We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Show Prices
#59 of 4,939 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

While traveling between city's in China, I met up with a colleague that just flew in From US. We stayed for one night at this hotel (separate rooms), I was able to get a room upgrade to a suite with my membership card. What a room! Fantastic Suite with foyer, living room, luggage room, bed room, guest bathroom, and master...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
Jennifer T, Event Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Trevor J Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River.I'm so proud that your happy feeling in hotel,We hope to see you back soon. Kindly regards, Joe Tai Event...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I try to avoid bad reviews when possible but this hotel is somewhere to avoid. The location is useful only if you have access to transport. The staff are unhelpful even if escalating a problem to the day manager. They seem to have a number of English speaking staff but speaking and being culturally aware are different. The quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has nice large rooms and good customer service. I was disappointed that the car used for the expensive airport pick up service stunk of cigarette smoke. Room service arrived one time with no cutlery or napkin and another time with no juice. The buffet breakfast is good however very expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripellen
Jennifer T, Event Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear tripellen, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our service atitude and price,i'll contact with FO Manager and try to improve these things,Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here several times. Facilities always nice; room very comfortable; staffs are helpful. Choose this hotel as some time it is easier to grab a taxi here in the morning. Also, want to give them credit for their lobby restaurant; now have a noodle bar that can serve people who want to go for a simple meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita Y
Jennifer T, Event Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. So happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River.Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. We hope to see you back soon. Joe Tai Event...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet setting with exceptionally friendly staff who understand and speak English well. If your a good standing IHG member you may be able to get a really nice room upgrade depending on how busy they are and the upgrade is worth it, to a suite. I would do a suite upgrade rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank warreng999
Jennifer T, Event Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear warreng999, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. So happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River.Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. We hope to see you back soon! Joe...

Shenzhen, China
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I got very bad breakfast experience. The stuffs didn't serve you at all such as provide you coffee or hot water something. I saw them chatting each other during my whole breakfast. The food their is terrible seems they will stop serving breakfast after 10:00 but the hotel told it's 10:30.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrylK1694ZK
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear TerrylK1694ZK, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. I have communicated with restaurant manager and HR manager, we will enhance the staff training in order to avoid this happened again. Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. We hope...

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

All I needed during my trip: large room with lots of light, spacious bathroom with both a bath and a shower. Shower had a rain-shower as well. Breakfast served as a large buffet and had all kind of foods from Asian foods to Western kitchen. Great hotel and will go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 646pimv
Jennifer T, coodinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear 646pimv, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Shelley Fan Marketing Communications Department

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I had as usual a good, satisfactory stay. All was to my satisfaction. Unfortunately I did not have enough time to enjoy the happy hours at the club executive lounge this time. It is one of the locations you can relax from business with a glass of champagne or drink or wine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank p_coduri
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear p_coduri, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. What a pity that you do not have fully time to enjoy our club lounge. However, I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope...

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Concierge were rude & not the least friendly. I asked to go to Hyatt on the Bund & the cab driver took me to Park Hyatt instead because the concierge had told him the wrong hotel! We asked one other concierge to take a group picture of us. He simply walked away because he was busy. One of us had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melly T
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Melly T, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with us. I have already communicated with the executive management, and we will enhance the staff English training and awareness of active service, whatever for concierge or staffs in Basilico restaurant. I am so surprisedly that you had bad food in...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

For Intercontinental Expo in Shanghai my opinion is that the hotel is located on the business part of the town Pudong area, however i would not prefer it in the future for some reasons. The rooms were cleaned every day and this is the good part, however the lobby area needs to be renovated and the breakfast buffet should also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Athina S
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Athina S, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm sorry if you were disappointed with our service quality and quantity. I have already communicated with assist. director of F&B and front office, and we will do some adjustments in order to reach your expectation. I'm so sorry about your disappointment and thank you for your feedback...

498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (453)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Other (304)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#21 of 4,939 in Shanghai
720 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Price Range: $151 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#130 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view”
 of 5 bubbles warreng999, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“facing the river has a better view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles arleta.darusalam, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for the higher floors and view towards the city (Pudong) with the skyscrapers”
  • bathroom with the huge bath tub
  • Living room of my corner suite on the 16th floor
  • Other side of the living room, with the sleeping room in the back
  • sleeping room with corner view
  • Huge bath in the bathroom
  • Living room with a view on the desk and the second toilet next to the entrance
  • View from my corner suite
  • Corner suite sleeping room on the 16th floor
 of 5 bubbles Tohimen, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River views are very good”
 of 5 bubbles R6824XFjuana, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose the room with higher floor and river view, the view of Huangpu river is good. All the rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeZ631, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5