We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Woodlawn Villas

Show Prices
#10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Woodlawn Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Woodlawn Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 337: English reviews
Moscow
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We tried to pay in cash but they didn't give us the receipt or something that confirms the fact of payment, ok we insisted to pay by credit card but they had problems in connection and it didn't work. We wasted one and a half hour staying with backpacks under hot sun trying to pay the booking, calling to our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ekaterina G
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear guest, we see you have proceeded with your threat to write a negative review on Tripadvisor. Our manager spent an entire 90 minutes trying to assist you, whilst you repeatedly threatened him with a negative review on Tripadvisor. Despite your poor conduct, he tried his best to assist you. To harass the hotel manager in the manner that you...

Austria
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights after staying at a different, more expensive hotel in Koh Tao. We were very satisfied with Woodlawn Villas, the employees are really kind and very helpful, particularly the manager! They are very uncomplicated and even allowed us to change our booking because we accidentally booked for the wrong dates. The access to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albbri
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for writing this lovely review, we really appreciate your kind words. We are very happy to know you were so satisfied with your stay at Woodlawn Villas. Our manager will be delighted to hear your feedback! We do hope to accommodate you again at Woodlawn Villas in the future. Thank you.

Alphen A/D Rijn
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Staff at reception couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. We didn't rent a scooter as everything on koh Tao is walkable and a lot of accidents happen with the scooters here. 5 min walk to shops / restaurant / laundry.. Villa 2 was excellent and we booked 2 extra nights right after we arrived. Having a local phone available in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marald75
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Marald, thank you for your lovely review. Our manager will be very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas. We always take great pleasure in knowing our guests have had a great holiday on Koh Tao, it really is a wonderful place. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Thank you.

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The room was immaculate and very modern. The room also comes with a handy information pack and mobile phone which is useful to book a taxi as the the villas are quite far out from the main areas. Would definitely recommend hiring a scooter as taxi was 300bt a time (after bargaining!) The young man at reception was extremely helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Alana D, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It means so much to us when guests enjoy their stay at Woodlawn Villas. Our manager Mr Moe is fantastic and he will be delighted to hear your feedback. We love the fact that you enjoyed the closest beach to the hotel, which is called Chalok Bay. We recently...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Power goes out every 5 minutes, the manager lies and says it's a problem through out the whole island when he forgot to turn on the generator and the rooms overload their own system. The other rooms have lights on but not ours, it's an electrical overload problem. I called them several times and he said "I don't care" and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steve R, We are saddened that yet again a guest has used blackmail to try and manipulate and exploit our hotel to obtain cheaper room prices or free room upgrades. We have provided exactly what we advertised and more to ensure you have a lovely stay. Ultimately all we want for our guests is to enjoy their stay...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Pros: Villa is relatively clean. Cons: Reception is a mozzie-infested hut by the road. More than 100 mozzies outside your room. Always a rush to get your key to open the door, and make sure no mozzies get in. Worst part? In the welcome book, the owners dare to say that it's to feed the friendly lizards. Congrats. Excuse after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charbbytai
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Charbbytai, we are of course saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at Woodlawn Villas. It seems the mosquitoes on the island caused you great discomfort. We explain in the Welcome Booklet that mosquitoes are a natural part of the local eco system and that geckos (lizards) feed on them. We are not sure why you found this...

Salo, Finland
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights and paid for the cheapest room but they were kind enough to give me my own villa!!! Pool was nice, and room was very clean and worker here made me feel extremely welcome when I first arrived! Why I dont give them 5 star? Sheets had some stains and they didnt have blankets. AC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuuliaMak
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Juulia, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the free upgrade from the Superior Double Room to the Garden Villa. We are happy to know you enjoyed the swimming pool and our lovely staff made you feel welcome. It is wonderful to hear positive feedback from guests as we try very hard to...

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We were here for 15 days and decided to stay 4 more.. it's so nice and quiet. The rooms are clean and comfortable, there's a small pool with comfortable beds etc. The guy at the reception is great and more than helpfull We spoke with the owners Luke and Michelle who will do everything in their power to help u...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elmar S
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Elmar S, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so happy to hear our guests have enjoyed themselves. The entire team try their absolute best to ensure our guests have a lovely holiday. Our manager Mr Moe will be so pleased to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Woodlawn Villas again in the...

london
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We chose to stay with Woodlawn Villas because of the many good reviews in Tripadvisor. In the end although our stay (in Koh Tao in general) was not necessarily unpleasant, it wasn't the best either (considering we were very much looking forward to this leg of out trip). This was not mostly the hotel's fault though and I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lien_snave
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Reading a couple of earlier reviews I can't help thinking how important careful reading of the website/ booking response/destination information is for prospective visitors. Firstly the power is controlled by the government, not the owners, who have installed a back- up generator to ensure guests are inconvenienced as little as possible. That's just the nature of Koh Tao. Secondly the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen W
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review

Dear Karen, thank you for your lovely review. So many happy guests never find the time to review us. It is always great to read reviews from guests that have enjoyed their stay. You are quite right, it is so important for guests to read about the island and our hotel before they arrive. Koh Tao is a beautiful laid...

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
4.1 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,132 reviews
1.4 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,176 reviews
3.0 km away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
181 reviews
2.5 km away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
607 reviews
2.2 km away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woodlawn Villas is a family run 18 room hotel with swimming pool. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the swimming pool set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Price Range: $43 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodlawn Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Woodlawn Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Flynnworldwide, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Villa is more spacious but rooms are more modern”
 of 5 bubbles 443gadim, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Villas are definately worth the upgrade. Just sitting outside with garden view is excellent!!”
 of 5 bubbles Marald75, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles tracyb817, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I recommend Garden Villas for longer stays. They are a bit apart from others, in a calm garden & close to the pool. A kitchen is huge bonus.”
 of 5 bubbles pavelk486, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5