We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Start your review of Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Cheltenham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in the Asian Jewel for two weeks in Feb. This review is just for the hotel, the restaurant has it's own TripAdvisor page where it is currently #1 in Hikkaduwa. When we arrived at the Asian Jewel we were greeted with a very friendly welcome and lovely fruit juice. From the moment we arrived we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavePGlos
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of us went for dinner on the recommendation of a friend and it was fantastic! The setting, the service and the food was just out of this world! I look forward to returning back to this restaurant on future trips! Make sure you book.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josue P
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the end of January into February and would recommend the Asian Jewel as somewhere that is a little bit special. We stayed in the Lily Room which had fantastic views of the lagoon and pool area. The bed was very comfortable, we both suffer with bad backs which have been triggered by poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyhoneypot
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was an amazing stay at asian jewel hotel.beautiful view,friendly atmosphere created by the magnificent staff that work at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean with amazing view from the balcony. Also food was superb and delicious.service was excellent and owner dale so friendly and very helpful. I love this hotel and we will be back again. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prashajh
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is beautiful property overlooking the lagoon, surrounded by lush greenery, Offering an outdoor swimming pool and a restaurant, the hotel also provides tastefully furnished accommodation, cleaned rooms and the best service. Love their pool side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKY T
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just spent 13 nights at the Asian Jewel Hotel staying in the room known as 'Jasmine'. Descriptions and photographs of the hotel decor, it's location and facilities are well documented by previous guests on this site and we found these to be current and accurate. Given that we are all different and have contrasting expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Klyvee
high wycombe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room The Lady Rose was dull and tired The bed was hard and the shower a trickle and ran hot and cold . On complaining about the bed a foam mattress was put on top of the bed .This did improve our sleep . The staff are great , food very good Breakfast and setting excellent . Pool lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willsmithHighWycombe
hikkajewel, Owner at Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review, we are sorry you did`nt like the hotel room, I know you stated to me many times that you usually stay in the Marriot hotels, we have the most expensive mattress available, i know you said you have a memory soft mattress but its difficult to please all people`s different preferences, but as soon as...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed 8 nights at Asian Jewel in January 2017. We had the Jasmine room which has a lovely balcony overlooking the lake, brilliant for birdwatching. The hotel is a little off the beaten track, but only a 5 minute tuk tuk drive from the main streets in Hikkaduwa and we never had any problems getting to and from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JN36
London
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We cannot praise the Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel enough. The hotel has five very select rooms, we had the Kingfisher room that has a wrap round balcony and stunning views of the lake. The hotel has a number of pluses, the location on 'Bird Lake' is stunning and a must for bird watchers, the hotel also has a lovely swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonersLondon
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Had our last real dinner on our trip there. It is refreshing to have a different experience from all the copy-paste beach restaurants in Hikkaduwa. Had a lovely curry. Staff was very friendly and thoughtful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik D

688 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (324)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Jasmine (Luxury Room) (79)
Viewed
Kingfisher (Family Room) (86)
Viewed
Lily (Deluxe Room) (54)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
5.5 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
565 reviews
2.3 km away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
1,487 reviews
2.1 km away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.1 km away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
216 reviews
3.0 km away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Address: Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 50820, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $133 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best rooms overlooking the lake were booked for our stay”
 of 5 bubbles willsmithHighWycombe, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Jasmine room is large, with balcony, and large bathtub.”
 of 5 bubbles 144leahh, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Jasmine and Lily both have great views of the lake. Jasmine is larger.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller1003, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“lake view room was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles ArabellaG198, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The end rooms have a lovely view out over the lagoon. The luxury suite has a raised bath tub and the best hot water pressure!”
 of 5 bubbles FionaC470, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5