We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Escazu, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 June 2015

A basic room but very clean. The guy in the counter was very helpful with all of our questions. They let us keep our bags in their lockers after the check out so we could go relaxed to Machu Picchu and enjoy. There is a small supermarket right in front of it and the hostel has a kitchen. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arrianga
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We stayed in Pirwa Cusco and the hotel was pretty good, so without checking it, we reserved in Aqua Caliente trusting that it would be comparable. Our first nigt was great, in a 4 beds with bathroom, but then they changed us to a 5 bed without bathroom and that was not even human. It smelled awfull of stagnant humidity,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elisabeth S
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We stayed here because it was the sister hostel of a place we'd stayed in Cusco, that wasn't bad. This version was not as good; the hostel is very bare, and was still having building work done to it (on the top floor) when we stayed. The rooms are pretty bare, although there were some handy hooks on the walls....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy T
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We enjoyed the hotel, great location, with very clean room.The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast at 4h30 in the morning, perfect for those who will go up to sunrise/sunset at Machu Picchu. We recommend this hotel - We did the travel to Machu Picchu with the Pirwa Travel all good. Thanks Pirwa Hostels and Pirwa Travel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scheddi B S
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Perfect location, just a minute walk from the busses up to Machu Picchu, its right off one of the main streets with all the bars and restaurants. The actual hotel is beyond disgusting, mold all over the shower curtain, we ended up washing our feet with soap and water after getting out of the shower because we were scared of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Akiki S
Lima, Peru
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Great location, 10min from the train station and very close from the market, restaurants, main square and thermal baths. Breakfast include since 4am (fruits, yogurt, bread, coffee,milk). Have a kitchen where you can cook and a little store in front of the hostel. The rooms are comfortable and the rooms in the first floor are bigger than the others. Free...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ximena7
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Aguas calientes is a tourist town and the hostels are all overpriced and average. However, Pirwa hostel is a great place to stay for one night. The hostel is very close to the bus stop to Machu Pichu and they pick you up from the train station! There is storage space and they let you hang around (and use the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IsaIsa22
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Recently I stayed at Pirwa Hostel in Aguas Calientes in Peru, together with 3 my friends. Unfortunately, we had very bad experience, as we were robbed during the night while sleeping in the room. All our money was stolen. We tried to contact with manager, but neither manager of Pirwa hostel in Aguas Calientes or in Cusco did not want...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Zdenka_Zagreb
Reviewed 29 November 2014

we stayed there for only one night there wasnt hot water and one room smell so horrible that we couldnt get inside linen wasnt fresh as well.. thet gave us different room but still water wasnt really warm.. we skipped breakafast - had a sip of coffee only everybody were rude in this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katbba
Trujillo, Peru
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We got robbed in the same line of this hostel in Aguas Calientes, Pirwa Backapackers. Someone got into the room while we were sleeping and cash money from me and 3 other friends. Owner never came to face us or hear what happened, never show any interest. We only talked to a lady, administartor called Sachenka Mendivi, in this hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fioredy
Pirwa H, Gerente at Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu, responded to this review

4 people traveling together, stayed alone in a 4-bed dorm, and alleged that while they slept, roughly US$1150 was taken from their collective backpacks, all left outside the security lockers. They didn’t wake, no one inside or out of the dorm noticed any intrusion, nor did reception. Due to these claims, all other hostel guests had to be disturbed &...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 km away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
736 reviews
0.4 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
886 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,704 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
192 reviews
0.3 km away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacuteq 603, Aguas Calientes 08000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $20 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location was great to since it was my first time in Machu Picchu (Aguas Calientes).”
 of 5 bubbles brandob314, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The breakfast was at 4h30 in the morning, perfect for those who will go up to sunrise at Machu Picchu.”
 of 5 bubbles starwarss, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Just don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles JimN626, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles johnjC4990KP, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“make reservation with anticipation. The hostel is always full.”
 of 5 bubbles ximena7, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5