We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 601: English reviews
Start your review of Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Do not go to this hotel if you have a choice. The quality of the room was poor and we had to be moved twice. We had so many problems with things in the room not working and we paid way too much for the room! The staff was friendly.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristinam68
Arlington, Virginia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I had to spend two nights in Birmingham for work earlier this fall, and was really pleasantly surprised by this Doubletree. I'm a Hilton guy who flies all over for work, and this may have been one of the top two Doubletrees that I've been to. Heck, it was better than some Hiltons I've stayed in. Rooms were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank js4976
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Matthew G, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

js4976, Wow! Thanks for the rave reviews. We high fived each other during the morning supervisors meeting because it looks like we did everything right during your stay. We strive to meet your experience with every single guest. We're so glad your a loyal Hilton HHonors member. Your HHonors status affords you the extra perks like the complimentary breakfast and...

Huntsville
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

3 elevators and 12 floors and only 1 working elevator. What a nightmare. I rate this hotel as poor for several reasons. 1. The rooms are so small. Outdated with old looking furniture. The beds were comfortable. Nice sized television. Major problem with the plugs on the light fixtures. Tried to charge my phone by plugging into the light fixture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Dothan, Alabama
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Accommodation at this hotel were very nice. It was nice having room service available because I was staying with my 5 month old. It is few blocks away from the children's hospital we were going to. Would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K4168ZXjenniferb
Montgomery, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location and excellent service. Would highly recommend. Bar was pricey but will stay there on my next visit to Birmingham. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Was able to check in early before my conference started. Plenty of parking. Overall no complaints except BAR was pricey.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 887allenh
Management response:

Thank you for letting us know your stay with us was excellent. We cannot thank you enough for your glowing reviews. Your feedback is appreciated as it helps us to further improve upon our guests' experiences here. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton Birmingham the next time you are...

Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was old and outdated. There was no valet parking. Carpet was terrible. The digital key did not work. The desk staff were like robots. The only good experience was with the bar tender at the bar.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 943tracyk
Management response:

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced while here. We clearly fell short of our usual standards, which are extremely high. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate managers to review areas that need our attention. Should you visit with us again, and we hope that you do, we will...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Short two day stay. Parking not included. Hotel needs a makeover and maybe a spin bike in the workout room. Could hear people in the hallway. Otherwise clean hotel, nice staff, comfy beds other than for the pillows.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhiloTfarnsworth
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your overall business stay with us and found your bed comfortable and our staff friendly. Our goal is to ensure that you have a home away from home with us, so I must apologize if we missed the mark with certain aspects of your...

Canyon, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a beautiful hotel in the downtown area of Birmingham. Everyone we spoke with was incredibly nice and helpful. The gave us a free cookie upon check-in for a warm welcome. :) Parking was only $10. When I told them I had never stayed in Birmingham before they gave me a top floor room with a view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathi806
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel and your room with a view. Our goal is to ensure that we provide top notch service to ensure that you have a comfortable and convenient stay. We’re also happy that you enjoyed your free cookie at check-in! We look forward to hopefully having you back...

Auburn, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone at the check in process was nice and helpful. They informed me that the credit card I used to reserve would be charged the night stay plus $10 for parking. This was stated nowhere on the site when I reserved. So I get it, we're in a city, parking is short. OK $10 isn't too bad. Then we get...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank j w
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We’re pleased to know that our staff was friendly and helpful, our goal is to always provide top notch service. That said, I must apologize if we missed the mark on the rest of your stay. I will share your review with our team, as we take our guests’ concerns...

Huntsville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel needs tender loving care. I have stayed at this hotel in the past but this trip the hotel is truly showing its age. All the staff were friendly and helpful but the hotel just is shabby, cracks in the tub.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 36maryelizabethm
Management response:

We appreciate your kind words about our staff. It is our great pleasure to provide you with excellent service. We regret that you were not happy with our hotel’s décor, but your comments are important to us and we will take note of them. We do hope you will stay with us again.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.7 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $159 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floors have great views of downtown”
 of 5 bubbles kathi806, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Heater was loud when fan clicked on and off. We were on 6th floor, view of parking garage. Pretty quiet otherwise.”
 of 5 bubbles diannm2013, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get on the 14th floor if you are an HHonors member.”
 of 5 bubbles GuyFromAtlanta_GA, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“14th floor”
 of 5 bubbles jodythecat, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we stayed on the HH level away from the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles rsusanw, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5