We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helga's Folly

Save
Traveller (561)
Dining (89)
Room & Suite (76)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“madame helga”(48 reviews)
“family history”(21 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Helga's Folly
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
294
114
42
32
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
294
114
42
32
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadame helgaalice in wonderlandfamily historyevery wallevery inchcoconut soupfrank sinatracinema roomcole portertim burtonmulled winenewspaper cuttingsevery surfacesri lankaantique furniturefamily homefour poster bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
141 - 145 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This place is incredible- though it is obviously crazy and eccentrically adorned floor-to-ceiling, it is also rich in island history and home to Madame Helga herself. I highly recommend to everyone visiting Kandy to come and see the place for yourself. It's $3 to come...More

Thank Julianne P
Response from Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Madam. Thank you for staying with us and also so for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review about our home,which is so much appreciated by all the Folly family. 'Our' home which it is not only to Madam Helga and her...More

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The moment I saw pictures of Helga's Folly, I knew I'd found a place of many secrets, history and magic. I came to Sri Lanka to get elope and didn't have much planned beyond the big day. When we found ourselves in Kandy, I was...More

2  Thank Hailey T
Response from Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 11 December 2016

Dear Mrs Hailey. Thank you for visiting us for a drink and then staying on for a couple of days en route 'eloping'!! Thank you so very much for your lovely review, which has made ALL here smile and remember the HUGE treat you gave...More

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Scintillating and sensuous, high on the hill looking over Kandy sits Madam Helga's grand folly just like an illusion. We spent two nights there soaking up the unique and eccentric atmosphere, observing the rituals ( like the padlocked spirit cabinet opened for each drink purchased)...More

Thank graham e
Response from Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Sir/ Madam. Thank you for visiting us, and for taking your valuable time to write to Tripadvisor. Constructive criticism is very important to us, and we have messaged you to find out more. Thank you. Madam Helga has not been too well and it...More

Reviewed 5 December 2016

We came only to vsit this Hotel as it was recommended by our guide book. We consider it is waste of time. Very expensive fee for a strange and dusty place without any concept. Plastic skeleton on chairs may be good for a haloween party.More

1  Thank HEF4004
Response from Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 11 December 2016

Dear Sir and Madam. Sorry that you felt that you had a wasted trip. We have had builders here on and off for months, and agree our home which it is not only to madam Helga, her husband and family, but to many of us...More

Reviewed 30 November 2016

This hotel is not for everyone. If you like blank walls and minimalist style, this is not the place for you. However, if you are an artist, and you love art and history - and occasional furry monkey friends hanging out in the balcony, delicious...More

Thank Blissful_Trails
Response from Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you so much madam, for visiting us, and taking your valuable time to write your lovely review, which is much appreciated by all the Folly family. So glad that you were able to understand and appreciate what our home has to offer. Thank you....More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (561)
Dining (89)
Room & Suite (76)
Pool & Beach (11)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
shoes1066
4 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Blythspirit77 | Property representative |
Yes .. All reviews help us and we do take them seriously .. Thank you for your excellent site. Very best from all at the Folly.
-1
Votes
Martin P
20 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Blythspirit77 | Property representative |
About 15-20 minutes.Very best from us all at Helgas Folly..
0
Votes
Room Tips
"It is a folly. If you don't like follies, don't stay."
Read review
"I heard budget rooms will be ready soon which will be a really nice addition as no one should have to miss..."
Read review
"We love the Ghandi room on the ground floor leading onto the lovely garden."
Read review
"Nutcracker Suite"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing