We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Footprint Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Footprint Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Footprint Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Decent B & B located on a tree-lined side road just off the busy TTK road, one of the main arteries of the city. Staff are very friendly and obliging, especially the manager Aisish (apologies if I've misspelt your name). Breakfast was simple fayre, but was freshly made each day. Wifi signal ok. Never saw much of the owner, Rucha,...

Thank maupassant66
Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Although we don't leave until tomorrow, we feel that we can write our review today, especially as we may not have Internet access once we leave tomorrow. Thus was our first visit to India and indeed Chennai. The Foot Print is a lovely warm welcoming place with great hosts where nothing is too much trouble. We were made to feel...

1Thank GrahamAndNicky
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear GrahamAndNicky It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Ashish enjoyed meeting you and we are so glad you got to discover the city and loved it. Our team enjoys what they do and we are very lucky. I am happy that you felt welcome and were comfortable. As you said the location is great as it...

Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The owner and staff of the Footprint B&B have created a special atmosphere. The rooms, which are clean and comfortable, are simply but elegantly decorated - although perhaps in need of a bit of a facelift. The B&B is located in a relatively quiet neighbourhood with tree lined streets - a safe and welcome reprieve from the rest of Chennai....

1Thank kgee2016
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear kgee Thank you for your wonderful words. Our staff loves positive feedback like this. I am so glad you were comfortable staying with us. Yes, by the end of the busy season, the B&B does need a bit of sprucing up (from Nov to Feb, we tends to be very busy) and we are doing that now, when it...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I was looking for a B&B in the vicinity of St. Mary's road on a whim, and I noticed that Footprint was one of the top-rated places on tripadvisor. The booking was done with great ease, and I was sent my booking details immediately with plenty of contact details and directions. I stayed for a week. The apartment, and my...

2Thank Unrudh
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Unrudh It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. And thank you for being so accommodating... We enjoy it when a guest who is tentative and unsure of us books for a night and then stays with much longer... I am glad you enjoyed the B&B and the surroundings. The neighbourhood is probably one of the best...

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Spend a wonderful 3 days at Footprint. Rucha and her team could not be more helpful. The B & B is situated in a quiet residential area that is a short ride away from everywhere. We had an Indian breakfast each day that was great. The staff assisted us in where to go, a means of getting there and back....

3Thank KLG62
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear KLG62 Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have made your stay in Chennai a good experience. We were very happy to have you stay with us. The auto rickshaws are the bane of our city... Unfortunately given the lack of public transport, one is forced to use them... I hope we see you again in...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 December 2015

I have just spent two weeks at Footprint. It was my third visit. I was lucky to stay in apartment 4B with some colleagues. We were studying Yoga Therapy at KHYF so expected to by out from 7.00am to 6.20pm each day. However whilst we were there the catastrophic Chennai floods occurred. They had 2 100 year floods in 1...

1Thank vsvictory
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear vsvictory It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am glad we got an opportunity to really get to know each other through the flood times. The B&B staff and I were more than delighted to do what we could for all our guests, and it was our pleasure to ensure that all of you...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We were welcomed by the owner of the Footprint on the day we arrived and she answered any questions we had. Footprint is in a great location near some great restaurants and shopping, from crafts to simply a local supermarket. Our beds were comfortable, everything was clean and the staff were absolutely helpful. We were hit by the worst floods...

Thank Rocksiecat
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Rocksiecat Thank you for your very kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure to have such lovely guests like you staying with us during the floods. In a situation, where even drinking water was scarce, it was the fact that you and all our guests rallied together and helped in every way you could, which was so admirable....

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

I was very impressed with this place! Out of researching countless places, trying to find a better deal for what I consider "normal" cleanliness and polite treatment of staff, I went with guide book on this. I also booked on line and saved some $. Make sure you tip the staff too because they are good people that cook for...

Thank Wolfslayer
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Wolfslayer It is very kind of you! I appreciate your wonderful detailed review. Almost 60 to 70% of our guests are single lady travellers and we do our best to make sure that they feel secure and absolutely comfortable. Fortunately our staff too (50% of the staff is women) share the sentiments and we are glad to hear that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I'm a frequent India traveller and Chennai is my second home. This B&B is my favourite accommodation by far for its friendly, warm atmosphere and fantastic staff. It's absolutely lovely and in a very good area near all important Yoga studios and very short distance to Mylapore, a must see in Chennai.

Thank J T
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear J T It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are very conveniently located for KYM, SKY or even Yogavahini or Dr NCs. And since we get a lot of single lady travellers, the team is used to ensuring that all guests feel secure and are comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon....

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was my second time staying in Footprint in the last two years. Must say that the service, staff and B&B is excellent. I was able to check in late, and the staff were waiting for us. They also arranged a car for us to use the next day for a small fee. The B & B is located in...

Thank Johnanna A
RuchaGupta, Owner at Footprint Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear walltalk Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that we were able to entice you back again. We hope you keep coming back to us!! We love that most of our guests are "repeat" guests and we do all we can to make you feel at home.. Heres looking forward to seeing you again.. Warm regards...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (50)
Room/Suite (9)
Bathroom (7)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (5)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
834 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,285 reviews
Alwarpet South
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
#19 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Woods Hotel
#18 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
294 reviews
Green Park - Chennai
#17 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,010 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Footprint is a private 6-room bed & breakfast located in a quiet, up-market residential neighborhood close to the Boat Club Area in South Chennai. Our B&B is located on the 2nd & 3rd floors of an eight-unit apartment building, situated just behind the ITC Park Sheraton Hotel. The character and interior design of Footprint is contemporary Asian - a fusion of the clean simple lines of Europe with the soft natural feel of South Asia. The rooms are spacious with generous beds, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, television with DTH cable, tea/coffee makers, and ensuite bathrooms. Our B&B is ideal for travellers who want an upmarket accommodation alternative without the stiff price tag of a luxury hotel. It is suitable for - expatriates or corporate travellers on relocation or temporary assignments, leisure travellers transiting through Chennai & corporate travellers. Footprint is open all year-round and available for short and long stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Footprint Bed & Breakfast

Address: 108 Chamiers Road | B-4, RM Towers, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Price Range: $70 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Footprint Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprint Bed And Breakfast
Footprint Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Footprint Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Footprint Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Level 3&4 are very quiet. (for India)”
vsvictory, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Comfortable, elegant, quiet and clean.”
Rocksiecat, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There's a corner room with windows on two sides if you like lots of light. But all rooms looked good.”
rafiki88, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Getting food delivered from Dhaba Express or Domino's Pizza is better option than going to these places and waiting. Don't forget to checkout Chamiers Cafe and Anokhi, just a minutes walk away.”
musicandarts, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I stayed on level 3, in apartment area 3A. Quiet, clean, bright and airy. Highly recommended. However, I think all rooms are pretty much the same standard, so you cannot go wrong!”
  • Bathroom detail
  • Bathroom
  • Room on 3rd floor - 3B
amoslandrybasket, 12 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5