jessicaj823, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I have the pictures of the cock roach in the bathroom as well as the room and room number”
 of 5 bubbles BSParanormal1, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5