We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 836: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is luxuriously on the outside face, unfortunately customer service was at a low level. The last three days at the hotel and we had diarrhea and vomiting from the food that we ate at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karel P
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal palms were swinging in the breeze the day we popped in here for a beer and nose around. Magnificent entrance and smiling staff - though some of them a little confused as to how we might find the bar. But we did - and enjoyed a couple of drinks while watching a fairly furious Indian Ocean crashing onto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryanedwin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was well enjoyed. Starting from when we arrived the staff helped us with our rooms and not forgetting the lovely room which we were ushered into! The room and view was breathtaking. Quality and variety of food was great. Nature and tranquillity was a definitive experience .Would definitely stay again at royal palms. The staff was very helpfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reshane F
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Reshane F, Thank you for taking time to share your memories with other readers. Such a lovely review to be able to share with the team here at Royal Palms Beach Hotel. They will be encouraged by your feedback and comments. They go each and every day to deliver excellence and Sri Lankan hospitality. Thank you for recognizing...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our second day in Sri Lanka and in the Hotel Royal Palms. We were in the restaurant Cabana. It was very good evening,especially I was surprised when I saw hookah here. And there are very good waiters. Our waiter was Sundum-he speaks three languages-Russian,German and of course English,it's unusual) the serves was very good))

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Дина С
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the compliments and for your review. The team will be delighted by your feedback and for highlighting the experiences you have had with us. It is a testament to the dedication and hard work of the team. We will share your appreciation with Sandun, who will definitely happy to hear. Manoj Perera. Executive Assistant Manager.

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is great and the staff can't help enough. The maids came twice a day and provided clean towels each time. The food was very good with lots of variety. Each day is a different theme to ensure you don't get bored. The deserts are wonderful. Overall, we all had an amazing time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Daniel, Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with other readers. How delightful it is to read your review...we are honored and the team will be encouraged and delighted by your feedback, highlighting their hospitality, Sri Lankan hospitality, at its best. Look forward to welcome once again. Manoj Perera. Executive Assistant Manager.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely 10 days at this hotel. However, it may be Sri Lanka's idea of 5 Star, but definitely not ours. Everything I could mention would be nit picking but to mention just a few things that downgrade it are: dirty net curtain to our balcony, grubby seat on dressing table stool, a/c that didn't work properly, 'grey'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAW45
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you very much for taking time to share your constructive comments with other readers. We have well noted your constructive criticism and will look in to those with great interest. Further, we are glad to hear that, you have had a wonderful stay with us. Look forward to welcome you again at Royal Palms Beach Hotel. Manoj...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this hotel over 10 times and we will go many more times to this marvelous hotel. Everything was perfect! Staff is well-trained and always courteous and smiling. They are more than happy to help anyone, be they locals or foreign. The animators are wunderbar! Harasho! Prost! There is a huge beautiful blue swimming pool for any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NRosie
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Rosie, Indeed your review is a testament & dividend to the hard work of our team and dedication that goes in each and every day to create excellence, to strive to do better and to ensure that we deliver Sri Lankan hospitality at it best. Thank you for taking time to write this review and for highlighting the...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Royal palms is a beautiful and a relaxing property. Loved the pool and the views. The staff are well trained, friendly and ever ready to help. The beach is very easily accessible and there is a children's play area at Tangerine beach hotel next to our executive suite.Simply brilliant food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeremyDA2014
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jeremy, Thank you for the review and for choosing Royal Palms Beach Hotel for your visit to Sri Lanka. Further, we appreciate for all your praises with regards to some of our service areas. It is indeed wonderful to learn that you have had a wonderful experience with us. Look forward to welcome you once again. Manoj Perera....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was travelling by myself, and being female holidays can always be more challenging. The staff at this hotel were fabulous always available to help. The bedroom was well furnished. Bottled water supplied in free of charge. Bathroom adequate. Safe included in the cost for valuables. U The restaurant was self service, with a mixture of cuisine. The gardens were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret F
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Margaret, thank you very much for your excellent comment, which posted in trip advisor recommending Royal Palms Beach Hotel. We are delighted to hear that, you have had a memorable stay with us. Look forward to welcome you once again. Manoj Perera. Executive Assistant Manager.

Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we did review about hotel which was good... this time after a year -we still have not received two original birth certificates and previous divorce original from them after our wedding!-complete ignoring of emails-choose another hotel for wedding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iva J
Manoj P, Executive Assistant Manager. at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Eva John, first of all please accept our sincere regrets due to lost of your valuable documents. As per our records we have couriered your wedding certificate and we trust that, you have received it. We have gone though your wedding documents and we found all relevant copies with us, but not the originals. I have spoken to...

1,120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (267)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (157)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (469)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
1,013 reviews
1.8 km away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#4 of 12 in Kalutara
682 reviews
2.1 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,244 reviews
21.1 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
22.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Price Range: $121 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Palms Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Palms Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view - if you don't mind the noise of the surf”
 of 5 bubbles bryanedwin, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My family stayed in rooms 204-209 and had no disturbances.”
 of 5 bubbles danielmA4342KA, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 210 was directly behind the railway track, so was quite noisy with regular trains all day and night!”
 of 5 bubbles JAW45, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think any room is good”
 of 5 bubbles NRosie, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor with balcony and sea view with wonderful sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles 209margaretf, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay