We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Helga's Folly

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Helga\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 440: English reviews
Start your review of Helga's Folly
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Firstly the good news. Helga's is a very interesting, perhaps unique place. We did not stay at the hotel, and am pleased we did not. I cannot give a report but would listen to others on TA who complain of a lack of cleanliness, disrepair and poor service.We did visit for dinner (more below). It is worth going there in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichTea547
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with the food here while you were trying to have a pleasant holiday in Sri Lanka. We at HELGASFOLLY take food very seriously and if I may ask you to be kind enough to let...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner and I were recommend this place and we were not disappointed! The hotel was unlike any other, with every corner filled with amazing things. We only ate dinner eat, but were allowed to look all around the hotel. The hotel is a little hard to find, we walked there at night and it's not signed until you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comment. The members of HELGASFOLLY family are always determined to make each and everyone of our guests welcome and feel the extraordinary vibes of this unique place. And in the meantime make them feel at home. Encouraging and commenting of the service and hospitality at HELGASFOLLY is indeed an incentive to us. Thank you again...

Colombo
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's completely crazy. Completely mad. It's just an extraordinary piece of art. While WE struggle to match cushion covers with our sofa at home or simply a self-coloured shirt to a boring pair of pants, the owner/decorator of Helga's Folly, HELGA DE SILVA BLOW PERERA has created art by mixing different colours, styles and pedigrees into one massive masterpiece. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charith D
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for your high spirited review. Yes indeed, this is a place where importance has been given for creation. Even if it is a stay over or a short visit, The HELGASFOLLY team's intention is to make it unforgettable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

portchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our umpteenth visit and we weren't disappointed. Helga's is the only reason we come to Sri Lanka . The place has a magical atmosphere created by Helga and her loyal staff over many years. With a new dynamic manager just installed I am sure he will make his mark under Helga's guidance. He was already asking guests for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redvanmorrison
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us and taking your precious time to write your lovely review about our home, which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband, but to all the loyal staff who work here. Being able to make you all welcome and your stay pleasant was a great boost to my new assignment at...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Being a Sri Lankan, I have visited many places in Kandy so was excited to visit Helga's Folly, for a special meal. The entire experience was a treat. It was magical, spooky and interesting with plenty to keep me going interested. It was like living in a Tim Burton movie. The food and the wine were good but the pricing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nehama J
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting HELGASFOLLY and for the welcoming valuable words. We are glad that you enjoyed the meal and the environment which this place had to to offer. Yes, this place is magical and spooky, but in such a way that everyone has a good and extraordinary experience. Thank you again from the Management and staff of HELGASFOLLY.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We haven't stayed in the - really expensive - hotel, but we did visit for a tour and had a blast doing so! It is such an eccentric place with lots of art to see! Truly extraordinary and interesting sight!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malinda06
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us and taking your precious time to write your lovely review about our home, which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband, but to all the loyal staff who work here. We are sure that if you decide to stay over here in the near future, it will be indeed another...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Helga's folly is the craziest hotel I could see. When it comes to describe that hotel, I can only think about insanity and genius at the same time. Somewhere lost in the hills surrounding Kandy, you'll find a red painted hotel with long dark corridors, amazing paints on every single wall and weird decoration, which will probably make you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antoine D
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you so much for visiting us and taking your precious time to write your lovely review about our home, which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband and two adopted kittens Tommy and Toby but to many who have been with Madam Helga's family for many, many, many years. Your review is much appreciated...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

One of many highlights one has travelling Sri Lanka & definately not to be missed!! Loved it so much last year we brought 12 friends with us frim NZ. Not only was the 3 course lunch exactly what we wanted we reunited with the fabulous Helga!! Sanju in reservations was very professional & prompt to deal with, unlike some other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaine525
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review about 'our' home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband, but to many, some of whom have been with Madam Helga's family for many, many, many decades. Your review is much appreciated by us all. Thank you too for bringing...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

There is no place in the world like Helga's Folly. If you are looking for sterile hotel blandness then look elsewhere. This is a unique experience in a tropical forest. Make no mistake, if you can't stand monkeys, expressive artwork, quirky characters and humble hospitality then this may not be the place for you. But then why, I ask, of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tluker
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for taking your precious time to write your lovely review, about 'our' home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband but to many who have been with her family here for many, many, decades. Your kind words are much appreciated and touched us all, and makes keeping the door open worthwhile. We...

Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 March 2017

After reading all the reviews we couldn't wait to visit, we had our driver find it and arrived at 1:30 PM on Saturday for a lunch, We walked in and was met by the host who told us that Lunch wasn't being served. Bummer but no big deal. I started to walk around looking at the place when the Hostess...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tommycall1
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Very sorry that you encountered this unpleasantness in 'our' home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband but to many here who have been with the family for many, many years. Please let us know when you came and the management will look into this. You did not meet the host or hostess, as...

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (116)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (136)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.9 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
477 reviews
7.3 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#24 of 53 in Kandy
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
672 reviews
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
918 reviews
3.8 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $125 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Helga's Folly staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Helga's Folly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room has unique artwork decorating it. I like being suprised so I would select at random for this reason.”
tluker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think this is a Hotel. If it is, then don't stay. Unless you want totally strange experience. . It's more like place to go and see.”
chamathf27, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay!!”
eddieore, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The single room was much smaller than the double room and not much cheaper.”
EREL131, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a look at the bathroom before you choose a room”
YorkshireBlueskies, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5