We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Estate Residency

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Estate Residency
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This residency is well located on the main road from Cochin to Munnar in beautiful surroundings, much nicer than staying in Munnar itself. Philip and Sheeba were charming hosts. They welcomed us with pineapple and tea and gave us good advice regarding places to visit around Munnar. Our room was spacious and clean and the view from the room over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon-198712-A
philip5454, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review

Thank you for writing review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First when we went we had booked rooms in basement,but as they were quite small we shifted to upper rooms which were luckily vacant.upper rooms were very good.We were served homely cooked food in breakfast and dinner.Amma was a very kind and best person.The family also welcomed us.Nice family.Very scenic view from rooms.But there is a problem of wifi.It will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lipsa T
philip5454, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review

Thank you for writing review

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I went with a friend on xmas long weekend. The hosts were very unwelcoming towards non family travellors. They had a stereotype in mind regarding young male travellors and did not want to entertain us. We had booked for a room inside the main house but we were put in a cave room in basement which was very cramped. When...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saurabh B
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Best place to stay with family and location good..tasted Kerala delicious food.. standard and Deluxe room's are good...but cave room is very bad... other than best budget home stay.... This place 10kms from Munnar city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ramu281
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Very small room we feels rooms are cramped...our room and another 3 are in the basement of owners house...rooms could have been better for what we paid... Otherwise nice staff and foods...very good view from room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anand K
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Not recommended for family stay. But a Beautiful place to stay. Very very friendly staff and owner. Food is OK but home cooked but quantity was less. I think we visited in off season so they had only one staff but if that is the case in peak then service will lack. its 9 km away from munnar town and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aditya S
philip5454, Manager at Estate Residency, responded to this review

We have two staff and me and wife assisting all guest.Already more guest are recommended my food and reasonable price.We couldnt understand what inconvience he got from my side.He doesnt noticed at all

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 11 September 2016

A good place to stay at. Surrounding are calm and quite. Owners are good at hospitality. I also faced some issues with my bookings. I booked deluxe room for 2 days through goibibo, 15 days in advance. On reaching there, the owner took us to some other place which was inaccessible from road and called it a free upgrade. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank payalk2011
philip5454, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review

Thank you for writing review On of asudden we got some complaint deluxe room so we upgraded to in other homestay car is reached in front of the homesatay but they not agreed stay over there we taken back one day stay in standard room next day deluxe room First day balance amount refunded through goibibo totally we loss three...

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Visited this place with entire family including my father(78 yrs) and child (2 yrs). The owner(Philips) and his spouse are very helpful. The service is very good. The food is really delicious. The view from the residency is very good specially Morning time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mayur N
philip5454, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review

Thank you for writing review

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms are average, and located far from Munnar. No good restaurants near by. You may get cheated by the property owner. We stayed there two days. When we were leaving they forced us to pay double the room amount, showing room rent is 5000 after updating the same on website like goibibo and clear trip. When I asked to provide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandeep S
philip5454, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review

He tried to cheat us because when he enter the register he not payed any amount he said he will collect next day and give.He took two deluxe room[ first floor] next day morning he said everything good food and stay.In night 10.pm he and his father came give standard room rate that we not accept and this fellows disturbed...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This is about last year Monsoon Trip To Kerala in August. I & my GF had an Amazing Experience in staying in different tree houses - one in Village Pallivasal & other in Village Chinnakkanal (Near Munnar) in Kerala. After reading good reviews we decided to stay at Estate Residency,2nd Mile, Pallivasal, Kerala. This is a home not a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jainAtishay
philip5454, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review

Thank for writing review

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (116)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
6.0 km away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
95 reviews
26.9 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
508 reviews
4.3 km away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#18 of 91 in Munnar
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
1.9 km away
Green Trees Munnar
Green Trees Munnar
#9 of 16 in Chithirapuram
63 reviews
17.4 km away
Silver Mount Homes
Silver Mount Homes
#55 of 173 in Munnar
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Estate Residency makes a comfortable home with large rooms,full-size windows and double bed. The house is neatly furbished with small essentials here and there which make a house a home. The guest rooms have well-equipped bathrooms attached to them with 24 hours hot water supply facility. The most interesting space is the terrace on first floor which gives a lovely view of the green hills around, which are at a lower level than the house. Away from the main town, the house provides for a perfect experience to invigorate one’s senses and admire Munnar for its tranquility amongst the woods. Guest enjoy having morning coffee on a terrace which offers a panoramic view of forest hills and velvety tea plantation, looking mystic in the morning as the mist rolls through them. Pallivasal is the venue of the first Hydro Electric Project in Kerala and a place of immense scenic beauty. Another interesting tourist spot near the house is Kallar Waterfalls which is always worth exploring, especially during the monsoons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Estate Residency

Address: O Estate Residency Munnar, Munnar 685565, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Price Range: $26 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Estate Residency staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Estate Residency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the main house and it wasn't a budget room - maybe ask about a room with a panoramic view...?”
  • View from room over the tea estates
  • The garden is beautiful...
 of 5 bubbles Jon-198712-A, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles lipsat2016, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take budget room there is no much difference between budget and luxury”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good luck if you get the room that you book!”
 of 5 bubbles payalk2011, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Take Tree House ( extra cost but worth)”
  • nearby view
  • Tree house
  • Tree house
 of 5 bubbles jainAtishay, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5