We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plantation Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$259*
US$204*
US$214*
US$259*
US$204*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Plantation Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,620: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Plantation Island Resort met all our expectations. The Bure was very comfortable - large bed, kettle tea, coffee and sugar available, fridge, and a large enough bathroom. The gardens are well kept. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. There was work on one side of the resort to improve the beach but it really didn't impact too badly on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah H
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Sarah Great to read, we genuinely look forward to your return to Plantation! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 2nd choice and had mixed feelings as we are seasoned travellers to Fiji. We began our trip at the Sheraton and then had a cruise on Captain Cook Cruises. Last stop Plantation Island for 5 nights. We were concerned about the waterfront renovations and had considered changing. After discussing with our agent, we decided to try the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Noo286
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you very much for your review, feedback and observations. It is really good to read that you had a great time here at Plantation Island Resort. We are not surprised however very happy that you were pleasantly surprised! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pros If you not used good beaches then it will be fine Kids enjoyed the water floating play equipment Cons Accommodation no more than 2 star, lots of broken stuff and we had a beach front Bure Cost did not justify what's on offer Staff looked tired, unfriendly and unhappy Food was of a poor standard Won't be back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seraaj S
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Seraaj Thank you for your review, sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort caters for families in ever way. We have just returned having had a family holiday ,the age range was 7 to 70 and for each of us,Plantation Island gave everyone of us some amazing memories to treasure. Having done a lot of research both on Trip advisor and Facebook we love Plantaion Island ,we were well aware of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lynneneilson
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Great to read of your experience and go make some terrific points. We are very pleased that you experienced a restful, relaxing holiday and left with good memories. The value of some research cannot be overstated, it certainly pays off. We are not self contained accommodation but a full service resort, so discouraging the toasty pie maker thought and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Plantation Island, and despot Checkin issues on three of the four occasions, once sorted we settled in for family fun. We take the family to Fiji, to catch up and share time with all our adult babies, their loves and our grandbabies. We always get beachfront bures next to each other so that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judijelly
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Judi It's terrific that you have a generational experience here at Plantation Island and enjoy your holiday with so much family time, and we look forward to your fifth visit...and second smooth check-in :0) Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you first arrive stick with the host until you get the lay of the land. The place is big and you will want to know where all the basic facilities are early on. Beach side bungalow was great (214); clean, modern (renovated) and near the waters edge. Not great facilities in it with 1 teaspoon! Beds are very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick P
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Nick Great to read that you had a good stay and enjoyed do much of the resort, our services and facilities, and the island... The prices also include a 25% Government Consumption Tax which is probably where your 20% over the odds feeling came from! Plus as an island we have to Barge all goods to the Island at...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful island is what you expect going to a island and this is what you get. rooms are large very basic pools are poor food is poor with not many options breakfast is poor over all way overpriced for what they offer and would be better option to camp on the island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Jason You are a hard man to please, Breakfast boasts 9 hot items, 12 cold selections and a live egg cooking station! We are an island in the South Pacific and have to Barge all goods to the Island at a cost, and that is after most is imported into Fiji. Despite these logistical challenges and imposts we do...

Adelaide
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A Great Place to base yourself to visit for a few days. It is quite far from mainland so they make up for it with plenty of activities. Our little one spent some time in the kids club so that was good to have some mum and dad time. The Tours you had to book in advance as they booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bograt17
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula We are delighted that you all had a nice family holiday here at Plantation Island, Mum and Dad time is important! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 5 nights here in a garden bure in March. We had originally booked all of our 19 night holiday here. Due to many reviews , mostly from returnees we changed to 5 nights and 14 nights on the mainland. We have been to Fiji many times but not to an island to stay. I think we made the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracie T
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Tracie Appreciate the review and observations, we are not for everyone however delighted that you came and enjoyed so much of what we offer... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Some people attend resorts with unrealistic inflated expectations and without doing enough due diligence investigating what the resort 'specialises' in. Here's where I think frustrated reviews are born. Plantation offers the most friendly hard working staff, beautiful beaches and very kid friendly entertainment and activities. It's a perfect balance between value (relative to 4 stars) and notable facilities. Yes, the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TacoTuesdays
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for your review, they are very good insights... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

2,192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1621)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (371)
Viewed
Dining (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
View from Room (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (629)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (451)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Garden Terrace Room (58)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Garden Bure (55)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Beach (51)
Viewed
Beachfront Bure (49)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Oasis Pool (17)
Viewed
Ocean Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Studio Garden Bure (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (45)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.5 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
694 reviews
0.8 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
723 reviews
18.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
880 reviews
5.7 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
852 reviews
20.0 km away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $220 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Mamanuca Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and other travellers.
115 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (115)

Questions? Get answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden bure near the pool was great for our family!”
753naomis, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“beach front views!”
, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“West side rooms front a gorgeous sandy bay shrouded in coconut trees also very close to all amenities.”
535jeff, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Beachside bungalows are worth the little extra!”
nickpM7874OZ, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“dont expect too much”
jasonbK223II, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$204* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$214
TripAdvisorUS$204
ElvolineUS$259
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates