We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Borneo Cove Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Borneo Cove Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Borneo Cove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed at this place and absolutely loved it!! The room and bathroom were beautiful - spacious and clean. The hotel has a laundry, restaurant, cafe, pool etc. Wi fi was working ok and all the staff were lovely and very helpful. I don't understand complaints in some previous reviews, we were with a group of 19 and all loved...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Arrip1943
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arrip1943, Thank you for the heartening comments in your review. It was a pleasure serving you and your group, and we are indeed delighted to hear that you all had enjoyed your stay with us. When i read out your review to our HOD's present at this morning meeting, they were elated and pledge to continue with their efforts...

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 December 2014

The staffs at this hotel give it an extra star in my rating. Staying there for 3 nights for a family event during Aug 2014. Pros: Their staffs are polite and helpful. We stayed at rooms on 1st floor where there is no lift and the staffs responded fast and helped us to carry our luggages up and down while...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Win555
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Win555, First of all, let me express my thanks to you and your family for staying at Borneo Cove Hotel. I am Very note that you found our staff honestn polite and helpful. We have often stressed on doing our best for our guests. As for lifts, we have not installed any since our hotel has only ground floor...

Reviewed 11 December 2014

Counter stuff service are good and polite. Easy for parking if you are driving. Very wide place but it seems more like apartments. Comfortable and peaceful place. Room is big, clean, neatly and comfortable. One disadvantage is no Astro channels.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank andromedae
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andromedae, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to note that you are satisfied with our service on your stay here at Borneo Cove Hotel. As for Astro, we are looking into the matter and negotiating with them for a cost effective pakage. Warm regards from General Manager.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at this place for two nights and absolutely loved it!! The room and bathroom were beautiful - spatious and very clean. The hotel has lots of facilities - laundry place, restaurant, cafe, pool etc. Wi fi was working ok and all the staff were beyond lovely and very helpful. I don't understand complaints in some of the previous...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Seanzulu
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seanzulu, Greetings from Borneo Cove Hotel. Thank you for staying at our hotel and we are indeed heartened by your positive review. we are glad that you both had enjoyed your recent stay here. It is our aim to see to the comfort and safety of our guests, and our staff will always do their best to serve our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The positive is the room is clean. The not so great...The wifi is really bad that I had to go to the hotel lobby to get access which is not great when this is really expected in hotels these days. There was also no hairdryer in the room. I requested for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mooncake0709
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mooncake 0709, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We apologize that you were woken up so early. The issues that you brought up have been looked into and we have reminded our associates to be more considerate and alert so as to provide better service to all our guests. Thank you for your...

London
Reviewed 29 July 2014

An American motel style place positioned on a busy(ish) road into Sandakan, so a bit loud. Pleasant staff on the front desk. Nasi Lemak breakfast was decent. The room was of fair size, clean and adequately fitted (e.g. good TV, but walls not especially soundproof) with a nice shower. Missus understandably a bit underwhelmed, but at around 110RM this represented...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TonyMoon14
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TonyMoon14, Thank you for having chosen Borneo Cove Hotel as your accommodation during your short visit to Sandakan. Thank you also for your sincere feedback which we have taken into consideration in order to improve our service to our guest. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you and your lovely wife again in the future.

Morpeth, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I really didn't enjoy my time at this hotel. I relied on TripAdvisor for my my bookings on my holiday and in this case was disappointed. Firstly, it's out of town on highway. Near nothing, you can't walk anywhere, boring. They also had poor wifi. Didn't work in rooms, which was pretty inconvenient given the location. I expressed my disappointment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KylieP23
BCH0tel, General Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kylie, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Nevertheless, we are looking into the matters mentioned in your TripAdvisor review and the HOD of the areas in question have been informed accordingly. Rest assured it is our policy to ensure our...

Toronto, Ontario, カナダ
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a great hotel in transit. Comfortable, clean, flat screen TV, great rain shower, great staff. The buffet breakfast is also wonderful. For 95 RM.... you can't go wrong! A little far from downtown, but there is very cheap local buses that can take you there for less then 15 minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadiangirl7907
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear canadiangirl7907, Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, food and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words and your experiences, to our team members. Again, thank you for...

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here recently and the rooms are basic but clean. We did however have no hot water but once we notified staff this was quickly fixed. Staff were extremely friendly and always happy to assist. As long as you are aware this is a basic budget hotel I am sure you will be happy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BayLodge
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BayLodge Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share the feedback on the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service from my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words and your experiences to our team members. Thank you for the feedback...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having visited Sandakan many times over the last several years it was quite pleasing to find this Hotel. The staff having completed their training at the attached Hospitality Institute were very keen to please.The GM Judy Goh was approachable and took on board any concerns we had, so if you are visiting Sandakan you could do a lot worse than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimbo1302
BCH0tel, Manager at Borneo Cove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimbo1302, Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate your feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, my team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Borneo Cove Hotel when you next visit Sandakan.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
2.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
1.6 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
507 reviews
19.5 km away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
544 reviews
2.5 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
314 reviews
6.1 km away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Borneo Cove Hotel Located in the central area of Buli Sim Sim landmark, the Borneo Cove Hotel stands out for its eco-friendly style, diversity and vibrancy. This eco-friendly resort style hotel offers guests the comfort of a fully furnish hotel rooms or a dorm style accommodation. It is an experience that strikes the perfect balance between comfort and practicality, as is just 20 minutes from Sandakan Airport, 5 minutes from Sandakan town centre with its rich historical attraction, all creating an alternative for discerning yet value-conscious business and leisure guests, who yearns for comfort, peace and tranquility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Borneo Cove Hotel

Address: Lot 2, Mile 1.5 Jalan Buli Sim-Sim | Negeri di Bawah Bayu, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: $33 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Borneo Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Cove Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Borneo Cove Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Borneo Cove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked a Queen room and then changed to a Twin room when we saw that the Twin rooms (which we had also booked for our teenage sons) were much wider and better quality mattresses - I'm not too fussy about mattresses but in this case there is a huge difference so I'd recommend you book a Twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles Carperdiem, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“depending if you are young or aged due to no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles Arrip1943, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Get a room on ground floor if you have heavy luggages and if you dont have strong muscles. Rooms that are not facing the main road are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Win555, 25 Dec 2014 | Read review
“All are goods”
 of 5 bubbles andromedae, 11 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ground floor, close to front of Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Jimbo1302, 3 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5