We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mermaid & Club

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$115*
US$81*
US$82*
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,335: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mermaid & Club
 Click to rate
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is very friendly, food is lovely good choices every evening, the rooms are large with air conditioning, they changed the sheets every other day and we had them changed everyday along with the towels changed daily, the staff can't do enough for you, the grounds are lovely with the beach at the end of the grounds, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jasonl3565
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms and service. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We thank you very much for your...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small family run hotel that benefits from its size. The staff are friendly and know when to interact and when to leave you alone. The pool is fantastic and cleaned regularly not too busy and not too quiet. The sun loungers are available throughout the day. The food is generally nice with a varied menu, although if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loiner1000
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent time with us, we're so pleased you had such memorable stay at Mermaid Hotel and Club and truly appreciate all the lovely comments you've made . It's also great to read your thoughts on our dedicated team which we will be sure to pass on to our team. also we...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I just returned from a 10 night stay at Hotel Mermaid and would highly recommend it. It is a peaceful little paradise by the Indian Ocean! The rooms are spacious, comfortable, modern and clean. U.K. 3-pin plugs are a bonus. We had a great view of the beach - perfect for watching the magnificent sunsets. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 2017_Rach_B_UK
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms, service and food. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We thank you very much for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This wonderful hotel far exceeded expectation!Beautifully clean ,quiet,exceptionally helpful staff!We travelled as a group of 7 ,three of us having been to Sri Lanka before.This trip did not disappoint there is something for everyone !packed with things to do and see both for family's and culture vultures!Huge recommendation for a jeweller just outside of the hotel gates called Moonlight Gems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola M
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for having chosen Sri Lanka as your destination and the Mermaid hotel and club as your place of residence. It is with great pleasure to read that you were so delighted with the experience you had here. We are glad to note that all facilities and service provided were to your satisfaction, and that is appreciated! We do...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at this hotel ....the rooms are wonderful as are the balconies with stunning views of the pools and Indian Ocean. The staff and food are excellent and always willing to please. There was some reasonable entertainment on is the evenings ....if there is one piece of constructive criticism it would be the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian R
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review, which is appreciated. We were happy to read that the general impression of your visit was positive and the majority of facilities were to your satisfaction. My apologize for any distress it may have caused you during the stay with us. We look forward to...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Hotel Mermaid with my family and we all had a great time there. The staff working there are first class and so very friendly - nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are modern and spacious and very clean and there is certainly no shortage of food on offer. There is a large...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank briangr6
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms, service and food. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We thank you very much for...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned after a 8 night stay at the Mermaid hotel The holiday was for a relaxing break and some chill time. We met some lovely friendly people here and some of those have been a few times and said the new rooms were a big improvement and the new bigger balconies. The hotel is well kept and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin1962060
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review, which is appreciated. We were happy to read that the general impression of your visit was positive and the majority of facilities were to your satisfaction. My apologize for any distress it may have caused you during the stay with us. We look forward to...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 8 nights all inclusive following our touring around the Golden Triangle. The hotel is small, but well maintained and clean. The food was good and plenty of choice. We had a ground floor room which was handy to access the pool area. Only disappointment was that the beach area along this side of the coast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracy C
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms, service and food. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We thank you very much for...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having reviewed this gem of a hotel in the past, why review it again. Well, after a refurbishment during last year, I thought that it might be worthwhile reviewing it once more. The principal changes have been made to the guest rooms and the bar. Guest rooms have been enlarged and to an extent, refurnished. Bathrooms have again been enlarged...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Pete&Babs
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms, service staff and food. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. My apologize for any distress...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel for couples who want peace and quiet Not much nightlife or activities offered by the hotel Be prepared to be hassled on the beach Lots of stray dogs on the beach Great food different every day Limited alcohol available if you want certain drinks that are not included you can pay Also if you want bottled water you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula S

1,656 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1271)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (262)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (229)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (9)
Viewed
Other (562)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (384)
Viewed
Activity Pool (3)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (56)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.8 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,179 reviews
1.1 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
1,105 reviews
1.3 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#4 of 12 in Kalutara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#7 of 12 in Kalutara
875 reviews
23.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
7.3 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Price Range: $140 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mermaid & Club staff and other travellers.
160 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (160)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mermaid & Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are within easy walking distance of anywhere within the complex.”
loiner1000, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms all have a good view but they do not have lifts to the first and second floors.”
Kevin1962060, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked the ground floor room overlooking the pool area.”
601tracyc, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view and quiet”
paulasR805NC, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor room 208”
MarjorieL346, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$82
Hotels.comUS$82
TripAdvisorUS$81
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates