We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Dona Esther

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostal Dona Esther
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Dona Esther
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Flores, Guatemala
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The hotel is beautiful and in the middle of town. Unfortunately, it's a court yard with all the rooms exposed to the busy restruant and traffice of guests below. We stayed on a Thrusday and Friday and it was much too noisy to sleep. The shower was the best I've had in all of Ecuador but the towels are paper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kari562625
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

I think we helped you change rooms to a lower floor room, because you preferred that? I think we spoke to you also, but you never complained to us. The noise was only on the Friday night, since this was a holiday weekend, the first after the earthquake, and we had many visitors, also the first time after the earthquake,...

Pedasi, Panama
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Dona Esther is a great place to stay, also try out the restaurant, amazing food for very good rates! The location is good and rooms clean, colorful and cosy. The market is close by, walking distance. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Coming with a car, parking is just around the corner. Definitely recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2703cindy
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks! Hope to see you again. Groetjes, Wendy

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Our room was lovely with doors that looked out over the street. However, the doors didn't close well so it was quite draughty and cold at night. The wifi was free but patchy. The location was excellent, it's on a quiet road but right near one of the main squares. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLJHLJ
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Dona Esther. Inn: Accessing the inn requires buzzing in through a gate (someone always opened it immediately). The ground floor has an office and small reading room, an one courtyard with tables, and the restaurant. The building is in a simple, but very attractive, colonial style. Room: Our room was on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin D
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your extended and wonderful review. We're very glad you were happy to stay with us. Hope to see you back next time! Best regards, Wendy

Michigan
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This little hotel is located just off a main square, making it easy to walk all over the central area. The people working here are very kind and helpful. The room was small, clean and fairly comfortable. Rooms open into a central courtyard. There is a lounge with a small TV for those who need it and a nice library....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kibbe
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This quaint hostel is clean and well kept. However, if you are sensitive to noise, you need to realize that in a place where all the rooms face the inner courtyard, sound carries. On the third floor in our very small room, we could hear everything happening in the kitchen two floors below, as well as everything spoken by people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andeangirl
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2016

All rooms overlook courtyard, two each floor also overlook fromt street. We stayed on Third floor, back room, window open to courtyard, great for fresh air. Love the wood floors, very clean rooms. Patio on roof, nice for evening star gazing but chairs are old. Staff very friendly and food was good. Breakfasts are not huge, but tasty. Dinner menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarryandMo
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you for your good and constructive review. You're right, the chairs on the roof need a change, these are planned! Apparently the staff forgot to put the heater on in the breakfast room, because there is one! We will remind them. We're happy you were satisfied with us and your stay. Best, Wendy

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Pizza well all the food was fantastic, fresh and organic. the owner is very friendly and the staff as well. The wood fire oven, the wooden tables and the Spanish architecture provides a warm and inviting setting. My husband, a pizza expert, says this is the best pizza in the world.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcie0413
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Although clean and not a bad location, it seemed relatively pricey for a simple room with towels changed only every other day, no bottled water, and without breakfast included in the room rate. We moved to another hostal that is even closer to the market, breakfast was included, and we had a large, beautiful, quiet room. Security was equivalent to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth R
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your experience was not what you hoped for. Of course, more economic places are available in Otavalo, our prices are based on our business expenses and those are unfortunately not the same for every hotel. The water in your room is bottled water, as informed in your room. We just don't like to put plastic bottles...

Reviewed 15 November 2015

Very lovely restaurant, simple clean rooms with comfortable firm beds and native-made wool blankets. Close to everything. Dutch owners have created a cool place with a comfortable reading room, fair prices, and recommendations on taxi drivers and day trips. Everything was perfect although we had some issues with hot water and septic smells on and off. Still worth it!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you, Katie, for your review. Just wanted to let you know that we're working on the WiFi, the way the hotel is built, makes it difficult to let the signal reach all corners. When you stayed with us, we indeed had a problem with one of our warm water tanks, which is repaired and solved.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#6 of 14 in Otavalo
99 reviews
3.9 km away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
203 reviews
31.4 km away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#4 of 25 in Otavalo
121 reviews
9.1 km away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 25 in Otavalo
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Price Range: $69 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Dona Esther staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Dona Esther staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring ear plugs for a great night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles bronwynh386, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all about equal.”
 of 5 bubbles wwileyb, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps a room higher up woud help with the noise, but they all face the loud courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles kari562625, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“this place is not for light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles Andeangirl, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Interior rooms may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GarryandMo, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay