We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well appointed hotel in the town of Lijiang close to all the shops and amenities. Has a good atmosphere with nice open courtyards to relax in good weather. The restaurant serves good food with a variety of different flavours typical of the area. Buffet breakfast is served in the same area with Eastern and Weatern food. Tea is available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra P
王府饭店2016, 经理 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thanks for your comments, The Palace Hotel in the Old Town and that is very unique NaXi couryard , you can recommend to your friends and look forward to your visit again

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly located in the old town not far away from the South gate. When arriving we noticed construction activities in the reception / lounge and the room was not ready. We should stay 3 nights in this hotel but one night was enough. The room was small and worn out, carpet dirty and the bed hard and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jelle H
王府饭店2016, 经理 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Guest : Thank you for your opinion to us ,We're so sorry to hear that our problem has caused you a bad experience ,We have followed up to check all the questions and keep improving,Wish you a happy life !

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The rooms were on two floors surrounding a series of courtyards in haveli style. Bedding good quality and spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and helpful when the room safe wouldn't work - they brought another one. Breakfast options were mainly eastern, but then so were the guests. The old city is traffic free so expect a long walk from the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 764MartinW
Wehl
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed here for two nights and the location of the place is great. Easy acces to the old town. Also the hotel has a nice atmosphere, staff is friendly and we had no issues communicating in English. The place was not very clean however. On the surface the rooms looked OK but the carpeting was really dirty and also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josgreet1
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Hello Jos, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the atmosphere at the Palace Hotel. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms and will be giving the carpet a deep clean. For breakfast, we have a large variety of choices until 10am, before we switch to a smaller breakfast choice until 1pm. Perhaps you came...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Bad smell in the room. Very poor maintenance. Almost could not shower as the mixing valve was not functioning. You could choose between very hot or cold water. Location seems to be perfect, but problematic access especially during rain - very common - as cars cannot reach the spot. No English speaking staff. Problematic closet arrangement.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacogal
Maple P, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Hello Jacogal, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Palace Hotel. The hotel is built in a traditional Mu Style and mostly made of wood. For that reason, we have to keep maintaining the rooms. This time of the year is raining season for Lijiang, as a result things are very humid. We are sorry your...

Keyneton, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

As we were on a group trip to Yunnan the Wangfu Hotel was a beautiful surprise in Lijiang. Guest suites are in the older authentic style of the hotel but has new fittings. Near all shopping and tourist destinations. Restaurant within, a varied menu and beds were comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozoldroser
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Hello Ozoldroser, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Wangfu Hotel. Hope you make it to Lijiang again! Best regards, Customer Satisfaction Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We asked for a room in a quiet part of the hotel and we got that Pros Good Hotel in keeping with the theme of old Lijiang town with many Chinese themed timberwork about the place 1)Great sized room complete with fridge and lounge area 2)Bathroom was a good size and well laid out although the toilet was just inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gazzoo007
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Gazzoo007, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Wangfu Hotel and that I could be of assistance! We have been working on the balcony of room A201 in the last few days, we've repainted the walls and pruned the wines. In the next couple of days we will fix the railing, add some...

Fiddletown, California
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We stayed two nights here on a tour. The hotel is very quaint, could use some updates in the rooms which they are planning to do and open a restaurant as well. Sebastian was a life saver! Spoke every good English (for a Canadian), as well as french and Chinese. Feels more of a Chinese hotel than American which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for your review. I'm glad I was able to assist you during your stay. The hotel is in traditional Chinese style with wooden building and quiet courtyards, and we make sure everything matches this style. Our complimentary afternoon tea from 1pm to 11pm is quite popular for our guests, and I'm glad you enjoyed...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Location is perfect to visit this town. Hotel has character and is nicely decorated. Rooms are average and bathroom is quite small. Mattress was rock hard, very uncomfortable ! Sink in bathroom leaked a lot of wastewater on the floor and shower had not enough water pressure which we solved by removing the sprinkler heat from the waterhose ! Position...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eMBieAntwerp
Maple P, Manager at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for your review. We're sorry you didn't have a very good experience in our hotel. We are working on improving the room at the moment, and you must have been in a room that hadn't been fixed yet. We apologize, and will make sure all the rooms are in perfect condition. I have informed...

Florida
Reviewed 29 May 2016

This hotel fits beautifully into the Old Town, very atmospheric old style building.The courtyard was a nice place to relax in the evenings. The service was the best we had outside the big cities; the staff spoke some English and it was very helpful. In addition there is a Franco-Canadian manager who is extremely helpful and friendly and seems to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeach9
王府饭店2016, 经理 at Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Our location in the south of the Old Town is a quiet and beautiful place, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Wangfu Hotel! We have been training our staff to improve their customer skills, and you enjoying the service must mean we're doing something good! We are working on improving the room at the...

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.1 km away
Liwang Hotel
Liwang Hotel
#240 of 915 in Lijiang
31 reviews
0.8 km away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.0 km away
Lijiang New Huifeng Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lijiang Golden Path Hospitality Hotel
8.7 km away
Lijiang Lu House Boutique Hotel
1.0 km away
Manxin Lijiang Holiday Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palace (WangFu) Hotel of Lijiang was built on the ancient site of the Mu family's guest house from 800 years ago. It is a heritage hotel of the ancient city, facing the South Gate Square with three streams of water from the snow mountain as a peninsula. It compasses three chambers sharing a screen wall facing the gates, four corner yards surrounding a center big. The hotel is embellished with blossoms and plants, constructions with old-world charm, arbors and waterside pavilions. Wandering through the rectangular corridors, you will be carried away by the tranquil atmosphere, which sends you into another life. Lijiang Palace (Wangfu) Hotel is the best place to start discovering the true Lijiang history and Naxi lifestyle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel)

Address: No.9 Yigu Street, Nanmen Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Price Range: $65 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangfu Hotel Lijiang
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Lijiang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palace Hotel (Wang Fu Hotel) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 550jelleh, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are out for some peace and Quiet ask for Room A 201”
  • Best Room in the hotel (Quietest at least ?
 of 5 bubbles Gazzoo007, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms can be rather cold.”
 of 5 bubbles The_old_birds, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the "pink room"”
 of 5 bubbles PerthTravelingman, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms close to reception area, music from Next door bar will disturb.”
  • Breakfast at the terrace
 of 5 bubbles TrudeTV, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay