We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,206: English reviews
Oregon
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you stay here you have to stay in one of those above the water bunglows. It is the perfect place to stay. They come w/ decks, chairs, platform for sunning or lounging, and your own private stairs into the water. The water is clear blue and you can see to the bottom of the blue waters and see all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rosielikestotravel
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Rosielikestotravel", Thank you so much for your great review and feedbacks. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you were satisfied with the amenities offered by the facility. Hoping to see you again in one of our hotels worldwide. Best regards from Moorea Olivier De Ronseray General Manager Sofitel Moorea beach...

Orlando
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I went to the Sofitel Moorea as part of my Honeymoon and my overall impression was that it was very nice but average at the same time. The beach was exceptional as well as the view of the neighborhing island of Tahiti, the clarity of the water, beautiful corals and fishes were all great. They fell short with activities, after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NDSankar
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "NDSankar" Thank you for your comments and feedbacks. We feel very sorry to read that you did not find more activities to enjoy during your stay. But while sun bathing is the principal "sport" on the island, the hotel, through our Public Relation office can organize several different activities for our guests, on land or over sea : boat...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 3 nights in an o/w bungalow - these were the best I saw anywhere in FP as far as snorkelling straight from your deck goes, you pretty much have to push the fish out of the water to get in! The bungalows were really nice, well decked out and what I would consider great value for a number of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ElDarkhorse
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "EIDarkhorse" We are so happy when we have the chance to read such great review from our guests. Thank you to have taken the time to post your comments and feedbacks. To see that you completely enjoyed your stay here make us feel proud to be hotelier. Thanks again, and congratulation on your honeymoon Best regards from Moorea Olivier...

Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed as a couple for 8 day's at this beautiful resort. We must admit that probably 8 day's is to long. The food was good but could be better, maybe more choices with potatoes, a bit less stews . And for the salads we think they good do better, everyday the tomatoes,beetroot,carrots etc they could have done more than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ger D
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Ger D" Thank you for your great feedbacks, such complete and detailled review is the best way for us to improve our service and therefore to improve on guest expectations. It is true the hotel offer a diner buffet everynight at the main restaurant "Pure", and after several day, the perception of the buffet can be disappointing. We also...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Absolutely incredible, Couldn't have had a better evening, you will not be disappointed!! It is definitely worth the extra money to have an overwater bungalow! We had room 115, and it was perfect! Thank you so much Sofitel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake3377
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Jake3377" Thank you so very much for such expressive and great comment as the one you have posted about your stay among us. We are so happy to see that you have the greatest stay. Looking forward to have you again in one of our worldwide address Best regards from Moorea Olivier De Ronseray General Manager Sofitel Moorea Beach...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is the fourth time my wife and I visited Sofitel Moorea, yet the first time we took our 2-year old daughter. The hotel and Moorea remain a real tropical paradise and the highlight of Sofitel Ia Ora is the natural beauty that surrounds it: the magnificent blue lagoon, the lush forest beneath the mountains and the coral reefs and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Pantunes
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Pantunes" I've got to thank you a thousand, this review is incredible. And I have to tell you how much I appreciate the time you dedicated to type this complete and so detailled comments. Such feedbacks are excellent for us, to help us improving our level of service and anticipate costumer needs. I will not be able to respond...

McAllen, Texas
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort was like paradise, we stood there in October 2012 for 7 nights, had an over the water bungalow (RM# 201),and it was amazing, able to see the coral and all the colorful fish from the bungalow balcony or inside floor window was great!! About the personel they were outstanding never a dull moment to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie R
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Bonnie R" I just got the chance to read your review, the team and myself are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay among us. Thank you to have taken the time to share your appreciation. It will be passed along the entire team. Looking forward to have you again in one of our hotel worldwide. Best regards...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 21 October 2012

As honeymooners we visited Sofitel Moorea in August 2011 for 6 days. We had a very nice overwater bungalow 216 I think near the end of the pontoon, (definitely it worth’s its money). Room was spacious and nice decorated. We had a window at the floor so we could admire the sea from the inside of our room. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tanos_1981
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Tanos_1981" Thank you for your feedbacks. We are glad to read that overall your stay with us was a positive experience, and that you enjoyed the amenities of the facility. It is true the cost of some prestations at the resort can be expensive, specially for food and beverage, nevertheless the cost of bringing some products to the hotel...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Location is amazing! Colours of nature are really charming. I went in Sofitel for my wedding and I can ensure that this hotel offers the best you can desire. Bungalows were elegant but not spaciousest. During our stay in Polynesia we met wider bungalows. The management was not flexible and in view of the high price we paied our expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Filippo C
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Filippo C" Congratulations on yoru wedding. I'm sorry to read about some of the mix-up and confusion that you had to experience while at the hotel. On the other end, I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to celebrate your wedding. Hoping that Sofitel Moorea will remains a great memory. Best regards Olivier...

Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights of our 2 week stay in the French Polynesia. 2 nights in Tahiti, 3 nightsIn moorea and 9 nights in Bora Bora. Stayed in the luxury overwater bungalows on all islands and it was amazing. The coral was outside your bungalow and a ton of colorful fish. Find was amazing. We also rented a car...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rosiefromoakville
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "Rosiefromoakville" Thank you so much for sharing with us your appreciation of your stay. We are glad to see that your ATV tour was enjoyable and that you got to taste some of the local products. Hoping to have you among us again. Best regards from Moorea Olivier De Ronseray General Manager Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort

3,210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (475)
Viewed
Room/Suite (354)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (469)
Viewed
View from Room (334)
Viewed
Bathroom (95)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (154)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1222)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
4.7 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
19.7 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
5.8 km away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
279 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
600 reviews
8.6 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Price Range: $411 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
106 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (106)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick one of the over-the-water bungalow, but go for the slightly cheaper option”
 of 5 bubbles 415lawrencec, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Over water bungalows are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles V5665PSlisat, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a bungalow over the water”
 of 5 bubbles rice8049, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Overwater bungalows are great but you also won't be disappointed with ocean front.”
  • Overwater bungalows in lagoon
 of 5 bubbles jperoni, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bungalow 316 is at a great location.”
 of 5 bubbles LC888, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay