We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clove Villa

Travellers' Choice award winner
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$132*
US$118*
US$127*
US$132*
US$118*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clove Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clove Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at clove villa for the one night we had in Kandy. On arrival we walked into a wonderful villa with a high open space. We were given cool towels and juice which was perfect after a day spent in the bustle of Kandy. We had quick dip in the pool to refresh before dinner was ready. For dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoniaS05
Ireland
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely service from the moment you enter Clove Villa. Rooms are beautifully decorated and a good size. We had a delicious club sandwich by the pool for lunch. The breakfast of bacon and eggs of choice was also fantastic. The only thing about Clove Villa is that it's a bit out from Kandy so you can't just walk down to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floodsa
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The cozy, quiet and a very well kept resort... and truly like a Home Away from Home! While we were out nearly most of the day, we always looked forward to coming back in the evening to be with Mr. Charlie and his staff... We looked forward to the home style cooked meals and the unwinding over a nice bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monika_and_Raj
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Chose this small boutique hotel based on excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Stylish villa with delightful, smiling staff. Charlie, the owner, greeted us on our arrival with cold flannels and a welcome chilled drink. Perfect after a long drive up from Colombo. Our room was very large and comfortable with a huge en suite bathroom. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emcgsy
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This is the most unprofessional Hotel I have ever come across..So we had bookd clove villa for two nights through an online site for our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. We had our previous stay in Nuwara Eliya. so after driving all the way to Kandy from Nuwara, upon reaching the hotel & after being made to wait for 15 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pooja r
Clove_Villa_Kandy, Manager at Clove Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. There wasn't any reservation under your name on that day and we assume that we did not receive your online reservation due to some technical issue. As we were fully booked, we tried to find another hotel for you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Warm greeting on arrival with delicious welcome drink. Charlie & all the staff fantastic. Breakfasts very good, great omelettes! We had both evening meals there, one Sri Lankan other spaghetti bolognaise all very tasty. Our room was large, very nicely decorated. Only small issue it is quite dark whereas lobby area is very light & airy. Overall wonderful 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynne M
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Used this as our base to explore Kandy for 2 nights. It is nicely situated about 15 mins away from the centre of Kandy so nice to come back and chill by the pool after a busy morning exploring. Lovely breakfast and we had dinner one night there which was excellent. I have to add that the staff literally couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam W
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The two-storeyed building called Clove Villa lacked visual appeal at first glance. It had no grounds worth mentioning and no view either. The tiny lily pool hardly counted. No lifts; so we got used to the stairs...it is just one floor. There are two hanky-sized open spaces on the first floor and you may see some birds. Basically these spaces...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sukanya D
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Stayed for 2 nights in Kandy as a stop-over between Sigiriya and Hatton. A beautiful small hotel, with an attractive reception area and great room overlooking the pool. There appeared to be only one or two other guests during our stay, which meant it felt like a private villa and pool, brilliant for a couple of relaxing days. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
Sydney
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is boutique - but the staffs are amazing - my wife always wants to try a local speciality (kuto ? Fry roti ) But to find a decent one is not easy, not much info on the internet ! - while when the hotel manager knows, He actually offer, to send us to a local restaurant and and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KCSUM

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
5.4 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
1.3 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
501 reviews
4.2 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
5.2 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
716 reviews
3.6 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clove Villa is a vibrant, stylish and luxurious boutique villa located only ten minutes away from the historical city of Kandy. Surrounded by manicured lawns dotted with flower plants and trees heavy with fruit, the Villa offers Deluxe and Superior accommodation with the finest comforts and first class service. Comprising seven beautifully furnished rooms, a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor dining and many other entertainment facilities, the Clove Villa is the ideal choice for a memorable vacation in the picturesque hill country.Located in the heart of Kandy, the Clove Villa is easily accessible via road or train. Guests can easily access the many wonders of this city which was the last capital of the ancient King's era in Sri Lanka. The Villa is close to many shopping centres including the spanking new Kandy City Centre. The iconic Temple of the Tooth, which is one of the most venerable places of Buddhist worship and a World Heritage Site and the Royal Botanical Garden in Peradeniya is in close proximity to the Villa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clove Villa

Address: 48 P.B.A. Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $160 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clove Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clove Villa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
8 months ago
usa
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Clove Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“General......laundry can be done across the road at Mahala Reach hotel. Take the Clove Villa business card with you to show drivers.”
BoatGR, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any, all seemed good!”
Fireflymountain , 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Cnnamon Room!”
Monika_and_Raj, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ours was the large, superior room at the top. Very comfortable and spacious if a little dark.”
Emcgsy, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are individually designed, very clean and quiet.”
seahorse69, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$118* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$127
TripAdvisorUS$118
Hotwire.comUS$132
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates