We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peerless Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Peerless Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Peerless Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 622: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

I liked: Location. I disliked: Limited and poor WiFi. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city. Esplanade metro station is <100mts from the hotel. Auto rickshaw, cabs and buses are very easily available. Huge numbers of low to mid range shops around. My check in was a little messed up, they gave me a wrong reservation sheet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonutPsych
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback at the Trip Advisor. We have noted your concerns regarding wifi, check-in process, sound infiltration at night and bath amenities provided in the room. Your comments have been viewed seriously and the process heads have been briefed to correct the processes. We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata....

delhi
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Peerless is a hotel set up over 20 years back but has managed to stay relevant with necessary refurbishing. Located centrally and priced at less than the luxury hotels,it is an option worth considering for both business travellers and tourists. The staff were courteous; the rooms not big but adequate and a good Bengali restaurant. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skrinthemoment
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

Reviewed 15 July 2015

hotel is located in central new market area. lots of shop, dining places with in 10-15 minutes of walking distance. the rooms are nice. i was during ramadan and the hotel staff were extra caring. they even provided sufficient food for sehri. some of the channels were blocked; also housekeeping had to be constantly reminded to replenish amenities regularly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Momtazul K
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet and replenishment of amenities by Housekeeping. We have addressed the issues with respective Process Head for rectification and assure that you will find a definite change in...

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

The most paethetic front office I have ever come across..doesn't seem like sarovar hospitality.The UNCOURTEOUS and Rude behaviour of Mr John at the front desk was absolutely shocking for me.I was told that I have come in late (8 pm) and the reservation office is shut but I am helping you in reservation whereas I can charge you full tariff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohan a
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the behaviour of my colleague at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Necessary lessons have been drawn from the incident and the concerned have been briefed and counselled on the same. Assure that you will find a definite change in staff attitude and behaviour in your next visit. Apologize once again. Warm regards, Subhomoy...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I stayed here in August 2013. But since I am reviewing all the hotels I have stayed, I would like to add one for this one too. I came in for my friend's wedding and just needed to stay for a day, hence I booked this place up. Not knowing the location and reviews. Well when I reached the local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tourniquet01
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 6 July 2015

This hotel was surprisingly very pleasant. I was given a room on the newer wing and felt like i got my money's worth and then some. The rooms were new, clean, with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom.This hotel is well located, just a stone's throw away from the famous New Market and next to the fabled Oberoi Grand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRC2780
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 3 July 2015

First experience with a landmark Hotel of Kolkata. May be the last one. Among worst Sarovar Group managed Hotels. Old, shabby Rooms. Too pricey. Menu competes with the much superior & bigger 'The Oberoi Grand' on the other side of the Road. Reason why this Hotel sells at a Discount of 60%-70% on the Rack Rate. Which decent Hotel charges...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samver109
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We have taken a note of your feedbacks regarding room, menu pricing and Wifi. Sir, we will be renovating our old rooms shortly. However, for your future reservation we will provide you the rooms on the new wing. We offer a...

Pune, India
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Visited Kolkata for 2 days Business Trip. The entrance looked grand in the hustling bustling area of Esplanade. The breakfast was complimentary. The breakfast buffet spread was nice and taste was not bad too. The staff were courteous and asked to fill a feedback form every now and then. I filled at least 3 feedback forms in my 2 days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biorockr s
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. We have also noted your concerns regarding air circulation and bathtub. Sir, our rooms are fitted with individual FCU and one fresh air...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This hotel I stay whenever I am Kolkata bcs it is very near to my office and most of the commercial places. Also it is very near to good eating joints in Kal. Very good place with spacious rooms, hospitality is also fine. Ladies at reception should be more courteous. Most of hotels now days provide free wifi but this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya27
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless In, Kolkata. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

It was family trip after a very long time to Kolkata. Choosing this hotel to stay was a best part that we have experienced. Staffs especially front desk stands out. A heart felt thanks to Mr Brojo Dutta a Jenuine good man and thorough professional.very good room and food at the bengali restaurant was just awesome. We look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suvendu m
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peerless Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Raipur, India
over a year ago
Weehawken, New Jersey
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Peerless Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.”
465madeleinej, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check which part of the hotel you have your room..old portion or new.... The new portion is better...the one which has a separate entrance”
, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“4200 /- through Make my Trip”
rabin_bose, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you like faded elegance, you may wish to ask for the older wing. if you appreciate the contemporary, you may prefer the modern wing.”
snowprincess1220, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there, not if you want service.”
pook1963, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5