We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heritance Kandalama

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Kandalama
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Kandalama
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,753: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is a place that you have to stay in at least once in your life. Luxury hotel nestled in the middle of jungle. In the morning you wake up to see monkeys jumping near the windows and in the evening you can just sit and listen to the sounds of the jungle. great pools and good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samer T
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very pleasant vacation with breathtaking scenery at Heritance Kandalama. We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that you will gain more exciting experiences during your next tour. Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, Executive General Manager, Heritance...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Our first stop during our trip to Sri Lanka my wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, staff always greeting you with a smile & are ready to assist you. The food was great, freshly prepared by chefs (hoppers, roti, BBQ even).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdul_M_23
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very relaxing vacation with breathtaking scenery at Heritance Kandalama. We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that you will gain more exciting experiences during your next tour too. Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, Executive General Manager,...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at kandalama last October for my honeymoon and I would give this hotel 10 out of 10 stars. The rooms, restaurant and pool area are amazing. The service and customer care is faultless. Choice and quality of food in the restaurant is excellent.it was great and waiting for celebrate my 1st anniversary in kandalama.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chirath C
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see the lovely comments shared with us; we are grateful that you selected Heritance Kandalama for your honeymoon destination. We are pleased to see that you have received excellent service from our staff members; I shall surely convey your sentiments to them. Please visit us again to celebrate your first anniversary at our...

Dhaka,,Bangladesh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just checked in and since checking in we have been suffering from their terrible service. Me and my brother's family is staying here. My brother and his wife are the honeymoon couple. However they provided the honeymoon suite to us, even though we have a child with us (the honeymoon upgrade was meant to be for them). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuvo8004
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for visiting Heritance Kandalama and we are glad that you shared your experience with us. We are extremely saddened to see that you have not experienced an exceptional stay with us. Please note that the booking was received from Agoda on the 15th February 2017 for two Luxury rooms. As per the Agoda voucher, there...

Lebanon
Reviewed 1 week ago

A unique hotel nestled in the middle of a forest . It has 3 pools which we did not use since it was raining a bit .The infinity pool has a stunning view on the lake . The breakfast buffet is excellent . Rooms are new and clean . The bathrooms have a view on the lake ( You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karim k
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for keeping trust on Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination. We are pleased to receive your most encouraging endorsements and thank you for the generous recommendation given. Please visit us again and we assure that you will experience some more superior services and surprises throughout your stay. Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, General Manager,...

Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a very good experience. The infinity pool designed by Sri Lanka’s famed architect, Geoffrey Bawa, which blends in seamlessly with the Kandalama Lake is amazing. A perfect vacation spot, though its expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank parakrama_k
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very relaxing vacation with breathtaking scenery at Heritance Kandalama. We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that you will gain more exciting experiences during your next tour too. Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, General Manager, Heritance...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel embedded to the wilderness. Food was good but not the best. Friendly staff., Everyone was friendly and helpful despite the fact we are Sri Lankan Citizens. Especially there was a very friendly person called 'Lalith' helping us at dinner. Food was good, not the best tasting. Lack of seasoning. Had a decent amount of variety 2 buffet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neoanderz
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for keeping trust on Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor as well. We are pleased to inform you that we treat all our guests the same way irrespective of the nationalities and ethnicity. However, we are saddened that you have not felt the same. Please...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had heard of this hotel but this was my first visit. Ambiance is so relaxing. Hotel has nicely blended to the environment. We had a warm welcome with personal attention. It has special dining experiences with Sri Lankan cultural events.Food was good but impressive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanjeewaR
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for keeping trust on Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor as well. We are pleased to see that you have received excellent service from our staff members; I shall surely convey your sentiments with them. Please visit us again and we assure that you will...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unique location, amazing architecture, stunning views - that much was clear before we even got to our room. Which had a view on Sigiriya Rock from the distance (the way the hotel is constructed, I am sure many rooms have an equally beautiful view). The space is so large, you can find many quiet corners to just observe nature and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makonyc
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for keeping trust on Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination. We are pleased to receive your most encouraging endorsements and thank you for the generous recommendation given. Please visit us again and we assure that you will experience some more superior services and surprises throughout your stay. Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, General Manager,...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is built for the true believers in mighty human spirit: designed by Geoffrey Bawa in the early 1990s, this hymn to modernity in the middle of the jungle is nothing short of amazing. The hotel keeps original furniture; the interior details are perfectly in accordance with the idea of 'topical modernism'. Wonderfully kept gardens and a somewhat wild...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are impressed to receive the most generous recommendation given as a hotel for a comfy stay ! It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very pleasant vacation with breathtaking views at Heritance Kandalama. We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that...

3,170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3144)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (135)
Viewed
View from Room (242)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (286)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (783)
Viewed
Bathroom (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (340)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (1184)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5.1 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,395 reviews
6.7 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,362 reviews
2.6 km away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
7.3 km away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
25 reviews
9.1 km away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Price Range: $225 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“-Higher floors have the best views - Keep you balcony door closed there are monkeys - Choose a room from Sigiriya view”
  • unique hotel. Exceptional location
 of 5 bubbles 955lasithp, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a Panoramic view rooms..”
 of 5 bubbles Harshana1985, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles IanandDorothy, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have balconies and from your room/bathroom there are jungle and lake views.”
 of 5 bubbles 729catherinen, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the 5th floor rooms, best view”
 of 5 bubbles Neoanderz, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5