We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hilltop

Expedia.comUS$36*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hilltop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hilltop
See the most recent reviews
Showing 417: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Oh, WOW, the view of just about the whole of beautiful Kandy's hill country was IMMENSE. It took our breath away. We first saw it in the evening when everything glittered with coloured lights. I felt like I'd died and gone to heaven! (REALLY!) After a good night's sleep in a comfy bed in a lovely room, I went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilanewton
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,      Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Whilst thanking you for addressing the concerns you had during your stay, we regret to see that you have not had an exceptional culinary experience. We always strive to offer a wide spread of cuisine which includes Western, Sri Lankan & Indian...

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in Sri Lanka.. rooms are larger compared to most of other hotels.. rooms are very clean too.. Breakfast buffet was good. Specially love the coconut roti with katta sambol.. 😊 Staff were very friendly and supportive. They have a nice pool but couldn't use it. Overall its a very nice hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suhail A
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as the preferred holiday destination and we are glad to see that you have received an amazing experience. We have taken your constructive criticism on the third party transport facilities; however, we appreciate your kind understanding that this is beyond our control. Please do pay another visit to us...

Reviewed 13 February 2017

We went there to spend the night after a party..The only room remained was a standard A/c room at around LKR 20,000..The room is terribly small and not suited for that price..There are lot of places with high quality at lesser prices than that in kandy..Very dissapointed..However we complained and they returned the money thereafter..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dilanka A
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively; however, please note that the hotel rates are on par with the market of the same standard. We always strive to ensure that we provide value to our guests at all touch points;...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 February 2017

the view was great overlooking the mountains. the food was not great though the meals has a large variety. would suugest to develop a good vegetarian or indian cusine. The restaurants service could get more better. the rooms were great however wifi was only available in the lobby and would not connect easily. the staff was good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjporwal
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. We are pleased to note that our Buffet comprises of a substantial choice of Indian and Vegetarian dishes. However, we...

Reviewed 3 February 2017

I had stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January '17. THE GOOD - Location: Located on a hill-top, as the name aptly suggest, waking up to the view the rooms offers is simply amazing. You get a splendid view of the entire town. A little difficult to access without a car due to a steep hill climb. Rooms:...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Garima P
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that WIFI is available in the public area; however, we admit that it is less effective in rooms....

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Kandy is a very hectic place. During the day AND night the only thing you hear at this hilltop is honking cars...The hotel did not have WIFI and the rooms but certainly the bathroom needs renovation. Friendly and helpful staff. The top floor seemed cleaner than the floors below.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esther B
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence the noise is...

Vancouver
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We stayed here 2 nights on an organized bike tour, but so did many bus tours and a wedding reception one night. The room was good, big dinner buffet, pool looked ok although we did not use it. Bar service was sketchy, forgot my order then billed both the original request and the replacement. It's a climb from the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emkay0
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. Please accept our in sincere apologies on the inconveniences you had o face. We hope that you would give us another opportunity...

Reviewed 21 January 2017

This is a nice hotel about 20min wash from the centre of Kandy, and up a hill at the end! I walked it and it was not too bad, and I didn't feel unsafe either. The rooms are fine, the pool is a funny shape but fine and the breakfast was pretty good with omlettes, waffles and pancakes made fresh,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WelshPhys
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us. It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the culinary offerings as well. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great...

Reviewed 19 January 2017

Nice hotel. Little bit out of town and hard to climb if you are without car. Hotel is spacious, with lot of air. Nice (unheated) pool. Food was excellent and good even for a kids. View is beautiful and food and drink prices are "average" for that kind of hotel. If you have transportation I will recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teo O
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at...

Pune, India
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Kandy is a small town with not much to see around. Hilltop is located amidst a busy street. The drive up hill is steep and since it is isolated at the top, there isn't much noise at Hilltop. We stayed there for a night. 4 of us got 2 sharing rooms, 1 was big with 3 beds and a sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatema R
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us. It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the culinary experience on offer. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great...

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
672 reviews
1.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
919 reviews
1.8 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,223 reviews
2.1 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
693 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 53 in Kandy
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $61 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the basement rooms going down near the reception hall. It was very loud and struggled to sleep.”
upalik2016, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Naybe higher rooms are quieter than lower ones”
PatBB_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request for a room with a nice view of the mountains if it is available. City view is an eye sore during the day.”
ChrishanthiP, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard A/c rooms are not good for the price they offer”
dilankaa2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view. Good to check with the hotel before going as they do not adjust rooms after you've checked-in.”
651garimap, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$36* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$36
HotelQuicklyUS$48
PricelineUS$36
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates