We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chesnut Bay Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Chesnut Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Chesnut Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Albertville, Alabama
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a 5 bedrooms and 4 bath house and we had plenty of room. Clean with lot of room and a TV in all rooms. Bed was soft with a fully stock kitchen. A screen in porch and deck on top. Beautiful view. The kids had plenty to do from zip line putt putt golf swimming for everyone...

Thank owen2006tyler2001
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

We want to thank you so much for vacationing with us your business is greatly appreciated. I would like to let you know although there is just the one can in the home you are not limited on how many bags of garbage you can put out a day. I hope this helps in the future. Thanks George Fox

Huntsville AL USA
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed at "The Lighthouse" at Chesnut Bay Resort. It was fun. This was not our first lighthouse so the layout was expected. Great waterfront location with private parking. 4 stories in all with a continuous curving staircase. The 4th floor was the best with 14+ windows, great views, small balcony, a beacon and of course a pirate. A wonderful...

1Thank geodan99
birmingham al
Reviewed 28 September 2015

If you've never been or haven't been lately to Chesnut Bay Resort on Weiss Lake in northeast Alabama, you'll be amazed at what a hidden gem this place is. It has rental homes (my fav is House 29 - Capricho) ranging from 2-6 bedrooms, and lots of family friendly amenities; most are free. Two pools, water slides, water falls, kayaks,...

2Thank bethjmyers
Montgomery, AL
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We live in Montgomery, AL and had never heard of this little resort just 2.5 hours north of us until my aunt discovered it and sent us a link. The pictures don't do it justice! The 50 or so homes on the property are all of a similar craftsman style construction, ranging from little 1-story bungalows to 5-6 bedroom 3-story...

5Thank slhartzog
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

First I want to say thanks for your response and for giving Chesnut Bay Resort a chance to fill your family vacation needs. We have brought the cleaning department in house so that we will be able to manage it directly without going thru an outside party. We also are now stoking all homes with coffee filters and hand soap...

Ringgold, Georgia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I'm giving this place 2 stars only because of our experience at the Lighthouse. We originally planned to rent one of the cheaper houses, but decided to pay extra to get one right on the lake, and also because we thought our kids would enjoy staying in a "fun" house. The Lighthouse is dirty and dilapidated. There were cobwebs, dead...

3Thank Pjmommy76
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, even with it being a negative one. They are all welcomed and appreciated. I would like you to know that even though we "The Management" don't own the homes I will be sending a copy of this review to the home owner. We will stay...

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We recently went for a 3 day family weekend. We had family members coming from Atlanta, GA 2 1/2 hours for them, Birmingham, Al 1 1/2 , Huntsville, Al 2 hours. So a pretty central location for us. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice the resort was…clean, well maintained and managed . All the employees we...

2Thank Emma472010
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that positive feed back we will not rest on our morals but continue to strive for a better customer experience each and every time. New Zip Line Opening soon.!!!!!! Thanks George Fox Resort Manager

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Booked a house for holidays. Rented house based on picture showing a fireplace. Upon arrival noticed no grate inside fireplace. Upon inquiry informed guests were not allowed use of fireplace in this house or ANY of the homes. Also had to dispose of dead bird laying on screened in back porch which had gotten in thru one of the many...

1Thank Fauburn
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

We try to do our best not to falsely advertise any of our properties at Chesnut Bay Resort. I am very sorry about her seeing the fire place on one of the pictures of the home. The details of the home on our web site did not mention a fire place in the amenities. Our office staff would have told...

Huntsville AL USA
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We have been to Chesnut Bay Resort several times. We have always had fun. The kids loved the new putt-putt 9 hole golf course. They always love the Friday night street party. The water slide does stay their favorite! Folks rented boats and fished all week. Our house was wonderful with lots of space. We can't wait to get back!

5Thank geodan99
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Tanks so much for that positive feed back we will continue to strive to do better!!! Thanks George Resort Manager

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We have already booked for next spring! Where can you find two floors with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 7 HD TV's and ultra modern in every way at a reasonable price with a lake view of Weiss Lake? The mattresses were perfect for a great nite worth of sleeping with ceiling fans in every bedroom! Lots of patio area and...

7Thank worldtravelers2
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for that great review the home owner have done a great job with that home and with positive feed back I'm sure they will continue. Thanks George Fox Resort Manager

Reviewed 13 September 2014 via mobile

Our family rented #6 . Once we got in found lots of light bulbs out, tv remotes missing and ice maker not working Many of the TV s are very outdated. Only in the home a few minutes before we saw the first rat. Contacted the office and within minutes had someone with a mice trap, ice and bulbs... that...

6Thank fastride03
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review

I would like to say this was the first time in the six years I have managed the resort that we had a mice issue. We did trap the 2 mice and have not had a incident at any of the homes since. The refrigerator was brand new and should not have had a issue but it did. The light...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (38)
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Dining (1)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Other (11)


  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a fun family resort with 36 Homes and 17 RV sites 2 pools, water slides, beach, basketball/tennis court putt putt,zip line, scheduled events, and much more. Chesnut Bay Resort is Located 1 hour north of Birmingham Alabama on beautiful Weiss Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chesnut Bay Resort

Address: 4480 County Road 44, Leesburg, AL 35983-4818
Region: United States > Alabama > Leesburg
Price Range: $100 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Chesnut Bay Hotel Leesburg
Chesnut Bay Resort Leesburg, Alabama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chesnut Bay Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chesnut Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the higher units for the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles carjockeygene, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a lake. There is a sandy beach there on the lake. We had No. 62 and it had an unobstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles Norm1956, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Plan to come back. Again and again!”
 of 5 bubbles patriciatT7237GU, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“These are not hotel rooms but cottages-2, 3, or 4 plus bedrooms and baths.”
 of 5 bubbles mbeck42, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the houses are right on the lake. The upper level camp sites overlook the lake from the top of the hill.”
 of 5 bubbles ArleyC_12, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5