We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnolia Residency

Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Magnolia Residency
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Residency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2016

After a week in chaotic Kolkata, our first night here was in pretty much silence! The room was very clean, hot water worked and the staff were always happy to help. Special thanks to whoever cooked and came up with the breakfasts, we were so impressed with everything, especially that you're making something different everyday! Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpokojNaZawsze
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Sometimes we do come across negative comments too, but we take it as a privilege to correct ourselves, understand our guests better and never to repeat the same. So this choice of ours have brought us a couple of years to where we stand today. But with the Grace of God we feel utmost happiness to be rewarded with such...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

The best part about this place is the awesome breakfast...u"ll love it. Place is just a walk away from Mall Road. Room#305 has the best view of Darjeeling n hence charged extra too. Wud surely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinay N
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

It is indeed overwhelming to be praised but one should better remain rooted, so we the Magnolia team truly and sincerely want to thank you for your valued review and kind words of praise. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You Management Magnolia Residency

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Spend three nights at Magnolia residency and had a wonderful stay. Room no 305 has the best view and ofcourse the best room. But the entire property is very well maintained and carefully decorated with local Tibetan murals. Our room though small was fully equipped. Even had a writing table. WiFi worked fine though most places in Darjeeling has network...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Somosree
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Better late than never, please excuse us for the delayed response. We the Magnolia team sincerely would want to thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We feel rewarded. We do look forward to seeing you and your family again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The hotel located quite far from the jeep station and either you walk or take private car to the hotel. If you walk its will be took around 15-20 mins or if by taxi should be around 10 mins depending on the traffic at the city. Bear in mind, private taxi shall not enter the hotel road since its required...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamjmj
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Things with honest intent do fetch rewards and so has your kind words of praise and appreciation. We would sincerely want to thank you for your precious and valued review. We do look forward to seeing you again. Management Magnolia Residency

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Starting from the moment you walk in - the manager is very nice and happy. The other staff always made an effort to say hello or at least smile. The rooms were cosy and everything was clean. The breakfast up on the rooftop was absolutely incredible! Definite highlight were the pancakes and egg sandwiches. We had a great stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fattieharks
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

It is indeed rewarding to be praised. Thank you for recognizing our efforts to provide you with good food and solace stay. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We found everything at Magnolia Residency absolutely perfect. Our room (double executive) was spacious, very comfortable, super clean with the most fantastic view. The hotel owner/manager was always on hand with any requests and made our stay very easy. Excellent breakfasts are available too for a tiny sum. Factor in the bargain rates and this place really is amazing value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Green_J_M
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

The Magnolia team sincerely would want to thank you for your valued review and for your kind words of appreciation. We feel glad that we could provide you with a comfortable stay here in Magnolia. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Darjeeling in October 2016 and stayed in Magnolia Residency. It is located in a narrow lane close to Chowrasta. Rooms were a little small but clean. Amenities were good. We had booked the room with complimentary breakfast and it was totally worth it. It was from their in-house kitchen and was ample, wonderful, and delicious. They usually serve...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suchetana29
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

We the Magnolia team would want to thank you for taking out some of your precious time to drop in a review filled with kind words of appreciation. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Magnolia Residency had really lovely staff and great views from the terrace. If you stay make sure to catch the sunrise on the terrace, it's beautiful. Unfortunately I've had to give an average due to several factors. The room had a persistent damp smell and feel to our clothes. The weather was also really bad for our stay in Darjeeling....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessford92
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

We would sincerely want to thank you for taking out some of your precious time to drop in your review about your stay here in Magnolia. Sometimes in spite of our best efforts we fail to deliver good services, in this regard we do not want to attach any excuses because things once done can never be undone so we...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I visited this lovely hotel from 25 Dec to 29 may 2016. Though its location was little far from taxi stand butvery close to main market, mall road & chowrasta. one more best part of this hotel is the breakfast served on terrace. magnificient view in the morning with very testy food & hot tea... simply amazing. Pradhan family gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanmoy_TT
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your kind words of appreciation, we indeed feel rewarded and blessed. We would always look forward to seeing you and your family again. Thank You Management Magnolia Residency

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

I visited this lovely hotel from 25 may to 27 may 2016. Though its location was little far from taxi stand, it is situated in very quiet place. very close to main market, mall road & chowrasta. one more best part of this hotel is the breakfast served on terrace. magnificient view in the morning with very testy food &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pashankar
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

We the Magnolia team would sincerely want to thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We also thank you for taking out your time to drop in your valued review about your stay in Magnolia. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Management Magnolia Residency

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
634 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#56 of 95 in Darjeeling
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#14 of 95 in Darjeeling
347 reviews
0.2 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magnolia Residency is a beautiful little property located at the Mall, Chowrasta. The wall of the rooms are covered in traditional Tibetan Murals reflecting the cultural heritage of the region. The rooms are warm and inviting, with wall to wall carpeting, Wi-Fi Internet Access, LCD TVs, Doctor On Call, Anytime Cab, Laundry Service, uninterrupted power supply, travel desk services {e-air tickets | train tickets |airport transfers} daily English newspaper, beauty saloon (nearby) and international courier through DHL / FEDEX / BLUEDART & others. Multi cuisine restaurant serving Indian, Chinese, Nepali, Tibetan and continental cuisine open for Lunch and Dinner. Our team: the dynamic young duo of Mr. Chewang Sherpa and Mrs. Sonia Devi own and run the property, both being ardent travellers. They overlook the day to day running of the hotel. "We don't promise u much...but a Solacing stay in the Queen of hills" - Mrs. Sonia Devi ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnolia Residency

Address: Dr Zakir Hussain Road | Below S.P Bunglow, Chowrasta, Mall, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: $35 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnolia Residency staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Kolkata
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Magnolia Residency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views from the terrace, and yummy breakfast with view.”
GovindC497, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only room no.305 offers some view.”
, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would imagine all rooms are similar other than the size, just head to the rooftop for the great view!”
SpokojNaZawsze, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“cafe at roof top with mountain view, rooms with great view”
  • Room Rate
iamjmj, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try local food”
Tanmoy_TT, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates