We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Show Prices
#13 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown\/Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 472: English reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I found the Holiday Inn Downtown Mobile to be an exceptional property exuding a level of quality far and above its rating. As you enter the elegant lobby for the first time the expectations are set for you that this is no typical Holiday Inn. Susie at the front desk, who checked me in, was thoroughly professional and with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpookyTbna
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

I truly appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. I apologize for the glitches you encountered but am happy our team made you feel welcome. Suzie is an amazing team member and we are thankful for the hospitality she provides our guests. She is genuinely caring person. If we may ever be of future assistance, please feel free...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Last minute decision to stay in Mobile in order to visit Battleship Park the following morning and chose this hotel. Friendly check-in, larger than expected room, beautiful view from our room, an even more spectacular view from the Skyview Lounge on top floor where we ended our evening with a few cocktails. A very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phee G
Westlake, Louisiana
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here on business. On the last night, they booked a high school reunion in the next ballroom.....loud music blaring throughout the final night of our event. People in our party had to change rooms after staying for several says because their suit had booked. Toilet issues on the 15th floor. Toilet problems on the bottom floor by the ballroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne R
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Dianne R, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our decor and great view. However, it is truly regrettable that your stay was negatively affected by noise levels and issues with the toilets. Please be assured that your comments have been taken into serious account as we would like to...

AL
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here in January for the First Light Marathon. It is an older hotel but the location is perfect for the historic downtown location. The staff was friendly. The parking is limited and often you had to walk across the street to a parking deck. The nice thing was I could walk out the front door and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DOC_in_AL
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Dear DOC_in, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us. I'm truly delighted you found our staff friendly and pleased that our location suited you well. I am disappointed to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and apologize for the conditions of the hotel and parking situation. Thank you for bringing this up...

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Arrived at this hotel late in the evening around 10pm just exhausted from traveling all day. Many times this may mean no where to park, no room or poor accommodations. What a pleasant surprise! Drove right up and parked, checked in and was in the room in less than 5 minutes! Wow, service was great and room was great. View...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick212121
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked this room through a 3 rd party of Priceline called book a room. Was quoted one price and charged about $30 more on my credit card, called book a room to dispute charges, and was told they were sorry and they would get back to me by email, never happened. Could of stayed at the other surrounding hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boomersoonerokc
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that your stay was anything less than perfect. We have a wonderful hotel team and will certainly follow up on any shortfalls in the room you stayed. I am glad you had a comfortable night's sleep and found the staff to be friendly. I am happy to be of further assistance with any billing issues. Please...

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The desk staff were welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and had the standard amenities--I would have liked a higher wattage hair dryer. I especially want to compliment Lacy and Ms.Fay in the dining area where we had breakfast. Lacy gave us great service and was so nice. Our food was delicious, filling, and nicely presented. Ms. Fay was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ljstraveler
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

I absolutely love the thoughtfulness of your review. Thank you for recognizing two of our team members. I am so glad you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were just stoping through on the way to NOLA for diner, sleep, and maybe see some sites. Got a great deal on Priceline and couldn't be more happy. Clean hotel and skyview bar was a nice surprise after diner on dauphin st. Which nice lady and the front desk helped us find many option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tav071175
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. Mobile is a great place to stop on the way to New Orleans or on the way to the Florida Beaches. I am glad you were able to experience our hospitality. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager

Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Heading to Panama city beach from Arkansas, a group of friends and I decided we should stay the night in mobile on the way down. We got a room Here from an online sight and it was a great deal. The people in the lobby are nice and professional. The Bar upstairs stayed open later to accommodate us and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgme79
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

I truly appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel. We recently purchased new pillows for all of our guest rooms; they are so comfortable (and there are firm and soft on each bed). The pillows and our beds make for a great night's sleep. We have an awesome team of associates at our hotel; I am glad they made you...

Foley, Alabama
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I are past customers of this hotel and also regular guest at a nearby location. The owner of the hotel, Ms. Maura, is without a doubt the best in the business. She always has a desire to help others and wants to make sure each and every guest is treated like family. The front lobby is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah n
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I am proud to work with such a great, caring team at the Holiday Inn. I also love the views from the top floor of the hotel; I never get tired of looking at our wonderful city from the 17th floor. We look forward to your many return visits. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna,...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 km away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 km away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 65 in Mobile
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Price Range: $133 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Fairhope, Alabama
3 months ago
over a year ago
5 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eat Breakfast somewhere else for the price.”
 of 5 bubbles ThePCGuy, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the South West side are the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 201timw, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernTraveler1995, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles POLLYANNA57, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Call the local sales team for support, they are awesome! Donna was more than helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles DAVIDF581, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay