We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lake Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lake Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I liked the hotel in general, the food and the rooms, kindness of stuff, especially in the restaurant, but there were stolen 700 USD from my wallet in very professional way from closed room (I did not use the safety box).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaiva D
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really nice location and hotel rooms, but we had bad experience with our tourist group. Someone from staff stolen money from room and management doesnt help us return them and find thieves. Be carefule!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernsone L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night. The food was good the staff was good too. They made a small error with my bill and had charged someones elses dinner to my room but were quick to correct this. The best part is the view when you're in the pool towards the wild. We saw an elephant in the distance and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanila D
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is indeed very kind of you to have placed a review on trip advisor and we look forward to see you , when you do decide to come next. Good Luck

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a nice time, comfortable room , nice place , tasty food For the price worth a lot Middle class Good room , good bathroom Private veranda Love the place specially near the lake.... Love the place Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayathri P
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Meny thanks for being part of lake family and we really appreciate your generosity in placing your view point regarding the stay at our Hotel.We have value your comments which has been rated 100% which is highly commendable.Looking forward to see you next time Good luck

IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The location is beautiful (nice sunset with view over the lake), but very remote, no restaurants in area. Restaurant only offers buffet which is ver expensive and we did not find it very tast. Wifi was either very slow or not working. Frustrating for everyone. Rooms are one but old and not very clean. We stayed there for 1 night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanneke67
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding The lake Polonnaruwa and We definitely will consider your comments will addressing to the Management.Looking forward to see you next visit to Sri Lanka All the best

Reviewed 13 October 2016

The location was perfect for a weekend getaway from the crowded Colombo city where we live. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff and the customer care was beyond satisfactory. Very friendly staff helping out with the places to visit in Polonnaruwa city, where they even extended our check out time for us to go & look around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathasha W
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We valued your comments which has been rated 100% which is highly commendable.Thank you very mush for your valuable feedback regaring our service and the staff as well.Looking forward to see you next visit to Sri Lanka. Good Luck

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I came with a group of 16 of us and arrived a little too early for check-in. Upon calling in, our group were given access to our rooms without delay. Room's amenities were a little dated, some maintenance needed, but other than that everything was alright. Our rooms were on the ground level, so we had backdoor access to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thechosenloo
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Meny thanks for visiting the Lake Pololnnaruwa and placing your very descriptive feedback on the stay as well.Our staff is our most valuable asset and we are grad that they were friendly and courteous throughout your stay.Looking froward to see you next visit to Polonnaruwa Good Luck

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Very nice hotel located on the shores of the lake (as the name would suggest) unfortunately it was the dry season and the lake had receded some distance but it was still a nice view. The rooms are quite good with a bathroom that you could quit easily mistake for a wardrobe at first. The pool was very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It indeed very kind of youto have placed a review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to see you, when you do decide to come next Good Luck

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We had a really good stay at this hotel, but there could be minor improvements to make it a 4 or a 5 star experience. The hotel is located on the lake at Polonnaruwa, in a beautiful setting. We got a tuk tuk from the train station to the hotel, and spent the day exploring the ruins on bikes (400...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiefffffff
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for being part of The Lake Family and we really appreciate your generosity in placing your viewpoint regarding the stay at our Hotel.Looking forward to see you next visit to Polonnaruwa . Good Luck

Reviewed 31 August 2016

The picture of the Hotel on the website is false. The hotel is not on the lake as shown. When we pulled up to the Hotel that is shown on the website, we were informed that it is only a guest house and cannot accommodate guests. So we were told that we had to drive another 10 mins to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vyvette A
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued, Thank you very much for your feed back and we apologies for any inconvenience occured during your stay.But we always accept constructive criticisms.Any how yur comment will help us to inprove our standard. Thank you Management

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
3.1 km away
Hotel Lake Park
Hotel Lake Park
#6 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
90 reviews
10.7 km away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
443 reviews
4.6 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#2 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
295 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#7 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
262 reviews
0.0 km away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well-positioned on banks of the Parakkrama Samudra one of the largest man-made lakes in the country by King Parakkrbma Bahu in the Ancient City of Polonnaruwa.The Lake Hotel is the ideal point of transit within the archaeological cultural triangle and venture out on excursions. Furthermore en-route to the golden sandy beaches on the east-coast and it’s within an hour’s drive from 'The Lake' hotel. Guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. For those of you who want to venture out, shopping, banking, and other commercial needs, it’s only four kilometres away the from the commercial town of Kaduruwela.'The Lake' basically is a hub to the ancient city, Archaeological sites, wild life and the beaches on the east coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel

Address: Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $109 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lake Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lake Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very one find ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles anojbandara, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor with lake view”
 of 5 bubbles TourDriverInSrilanka, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Godreamanboy, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Open the room first and see whether lake bugs are there or not. If OK, make sure to keep the door closed.”
 of 5 bubbles 429charithd, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor room ,”
 of 5 bubbles imrans2015, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay