Best Western On The Beach
Sunrise, view from room 305
Traveller (450)
view from room
Room & Suite (203)
View from our balcony
Pool & Beach (164)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#6 of 24 hotels in Gulf Shores
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in Gulf Shores,AL, the Best Western On The Beach is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now! Stay 3 Nights Get 10,000 Bonus Points!

Location

337 E Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Pensacola Regional Airport
53.7 km
See all flights
Mobile Regional Airport
72.5 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,818 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Best Western On The Beach garners praise for its cleanliness and prime location near the beach and local attractions. Guests appreciate the hotel's overall comfortable atmosphere, despite suggestions that the decor could benefit from rejuvenation and the ambiance lacks excitement. While many commend the professional staff and service, some guests encounter occasional service hiccups. Room conditions are generally satisfactory, though there are mentions of maintenance needs and dated furnishings. Travelers enjoy the amenities but sometimes report issues with upkeep. Additionally, some guests consider the breakfast options pricey and choose to eat off-site.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Basic
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Inconsistent

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,818Review38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 904
  • 408
  • 217
  • 145
  • 144
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
dootsiebird wrote a review Sep 2023
Birmingham, Alabama
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had a great time here! Great views of the ocean, clean rooms, and staff was nice and professional. The pool was great. Location is close to shopping and restaurants. We definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Megan Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western On The Beach
Responded Sep 29, 2023
Thank you !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patty M wrote a review May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't normally spend the extra money for a room located on the beach with a balcony ocean view but it was SOOOOO worth it! Because of COVID19, we were anxious about going but we literally would not have had to leave our room the whole time to have the wonderful beach experience. What made us feel even better was seeing the owner walking around with disnfectant spray and towel in hand, sanitizing the common areas often. His restaurant staff wore masks and gloves, as well. His grandson, Ryland, was such a wonderful help - getting us checked into our room early, helping us unload our things into our room and even bringing us fresh extra towels (without us even asking)! It was a great getaway for our family and I will definitely recommend Best Western on the Beach to my friends and family and will stay there again. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the oceanview room with balcony!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
ashley v wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was very nice and the Island Pancake House food was amazing. The rooms were clean and comfy, the kitchens had a stove and other appliances also had plates and forks in kitchen, was very convenient. Would definitely recommend !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig F wrote a review Aug 2020
Fort Payne, Alabama
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a weekend trip for our family of 3 and was very disappointed. At $1000, you would think that you would receive too notch service and the grounds would be taken care if better. There was trash everywhere, the hotel room we stayed in was out dated. The room was clean but beds were not comfortable and one was leaning. There was only one garbage can, Bathroom has caulk all over floor still from where toilet was moved. When you come from beach and wash off feet from sand, there should be a drain there. Water piles up and no where to go, so you have to walk through it to get to pool. Very unsanitary. Plastic bags,and bottles everywhere. No one cares to pick up. Staff was not helpful when asked questions about my Bill. And when I went to check out, they were unfriendly and not knowledgeable. They didn't care about how many people piled up in lobby. The pancake house had good breakfast.
I had a room on the east side, i didn't like the area. I stayed there years ago on the west side and loved it,
Usually, the staff would come give you fresh towels and empty your garbage, but not here.. my wife actually had to find someone to get some fresh towels. This place is definitely not worth the money.
I will stay somewhere else that has better service and better accommodations and with people (staff) willing to help you have a great vacation and takes care of their property better
I will never stay here again!!!. I hope this helps you decide not to stay here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathalene W wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst hotel experience ever. Greeted with RUDE front desk manager followed by room keys not working not once but three times, when asked for assistance with getting in room treated as if I was stupid because I did not know to slam door so each time you shut the door you can’t just shut it normally you have to slam so hard the whole wall was shaking 🤷‍♀️. NO housekeeping services had to go to front desk and continually ask for towels. Bathtub clogged after first use and did not drain for two days asked for repair 3 times before anyone came to fix and then it was housekeeping that fixed it. But housekeeping wasn’t there to clean🤷‍♀️ After she drained the tub all the scum and filth was still lingering around the tub area just awful. For the price this is ridiculous receive better service at cheaper rates a little further down the road. #lessonlearned shame on you Best Western
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashley wrote a review Jun 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our family’s first getaway since the pandemic and let me say I’m not pleased. First off we paid over the $400/night for a room that is classified as a hotel but should be labeled motel! Location is great however from the moment we drove onto the property we noticed that hotel is in need of some serious remodeling especially for overpriced rooms. When you walk into building, you can see that hotel is very low-budget and I’m not a fancy person but it’s definitely not worth the price. Secondly, since covid is running rampant, I thought I would see workers sanitizing high traffic areas and sanitizing stations setup, but nope none of that going on either. The elevator floors were dirty and so was buttons to select floors. Then we make it to room, which looks like a college spring break special; crammed 2 beds with lopsided lamp shades. The bathroom had rust in some areas, water pressure was low and then I saw some small flesh colored insect crawl around the sink. I wanted to scream but I didn’t want to terrify my son. This is my first night and after showering in getting in the bed, all night I felt like something was in the sheets, bitting around my right ankle; I’m so uncomfortable at this point. This was my first getaway from being in the house for 2 months and I highly regret it! In the past we’ve always booked with other popular chains such as Hilton and Marriott but we took a chance on Best Western thinking we would at minimum have a decent hotel. If your just looking for easy access to beach and place to lay your head, you’ll get that here, but anything beyond that, keeping searching.

BW please do a better job of cleaning and sanitizing during this time (covid). I have not seen one person cleaning or sanitizing since my arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Departure66443257943 wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was great. When you park in the garage there is sand a couple of feet away. Parking was free. They have two indoor hot tubs with jets and a large heated pool as well. Bathrooms were poolside. Outside there was one kiddie pool and another heated pool. The beds were so comfy and the room was spotless. Housekeeping was awesome. They came by everyday to ensure we had all the towels, toiletries, etc we needed. Every room had a balcony and WiFi was really fast. The beach had lifeguards and was very clean. The beach access was just steps away from the elevator.The location of the hotel was great as well. There was a Waffle House and a Hooters right across the street as well as a convenience store. Bars were a few blocks down, short 5 min walk.We really enjoyed the Hangout. The state park and pier were also close by. The Island Pancake House, located inside the hotel, was great as well, just a little pricey. The restaurant charged a convenience fee for using cards instead of cash which was only a few dollars but felt unnecessary. Can’t wait to come back and stay longer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Megan Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western On The Beach
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Thank you !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley D wrote a review Sep 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I were hurricane Ida evacuees from New Orleans and booked this room via Southwest Airlines/Booking.com. When booking online, I selected a room with kitchenette, and saw the price match guarantee. On the final booking page, the selected room did not state kitchenette, but I requested it in the comments. I also emailed (to the link provided) about the price match and sent a link to the lower price. No response.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the front desk staff was not very friendly or helpful. I was told that I could not get a room with a kitchenette even though that is what I selected when I booked, and I was told that I could not price match because of the type of room I selected, and by the time I checked in no other rooms were available, so they could not honor that.

The room price was RIDICULOUSLY high compared to the quality in my opinion, and I know it was Labor Day weekend, but I cannot help when the hurricane came. We selected this hotel because we have been to this area before and felt more comfortable booking in a familiar place.

The location is great, and the beds were comfortable. The mini fridge was too cold and froze all of our food and drinks. I was awoken to the sound of people using the ice machine every single morning. The hotel is not supposed to allow pets and we encountered 3 large dogs on our floor and heard barking multiple times in the complex. When I would go on the balcony I would smell cigarette smoke coming from the next balcony. The lobby and elevator stunk at all times- like a sweaty odor.

I am not one to complain, but our family is already under a lot of stress and these things made a bad situation worse.

It seems like the reviews are usually good at this hotel but very recent reviews I have seen seem to have similar complaints. I also heard others in the lobby having to deal with hotel/booking errors as well.

I emailed the hotel about all of these concerns, and for the second time, no response.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Megan Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western On The Beach
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Thank you for your comments , you booked your room wirh an on line travel agent , we honored the room type and the room rate that you chose .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle A. wrote a review Sep 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a great spot in Gulf Shores, and having private balconies is definitely a bonus. However, the lobby had an unpleasant odor and the area for snacks is tiny. Oh, and if you want a soda, water or snack you better bring cash. No cards or charging to your room. The lobby and elevator didn't give me confidence in their cleanliness.
The bathroom sorely needed mopped, and the carpet could use a shampoo. Being right on the beach I'm sure keeping the floors clean is a bigger challange. The flooring was nice, but needed cleaned.
The beds were comfortable, and the bedding was clean. The pillows were a dream! The rooms on the west end are only ocean view, which is great, except there's nothing to block the street/parking lot noise. I also think it kept it harder to keep the room cool.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy P wrote a review Aug 2021
Jacksonville, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself, my daughter and her 2-year old daughter stayed here for 5 nights in a beach front room. The rooms were clean. Everything worked. Too bad there is not a free continental breakfast as the restaurant breakfast is pretty pricey. Convenient beach access but no walkway which makes it quite a chore to pull a wagon or stroller through the sand to get to the beach. There is no hose or water access to wash off after being on the beach. The pool area is nice. For a Best Western, a felt the room rates were very pricey. 5 nights = $2,000.00
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Klfrombama
Tuscaloosa, Alabama65 contributions31 helpful votes
Yes
Laura K asked a question Feb 2022
1 contribution
Is the pool heated
Answer from Patty B
Wright City6 contributions
No,doesn't need to be
Answer from Lisa B
Huntsville116 contributions63 helpful votes
I did not use the coffee maker in the room. I never because I have no idea if they are clean or what someone may have used it for! With that being said, I did get coffee from the restaurant downstairs and when I showed my room card it was free.
Tim Y asked a question Jul 2021
Do you take pets
Answer from Lisa B
Huntsville116 contributions63 helpful votes
No, I did not take pets.
Coley asked a question Sep 2020
Laurel, Mississippi1 contribution
Do they offer beach chair and umbrella rentals? If so, how much?
Answer from Joseph T
Oak Ridge, Tennessee50 contributions17 helpful votes
Yes you can rent chairs and umbrellas but it isn’t part of the Hotel. Pricing varies according to length of rental and season I believe.
MuscleCarMadnes... G wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Weekends are busy."
Read full review
Marcus P wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get there before 4 pm"
Read full review
Ron P wrote a tip Jun 2024
Springfield, Missouri148 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check in is usually close to 4 pm so don't be disappointed if you arrive earlier and your room isn't ready."
Read full review
jenm8242017 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best location "
Read full review
Travel11043270657 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be ready to enjoy. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gulf Shores area.
PRICE RANGE
C$222 - C$522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western on the beach hotel gulf shores, gulf shores best western, best western gulf shores
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaGulf Shores
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western On The Beach - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western On The Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western On The Beach?
Nearby attractions include Gulf Shores Public Beach (0.7 km), Souvenir City (0.6 km), and Waterville USA (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western On The Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western On The Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western On The Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western On The Beach?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western On The Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunliner Diner, Gulf Shores Seafood, and Picnic Beach Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western On The Beach?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Best Western On The Beach offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western On The Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western On The Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Swift- Coles Historic Home (8.2 km) and Indian Village Achuse (12.6 km).
Does Best Western On The Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Gulf Shores HotelsGulf Shores Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Gulf ShoresHotels near Best Western On The Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars