We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Halgolla Plantation Home

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Halgolla Plantation Home
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Halgolla Plantation Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Emil and Arlene were very gracious hosts and a joy to be with. They did an excellent job of letting us enjoy the unique experience surrounding this plantation home. What we saw was a plantation home of a bygone era being transported to the present time by Emil, the third generation owner. This itself is no small feat and adds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desilvasl
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

We are so glad that you got so much satisfaction, in so many ways, in staying at HPH. The appreciation we get from guests is the single most important "payback" for our efforts. Thank you so much.

Cortona, Italy
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Our stay at Halgola Plantation with Arleen and Emil left us with a feeling of having found friends; Arleen and Emil both gave us insight to a land and people we knew little about, we felt it was a very rare and special opportunity to be travelers and "explorer" not tourists. We advise a 2-3 day stay (or longer) to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capitanissa
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

We couldn't agree more as far as your suggestions to all potential guests is concerned even though we do believe that the advance information we send out leaves little room for misunderstanding about exactly what awaits them at HPH. In any event, it is SO heartening to hear that we have, once again, achieved our primary objective insofar as those...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Picked up in Kurenagala by their driver for a very interesting trip up to the plantation where we were greeted by Arlene, Emil, and Malika. The house was just as we imaged it, a throw back to times colonial. The views from the veranda stunning.The plantation was really interesting although the undergrowth rather lush after all the heavy rain in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

We really do appreciate you taking the time to speak to what HPH has to offer and hope that we will have the pleasure and privilege of hosting you again before too long.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Halgolla Plantation Home was recommended to us by a friend who had booked but planned on staying after us. Emil, our host at Halgolla though this was hilarious that someone could recommend a place without having been there! My friend’s recommendation however was spot on! From the first email contact with Emil and Arlene I immediately felt we were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreoCreatures
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

It is so good to know that we continue to succeed in providing our guests with "a home away from home" and that they leave with good memories of HPH and that those who arrive as guests leave as friends. Thank you so much for your kind words.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Myself and my husband travelled around Sri Lanka for two weeks and this was definitely the best place that we stayed! Emil and Arlene were fantastic hosts and it felt like a home from home! The food was absolutely delicious, proper Sri Lankan cooking for each meal. We felt thoroughly looked after, our stay was incredibly peaceful and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camilla C
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

Even though we've had so many guests continue say so many nice things about Halgolla Plantation Home, comments such as yours which show that we do succeed in being good gosts and, ultimately, friends continues to give us so much satisfaction! Thank you!

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

What can we say, but 'what a wonderful place'. Arlene and Emil are so welcoming and friendly and views of the plantation are to die for. Rooms were clean and tidy and the food superb. You will not go hungry. We tried everything and love it all. Emil took for a walk around the magnificent grounds and we fell in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerkennah
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

While it seems that we have had nothing but excellent reviews, it still gives us great pleasure to find that our efforts are so appreciated by our guests who arrive as visitors and leave as friends.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 January 2015

The Halgolla Plantation Home has been ranked the best guesthouse in Sri Lanka. That may be true, during our three weeks travelling around the island we stayed at various places - all very good - but Halgolla is the one we appreciate the most and the one we talk about most afterwords, as the wonderful hosts Arlene and Emil. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tantolars
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

Arlene and I are so pleased that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. It is something we try to achieve with each and every guest and rest assured that responses such as yours are most gratifying. We hope we'll see you at HPH again before too long!

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful stay, feeling like a part of the family! Arlene and Emil are the most fantastic hosts taking their time to have interesting and long conversations (they seem to know almost everything about most things and especially about the fruits and plants on the farm) with you on the veranda or at the dinner table! A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stavanger_fam
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

We are so glad that we've been able, once again, to have people such as yourselves arrive as guests and leave as friends, very satisfied that they've had a worthwhile experience at HPH. We do hope we'll see you again before too long!

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2014

Since my first visit, Halgolla has been awarded Best Homestay 2013 in Sri Lanka. No surprise. Arlene and Emil provide great hospitality in the beautiful surroundings of a working plantation. Excellent Sri Lankan food. Highlights for me were early morning tea served on the veranda, and sitting on a garden bench in the late afternoon watching and listening as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanyf4dd
Emil_vanderPoorten, Owner at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that your second stay with us was even better than the first and we hope that your next sojourn at HPH will be even better!

Reviewed 22 December 2014

Arlene and Emil have created a unique homestay experience in the hills outside of Kandy. Rain fell during most of our stay but we were happy to have the time to sit and enjoy sharing stories. We were regaled with stories of Sri Lankan history, Canadian adventures, and family histories. The food was delicious. The beds were comfortable. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John Y
Emil_vanderPoorten, Manager at Halgolla Plantation Home, responded to this review

It's so good to know that despite probably the wettest period in Sri Lanka's history, you enjoyed your stay with us. It was such a pleasure having you and we do hope we will see you again!

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 km away
Jungle Tide
Jungle Tide
#7 of 337 in Kandy
131 reviews
0.0 km away
Vista House
Vista House
#24 of 337 in Kandy
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Thotupola Residence
Thotupola Residence
#28 of 337 in Kandy
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mowbrey House
Mowbrey House
#95 of 337 in Kandy
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Notting Hill Country House
0.0 km away
Kandy Greenview Hotel
Kandy Greenview Hotel
#19 of 337 in Kandy
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Halgolla Plantation Home is not an ordinary B&B, but welcomes you as guests of the owners in the ancestral home of a family that has lived here for three generations. Situated off the beaten track in the mid-country, it is ideal for exploring the Kandyan foothills or as a jumping-off point to historical and cultural sites. Guests are assured of peace and relaxation. Ideal for artists, writers, nature lovers, hikers and those appreciating quiet pursuits.We have three spacious and airy rooms available. Two of them have private attached bathrooms; the third one has a private but separate bathroom.We serve authentic, healthy tasty Sri Lankan food, tailored to your taste (not too hot). Vegetarians can be accommodated with advance notice. Minimum booking is two nights. We do not accept guests under the age of five (5) years because HPH is not equipped for younger children. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Halgolla Plantation Home

Address: Halgolla 50 Acre Estate | Galagedera, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $86 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halgolla Plantation Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Halgolla Plantation Home staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Halgolla Plantation Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look carefully at the description and choose the best room for you. We liked our large and airy room adjacent to the parlor/dining room, 2 of the rooms are just off of the this area, I did not see the other room.”
 of 5 bubbles capitanissa, 14 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you spend more time there than 2 nights to appreciate the beauty and tranquility.”
 of 5 bubbles Kerkennah, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“HPH only takes seven guests, so rooms are luck of the draw, but they're all charming. Oh, internet access is at the whims of a dongle and uncertain transmission, so be patient. It works - eventually.”
 of 5 bubbles SiameseDuke, 6 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The standard is of course not as for a five-star hotel, but quite above at least our expectations. Depending on what activities you are after the whereabouts of HPH could be good or bad. We felt it a perfect place to have as a base-camp.”
 of 5 bubbles olsamuel, 13 Jan 2014 | Read review
“This is such a unique chance. Contact Emil or Arlene directly and discuss what you want with them - thats my tip.”
 of 5 bubbles rupertcdean, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay