We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Baan Tai Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Baan Tai Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Baan Tai Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable the staff are exeptional good and really went out of their way to make everyones stay memorable. And half moon was f#@king epic........Tristain Shane thanks so much and all the best.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgenumbertwo
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Myself and 2 friends checked out last night after an amazing 4 nights. The hostel was clean and tidy and the staff are incredible. Sue, Tristan, Karen and the guys really made us feel welcome and part of their little family. They took us on little trips and showed us beaches and bars that we would have never found on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny J
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Myself and 5 of my friends booked the basic 6 bed dorm here for 5 nights for the full moon party. Great atmosphere and lots of fun but unfortunately the hostel itself was pretty grim. We expected basic, however I did not expect to not have running water for the majority of our stay. This meant not being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank laura280694
kfarini, Owner at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Laura, Thanks for your review – we appreciate your comments and are sorry you experienced a poor stay at our hostel. We did have problems with the water supply during your time with us due to the current drought. On the first day this happened myself and Tristan were out on our Beach n Beer Hop Tour, and so...

Horham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We booked a 6 bed basic dorm which was a very, very, very basic box. There was no storage and no air con but 5 fans which weren't great. The toilet was pretty gross and smelt like egg. With there being a drought we ran out of water twice, the whole day of full moon coming back on at like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yemsy1994
kfarini, Owner at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there, I've replied in depth to your friend, but wanted to express here as well that we are now hooked up to the government water supply, and so don't expect to experience such a problem from this point on, even in face of a drought. Thanks for your comments, and glad you enjoyed the fun aspects of your stay...

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Great, great, wonderful, anazing people. You feel like Family. Your Safety is Guaranteed. Only place i've ever heard that. Theres a Cinema room to shrug off the day after a Full Moon Party. Lion King and A/C in a dark space will bring the Seratonin back around. Suitable for all ages tho. The party happens all around then come get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We stayed here over the half moon party! It was great and social, the staff were lovely and friendly, the owner put on a great tour of the island which allows you to see places which you wouldn't see otherwise. The pre party for the half moon was great fun and we met loads of amazing people. Also the cinema...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicel1906
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay, staff are really friendly, Tristan (the owner) is full of knowledge about the island and places to visit plus knows some great places for cheap deals. Beer is good and cheap, rooms are clean and cheap. Movie room with lots of movies to watch is a real jam! Defiantly recommend Baan Tai Backpackers! Only 100 baht...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

My stay at ban tai has been the best so far i stayed at ban tai in january and tristan and karen literally made me feel like family, so i promised id come back and visit them to finish off my travels and yet again made me feel like family ive had such a blast id highly recommend staying here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John E
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

What a hostel! 10/10. I originally was there for January full moon, and had such a great time I had to come back for February half moon. Super clean dorms, en suite bathrooms, cinema room, cheap drinks, and the best times I've had so far travelling. Not to mention the staff are all babes and are so welcoming and fun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Really good little hostel! Small enough that you really get to know everybody you run into. Staff were some of the nicest people I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Colleen, Jake, Pablo, Rosie, and Tristan, top notch individuals. From guiding us to the best spots on the island to partying and drinking with us before and during the half...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke D

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
544 reviews
5.5 km away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.1 km away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#12 of 327 in Ko Pha Ngan
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
10.8 km away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#8 of 327 in Ko Pha Ngan
645 reviews
9.6 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Koh Phangan's best-loved Western-run hostels for backpackers! Come stay with us, chill out with us and party long into the night with us, all while being sure you'll get an excellent night's sleep in one of our bright, spacious & whistle-clean dorm or private rooms. We're a small hostel (only room for 42!), so getting to know people is guaranteed. In fact, our friendly, sociable environment is one of the things we're most proud of. We really care about your time spent with us, and will treat you like family! ....We're situated in Baan Tai, which is exactly the area you want to stay in for all the island's famous jungle parties, including Half Moon Festival, Maya, Jungle Expererience, Sramanora Waterfall Party and Shiva Moon. We're also within walking distance to Black Moon, Baan Sabai and Loi Lay floating bar party which is on every Sunday night and hosts some of the best DJs worldwide. We're a 15 minute drive to Haad Rin for Full Moon. Baan Tai is also smack bang in the middle of Haad Rin and Thong Sala - the island's main town and pier, so we're a really great base to explore the rest of the island from. You can rent mopeds from us, and we'll give you all our hot tips! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baan Tai Backpackers

Address: 61/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $15 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Tai Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Baan Tai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baan Tai Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Baan Tai Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 301has a great view over the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles 566nitzap, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301, amazing balcony and view!”
 of 5 bubbles 166kayam, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“301 had a sick view such a good sunset when I arrived”
 of 5 bubbles P8440PGjohnp, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms in front is facing beach”
 of 5 bubbles CHKhoo, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't even bother with the fan room as you only save a couple of dollars and the A/C is bliss with much larger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 823shanes, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay