We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hacienda Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hacienda Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Place is right on the main strip so if you like the party and full moon this is the place for you. Great little bar next to it and close to the beach. Stayed here once because their resort was full which happens around full moon time. Recommend to anyone on a budget. Fun Fun Staff.

Helpful?
Thank ken626626
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Great customer service from staff, helping me and my friends out with any problems we had, staff were always smiling. Great views from the pool side with cheap food before the full moon. Location slightly awkward as you have to pay 100 baht each to get to the main strip. Great stay would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Charles G
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Beds are rock hard, the walls had holes in them, we stayed for 4 nights and not once was our dorm bin changed, or given anymore toilet roll. People are allowed to smoke in the dorms so if you aren't a smoker it's horrendous. The area isn't great, there's not a lot around, you have to get a taxi into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty G
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We booked the 5 night full moon package through STA, thinking we would have a private room by the pool/beach in another part of the Hacienda beach resort. It turns out we were booked into a private room in Hacienda Backpackers, a 5 minute walk in land. The room was grotty with a mouldy bathroom and stained curtains. The lock... More 

Helpful?
Thank JessicaOrrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We looked at reviews for this hostel, it looked great! When we arrived however there was not another soul, it was dirty and the beds were absolutely rock hard - the bunk bed nearly fell apart. Worst hostel of the trip and we are not fussy!!! The 'bar' place was completely dead, there really was nobody else there. The door... More 

Helpful?
Thank ju72730
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Stayed there during full moon party. Email contact before arrival was very friendly and helpful and rooms were ok. They wanted me to pay cash, what I did, but when arriving back home I saw they charged my credit card with the same amount. Suddenly - very surprising - nobody replied to my 3 emails then. BE CAREFUL when paying!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank csam6520
Dan D, Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there I am really sorry to hear that you have been unable to contact any of our staff regarding a refund, however, we have received no emails regarding this incident. Please can you contact us again so we can try and resolve this? Again, my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. More 

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the private rooms at the backpackers and we loved it! The room was clean and the aircon worked amazing. My favorite parts about this place is the location of the hacienda, its pretty centrally located (close to food and nightlife) and also that you have access to the resort pool right down... More 

Helpful?
Thank shmase
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hacienda Backpackers for about a week during the week of the Full Moon Party. Note: we stayed at the backpacker section which is on the main road, and we stayed in the main building (not a bungalow). The room was great! Spacious, strong AC, hot water, working toilet. They rent motorbikes there so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KarliReneeJ
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Had booked 4 nights here, but only stayed for one. Looked nothing like photos or what we had read in the reviews. It looked like a prison. There were bugs all over the sink in the toilet, coming out of the wall, and my friend also found a tick on the wall next to our bed. After seeing that, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank steph h
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Sure the WiFi isn't great. And you probably booked the resort, and were sent to backpackers. But what an island... At ten bucks a night you can't beat it. If something wasn't working or broken, Kai fixed it immediately for us. Especially the problems created by our booking agent. Kai went around handling problems with a smile every single day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank E B

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 km away
Beach Resort Hacienda
Beach Resort Hacienda
#61 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
257 reviews
0.5 km away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#34 of 325 in Ko Pha Ngan
33 reviews
0.2 km away
Bunk Up Hacienda
Bunk Up Hacienda
#93 of 325 in Ko Pha Ngan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Red Boutique Hostel
Red Boutique Hostel
#49 of 325 in Ko Pha Ngan
28 reviews
0.6 km away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#16 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
0.1 km away
Phangan Island View Hotel
Phangan Island View Hotel
#8 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpackers Hacienda is a well established, safe and secure friendly western managed hostel. With five room types to choose from we can cater to everyone's taste and budget. Located in the heart of Koh Phangan, we are just a short walk from the town center yet still close to the beach. Centrally positioned between all of the best parties, we are about 15 minutes by taxi to the world famous Full Moon Party and less than ten minutes to all the other major parties (Half Moon, Black Moon, Jungle Experience). Everyone staying at Backpackers Hacienda Koh Phangan has full use of all the facilities at Beach Resort Hacienda which is only a two minute walk away. Here customers have access to the beach, swimming pool with pool bar, free fitness center, free use of kayaks, free pool table, as well as a gourmet restaurant, travel agency, motorbike and car rentals, scuba diving and much much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda Backpackers

Address: 99/39 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Road, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $15 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hacienda Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Capsules room is quite good”
 of 5 bubbles csam6520, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“great pool, fun atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles KarliReneeJ, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Any room is good, just be aware it is a party island and a party hostel. given i was there during the full moon party so it could have been just during the time i was there.”
 of 5 bubbles TybSzymanski, 5 May 2015 | Read review
“try ang get a 3rd floor room, views are great”
 of 5 bubbles subirp2015, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Just ask the staff they will give you the best room available at the right price”
 of 5 bubbles 466DavidE, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay