We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Ctrip.comUS$124*
View Deal
#59 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$223*
US$124*
Great Deal
US$157*
US$157*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Start your review of InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
 Click to rate
Nanjing, China
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Amazing garden hotel, lovely room ,beautiful ladys, Castle view One hundred years old trees Wonderful lamps Nice breakfast and hightea Special thanks to flora, sherry. I ' d like come again next time visit shanghai

Review collected in partnership with 单个酒店
 Report
Helpful?
Thank st12017
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear st12017, Thanks for your compliments for our amazing garden, lovely room,beautiful ladys, Castle view, lamp and the breakfast, hightea. We will be passing on our thanks with yours to our team member flora and sherry. We are happy to know you' d like come again next time visit shanghai. Kim Powley Managing Director InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Entertaining an overseas guest brought me here for a light salad lunch in the main cafe followed by a relaxing British afternoon tea (they offer 3 types - British, French & Chinese) in the Chinese restaurant overlooking the lovely grounds. This hotel has a premier location and as a previous reviewer high lighted, evening lighting adds enormous ambience to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieThatsMe
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear FoodieThatsMe, Thanks for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin. Firstly please accept our apologize for the shortcomings you have mentioned. As you have pointed out that empty cake plates in display cases with lots of staff standing around. I have also taken special note of your comments on the afternoon tea experiences. These points have been reviewed with both our Western...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights during the 12th-14th Mar, I wouldn't say the location of the hotel is convenient, it's in between two underground station. But you will be amazed when you arrived at the hotel. All the photos you can find online just do not do it justice. What is more is that the hotel really does come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyktsang
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear hyktsang, Thanks for staying in InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin for 2 nights during the 12th-14th Mar. Thanks for your compliments for our luxurious ambiance, comfortable bed and the super & ground lobby. Welcome to our hotel again if you plan to visit Shanghai next time. Best Regards, Kim Powley Managing Director

Beijing, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great hideaway hotel in Shanghai. Non-typical Intercontinental in the heart of Shanghai. Great rooms, great service, great restaurant. My favourite stay in Shanghai. Large estate like grounds, spacious, like the rooms. Very secluded and quiet, though centrally located. Fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WBeijing
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear WBeijing, Welcome to InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin. As you have pointed out our location is ideal in the city center. We are also pleased to know that our hotel is your favourite stay in Shanghai.Thanks for your compliments for our great rooms, grounds, service and restaurant. Welcome to our hotel again. Best Regards, Kim Powley Managing Director

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a call to the lounge before I arrived , Andy is patient and professional. The staff in the main building is friendly when I check in. Rita gave me a lot of advices such as where to shop, where to have a rest The facilities here are impressive, big and lovely grounds . big room and huge bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dimotion
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear dimotion, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin and thank you for your compliments about our staffs, facilities and guest room. Thank you for your compliments of our service. We strive to provide professional, personal and memorable experiences for our guests and it is pleasing to read our team delivered. Thank you again...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can feel there is lack of good management at this hotel, things don't run smoothly. We waited 30mins for lunch order, then wee told this dish not on menu. Check out was slow, not enough staff on duty, even though we called prior to ask to have bill ready. Aircon did not work in room, too hot and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrioo
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Darrioo, Thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin. Firstly and most importantly please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings in the experiences you have outlined. Your comments about the service and engagement from the team have been well noted and we will be using this to help our managers focus on the training needs. I have also taken...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our corporate hotel because it is close to our office. I had two options and I chose this hotel as I am a Spire member. I had colleagues who have stayed here and said it was quite good. The good - the grounds are lovely. My room is big. I also upgraded myself so I believe that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leavingonajetplane15
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Leavingonajetplane15, Thank you for taking time to share you recently experiences with us. I was pleased to note you like the grounds and the room. I am sorry to learn about the inconvenience you experienced in communicating with our room service staffs during your stay. We are continuing to work on improving our English levels with the team and...

Reviewed 8 March 2017

As with all Intercontinental properties, the facilities here are impressive. Unlike my experiences over the past 40 years with Intercontinental, the management of this property is not up to standard when it comes to service. Perhaps the service in the Club Room building is better but the staff in the main building is woefully under-trained and service poorly managed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CG812
INTERCONTINENTALSH, managing director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear CG812, Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin! Firstly and most importantly please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings in the experiences you have outlined. Your comments about the service and engagement from the team have been well noted and we will be using this to help our managers focus on the training needs. I have also taken special note...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed here with friends for a weekend. This hotel is a great base to explore the beautiful French Concession (all walking distance) and The Bund. Lovely big hotel grounds and rooms (a treat from tiny Hong Kong apartments)! The bathroom was also huge. Rooms had lots of amenities, tea, shower goodies etc. They allowed us a cot bed in one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TessaClare
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear TessaClare, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us. As you have pointed out our location is ideal in the French Quarter, located in walking distance to many shops, restaurants and entertainment areas. I have taken special note of your comments on the service. We will continue to focus on our team member training...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel but not modern enough for my taste. I stayed for one night on a business trip. But if you are looking for a bit of old SH history and comfort. This is for you. The group is big as I was golf cart around to my building. And the massive layout feels like a big compound. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uncle8en
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Ben H, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us. InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin is the first IHG heritage hotel in Asia and we have been very careful to ensure we retain the warmth and charm of old Shanghai. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please do not hesitate...

783 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (667)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (323)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#155 of 4,998 in Shanghai
93 reviews
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,998 in Shanghai
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#28 of 4,998 in Shanghai
746 reviews
Former French Concession
Hotel Massenet at Sinan Mansions
Hotel Massenet at Sinan Mansions
#1,748 of 4,998 in Shanghai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Former French Concession

Neighbourhood Profile
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet, tree-lined avenues, French-style villas, interesting boutiques, lively bars and quaint cafes that are not typical of China. All of these mix and mingle with local life as Chinese markets and lanehouse communities are peppered throughout. Denizens of the Former French Concession can spectate a mahjong game on the street or get their bike checked at a tiny bike repair store on the way to their refurbished apartment tucked away among Chinese family homes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Hotels & Resorts unveils its first China heritage hotel – the InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin – located across a 100-acre historic garden estate in the heart of Shanghai. Guests from around the world can now experience an important part of Shanghai’s glamorous early 20th-century heritage in an exclusive garden setting, while enjoying InterContinental’s world-class ‘In the Know’ service and luxury amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Address: No.118 Ruijin Er Lu, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Price Range: $230 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruijin Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lounge room is better than main building”
dimotion, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The smaller out building is nicer, quieter”
Darrioo, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
CG812, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared to be disappointed”
BigglesandBadger, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 2nd building have more good scenery”
808andrianh, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Ctrip.com
US$124* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$157
TripAdvisorUS$157
HotelQuicklyUS$223
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates